We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casamar Hotel to your Saves list
Casamar Hotel
Del Negro, 3-11, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Llafranc B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the beginning of October for two nights. Make sure you ask for a room with a view, as some of them are partly blocked by a big tree! Rooms are pretty simple but very comfortable.

We had dinner one night in the Michelin starred restaurant and it was really excellent. We paid the 'winter' rate of €85 per night and the weather was stunning - we sat on the beach on one of the days! The restaurant was also really great value too.

Would really recommend this for a September break - gather the town and beach gets a little busy during the summer.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    27
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were given this hotels name by friends who had also stayed in the hotel in July. We rang the hotel, it was short notice and they had one room vacant. The restaurant was an enjoyable dining experience. Amazing food and service from smiling friendly staff, breakfast on the terrace overlooking the bay. We will certainly go again when in France or Spain next year.

Room Tip: We had a small back room, but it was still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arles-sur-Tech, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Have been staying at this family run hotel on an annual "friends get together --aka loose women " for the last ten years now and so have seen quite a few changes .It has always been a delightful place to stay being friendly and welcoming and hosting many regular returning guests like ourselves . The rooms have been greatly up graded over the years and each year an effort is made to improve and refine . The food is just wonderful .We always take the half board option and it must be the best value for money in Spain.Food is imaginative ,innovative, beautifully presented and plenty of variety using fresh local produce .The a la carte menu is comparatively pricey but again for a treat --wonderful food and good value .Hotel is in a wonderful position overlooking the bay at Llfranc . Booking may be a problem as always busy so cannot always guarantee either getting in or having the rooms of ones choice .Do try out of season as there is plenty to do in the area and things are calmer with more availability .

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are not always the most spacious .Side rooms with balcony are good and back rooms avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We were so impressed with this restaurant that we ended up eating there three times during our week long stay in the area. Unlike other restaurants we tried, we did not feel rushed or that we were viewed as passing trade. Instead, we felt valued and were treated warmly by the staff, including and especially by the lovely chef and his sister (who is in charge of the restaurant) who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. After our first visit, they even remembered our preferences from the first time and, in particularly, the fact that I am a coeliac. So, warm (delicious) gluten free rolls were produced for me, as well as separate amuse-bouches. They also fully understood the contamination issues and so I was able to relax and enjoy my food. A slightly fussy younger daughter was offered plain versions of the food being offered instead. There are separate child-friendly dishes available, too, such as pasta.
The food was imaginative and delicious - some of the fish dishes will remain an exquisite memory.
The wine list is extensive, but the sommelier was very helpful. The house wine (as one might expect here) and the half bottles were very good indeed and excellent value.
We enjoyed three lovely relaxing meals, two at lunch and one dinner on a Saturday night. The restaurant is booked up at the weekends during the summer (until September when we went in July) as people from Barcelona then flock to the area, but it is possible to pick up a cancellation as we did.
Although more expensive than the other restaurants we tried, the Casamar was worth every penny and we would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were urged to book this top rated restaurant before travelling to Lla Franc, but didn't and subsequently got in easily.
We were shown to seats for drinks and given a colourful menu, all descriptions couched in ‘flowery language’ all slightly ‘over the top’
There was a 'tasting menu' as well as a list of unfamiliar mixtures of local and unusual combination of dishes (Cod mixed with tripe etc..?). The 'peti fors was an additional unavoidable charge and they started serving at the lounge table. First off was a single ‘peeled’ olive, served on a bent spoon and just placed down on the raw table top with a brief but incomprehensible explanation. It looked like a ball of slime. Next were two implements each one containing two potato crisps. One was in a wire holder, the other in a heavy and bulky block of composition with grooves cut into it. Strange!
After we ordered we were then told the tables were ready and staff just signalled in the vague direction. No one offered to take our drinks or jackets over to the table (yes they don’t appear to have a cloakroom) we were handed a big impressive book, weighing a kilo or so and all tooled in gold and black which was the wine list. Then came the next peti fors, which was a small half-inch biscuit with crème fresh and a tiny slice of smoked salmon. These tiny peti fors were hardly worth the effort of serving. The wine was opened, we were not shown the label or given a sample, it was just glugged out and then placed out of our reach on another table as well as the water. The remarkable and highly stylised plate settings were swept away and then came the bread (no butter), several varieties and very nice but very filing. More wine and water were glugged out without comment or invitation by the taciturn wine waiter. The meal was dragged out over quite a time frame with another three passes of the fabulous bread container. The meal consisted of all protein and little vegetables. Mine turned out to be basically rice risotto and a thin slice of raw cold beef. It was a strange slimy feel eating it and I wondered how long the raw beef had been lying in the warm risotto. I was subsequently physically sick.
An American couple with their two teenage sons were at the table opposite and endured the same fate, but this time I counted six passes of the bread container (The staff must have feared a possible problem with filling the two teenagers up, given the slow service and the mediocre portions). There were lots more uninvited glugging of the wine and water, with the only comment being asked if another bottle was wanted Sir?.
The final coup de grace was when the waiter upended the bottle of red wine in my wife’s glass so that the last glass of wine was full of sediment and so was undrinkable. The American family received the same treatment, so we weren’t being singled out!
It was a truly humorous experience and we were both beside ourselves with laughter at this Fawlty Towers experience, with the female staff gliding about continuously with the stacks of bread and the taciturn wine waiter dressed in a black piny weaved his solemn route between the tables, glugging wine and water into clients glasses with gay abandon and gruff demeanour. It was an expensive experience. The food was awfully pretentious, and in my case I was sick later at the hotel.
It was so bad it was funny, but don’t go there whatever you do!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as my brother, who is well travelled, rated it as his most favourite hotel. We were not disappointed. It is in a great location with superb sea views, and literally just 2 minutes walk (albeit up some steps) from the beach and the other restaurants in Llafranc. I have never stayed in such a friendly, well run, hotel. The owners/staff could not do enough for us including providing information on places to go and a map. The hotel is kept spotlessly clean and service is superb. Ideally placed for the incredible 15 minute walk to the next village along the coast, Callella, and another great walk is in the opposite direction up to the lighthouse (where you can get refreshments at the adjoining hotel/restaurant). One other thing to mention is that we found the area in general to be very friendly, with people being very helpful. Do not bother considering other hotels around here just book the Casamar!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley Lancashire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have just returned from this fantastic hotel. yes the rooms were small but spotless and perfectly adequate, the bed was really comfortable. Lovely view from the balcony, nice area with table and chairs.

There is a lovely area downstairs where you can have drinks either alcohol or coffee and nibbles, very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing and the food in the restaurant for both lunch and dinner was outstanding. The family and staff that run this B & B were second to none. Excellent. Thank you we will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casamar Hotel

Address: Del Negro, 3-11, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Casamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casamar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.