We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crackin' 4 day mini - break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of H TOP Royal Sun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added H TOP Royal Sun to your Saves list
H TOP Royal Sun
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeo Maritimo s/n, 08389 Santa Susanna, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Santa Susanna
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Crackin' 4 day mini - break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Me and my wife have just returned from a most excellent 4 day mini-break. Having booked a last minute cheapy, we were very apprehensive about what we would actually get. We, therefore, had a massive sense of relief when the coach dropped us off at this clearly well maintained hotel situated on a fabulous beach! The rooms are quite basic and on the small side but like all the hotel, they are immaculately clean with fresh towels and linens daily.
The food was much better than we had hoped for and featured some tasty Catalonian fayre; spicy sausages, slow cooked rabbit, octopus, sea bass and of course paella. The extensive salad bar and selection of cold cuts and cheeses was great too.
The only real downside was the all inclusive drinks; in the evening, you had to queue 20 minutes each time that you wanted 2 half's of lager - it would have been far better if beer could be served in pint glasses at night.
All in all, we had a crackin' time that was enhanced by meeting a great couple from Sunderland - non stop belly laughs all the way!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    206
    148
    95
    62
See reviews for
234
221
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

4 day break booked for a refresher after the 6 weeks holidays with NO kids - Me and my partner booked the Planamar but due to a problem with the rooms they upgraded us to this one which we were over the moon with. Staff friendly, the place is spot less and the food was good. They had about 5 or 6 different options for breakfast, diner and tea - you would have to be very picky with food if you didnt find something you liked.

The only thing i would pick on is the queue for the bar - maybe they need to serve the drink in bigger glasses or get more bar staff. Overall though - excellent location 5 big steps and your on the beach - we are planning to go back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was SO nervous about taking my family to this hotel after reading previous reviews. Holidays are very precious to us; we are on a limited budget and booked this holiday at the last minute. I travelled with my husband and two children, age 2 and 4.

The hotel is in a perfect location, right on the beach. Our room was incredibly basic and faced the railway track, but actually our children loved this. I would recommend taking a travel kettle as our room didn't have one. The rooms are cleaned every day. Noise levels were quite high at night even off-season, but we managed. As for food - we really liked it. My husband is a chef and is very particular, and we all enjoyed the Spanish fare. Thankfully our children are really unfussy and eat everything. I didn't like the card system for getting drinks, and I definitely wouldn't want to go in the busy season because I imagine it would take a while to get served.

The kids club lady was great! The pools are chilly, but we are Scottish and plunged in regardless. There is a little train that leaves from outside and goes right up the hill behind Santa Susanna, which our children loved. We swam in the sea every day, but be careful as the water gets deep very quickly. For €5 you can get a Thai massage on the beach....do it, they are a.maz.ing.

We met lots of families that had been coming to Sana Susanna for years. We won't, only because we like to try new holiday destinations. Holidays are what you make of them and we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great location,booked planamar which was 3 star but was overbooked so we got this 4 star as replacement so was expecting better.
Rooms were in need of updating but cleaned every day by lovely cleaning staff,bar staff were miserable apart from one youngster who was always happy,outside bar was closed so waiting for drinks in the inside bar took ages,food was nice but got a bit boring after a few days.
Snacks after meal times were a joke,you had to eat them in the restaurant and not take them outside as i found out by a rude member of staff who wanted to see my all inclusive card before i could have something to eat,and told me i could not take the food out of the area which was 2 ham and cheese rolls,as my son missed lunch as he was ill so i tried to take some food for him.
We stayed at the royal sun suites two years before and that hotel was far better and modern than this one,the German and eastern european guests were very rude and greedy there were two elderly British guests who put they drinks on the table and went to get food,a party of eight Germans wanted the tables picked up they drinks put them on the waste trolley,when the guests got back to the table the Germans got very angry.
We would not go back to this hotel but would stay in the sun suites again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went to htop royal sun for three nights via on the beach.
As a whole, on the beach ---> transfers not great, lengthy time and not faxed through departure time! Ryan air did not provide great service but thats just me whinging!
The hotel was absolutely fine! Cleaned everyday if you want towels changing that can be done by leaving them in the bath, the shower is like a tap you'd see in a third world country but did not bother us as we went to enjoy ourselves and not pick faults! You can still wash.
Very basic, a little dated and clean enough for a few days.
Location is right on the beach (great!) beach is lush, lots of people looking to offer you a massage, which we accepted and thouroughly enjoy although a little annoying as all you hear is hello massage, people selling fruit and knock off stuff also wandering about, be polite they are only trying to earn a living!!!
The food is, personally diabolical, we lived off chips or ate out. We are not fussy but ... dear me.
Wouldn't recommend all inc, the drinks are local if you want important, i.e normal safe drinks you pay a small price; however you can get an upgrade of a gold card if thats something you'd benefit from. If your're looking for entertainment there is very little in hotel; again doesn't bother us as went to spend time with each other!
two pools, rather chillly, just get to the beach!
Lots of nearby shops and cute bars, few places to eat.
For what you pay for this isn't a bad hotel, in a good location (apart from the undercrossing with the train) but you get used to it!
Enjoy yourself your'e on holiday!

Room Tip: High for the view, beware, there are 6 floors and three elavators, so make sure you either like to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

hi stayed here for a week with my husband sister and brother in-law had a great time hotel clean my husband said bar man in restaurant was a really chatty made an effort to greet everyone by name and in their own language, impressed him by his welsh! hotel right on beach lovely setting though sand is rather gritty. something for everyone to eat in restaurant.stayed at many h top hotels this was the best, as someone said sun doesn`t stay on sun terrace or pool for long but so close to beach didn`t matter sea quite deep drop and choppy. Train line at back of hotel didnt bother us, cheap to use the train, station not far up the road, and they have some lovely stalls out on the street at night with crafts and gifts etc . People will always moan about something but we all paid £350 each all inclusive for the week for our hols inc transfers and airport parking, and think we had a good deal with what we paid .
We all would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Definitely not a 4-star hotel. Maybe if you were there in 1982!!! Dirty room upon arrival, cigarette ends on the balcony (from previous guests), smelly beds, dated and damaged furniture, less than average food and do not let me start on lifts. Waiting for 10 - 15 minutes at times and doors closing as you were coming in ( have couple bruises on arms). We were there with our 20-months daughter and was scared to death as she was going into the lift and doors were starting to close. No way it would pass health and safety regulation in England. Outside pool was cold and seen sun for about 2 hours per day. Some staff friendly but staff in outside bar made so much effort not to notice you it was beyond believe. Program during the day - none (if I dont count playig cards) and very poor in the evening. On the plus side - good sangria,beer and location - right on the beach with great sea. Will definitely not come back again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H TOP Royal Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H TOP Royal Sun

Address: Passeo Maritimo s/n, 08389 Santa Susanna, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Santa Susanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Susanna
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Susanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H TOP Royal Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your H TOP Royal Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Htop Royal Sun Hotel Santa Susana
Htop Royal Sun Santa Susana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H TOP Royal Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.