We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel right across the beach on main artery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terramar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Terramar to your Saves list
Hotel Terramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Cypsela 1, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llafranc
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice little hotel right across the beach on main artery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Nice little hotel right across the beach on main artery. Very convenient to shops and restaurants. Rooms are clean and you can just walk out onto the beach.
Not so easy to find due to all of the one way streets, but it's a common issue to the town.
Staff is very nice and speaks English.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    68
    16
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
99
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Fantastic location on the beach, very friendly and helpful staff, and the best breakfast. Comfortable and clean - ask for a beachfront balcony room. Can be noisy because of location. No pretence; a very welcoming hotel and keen to ensure guests' needs are being met.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department
HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel is great for a week-end escape to the Costa Brava. The roomos are quite basic, but confortable enough, with the amenities you would expect.

The building iteself is quite old (probably from the 70'ies), but reasonably well restored.

The best aspects of the hotel are:

1. Located right on the beach, and you only have to cross the road to be by the sea.
2. Great breakfast hall: sea views and a spectacular breakfast buffet.
3. Reasonable prices, considering the location.

Llafranc is a small village right on the coast, and there are quite a few nice restaurants there. The food at the hotel's two restaurants is also quite good, and you can also eat at their "chringuito" located on the sidewalk right across the hotel.

They have a small temporary parking área right in front of the hotel where you can unload and load the car. They can provide parking space 5 minutes walking from the hotel.

If you want to spend the day on the beach on your check-out day, ask to leave the luggage at the hotel. If you want to shower and change afterwards, they have a bathroom available for that on the ground floor.

Suggestions for activities:

If you get bored of the beach, you can hire kayaks or small motor boats right next door. You can also take walks along the coastal path. It is only a 20 minute walk to Callella de Palafrugell, which is also a pintoresque villlage you ought to visit, with lots of nice places for lunch or dinner. If you continue the walk towards south, you can visit small and remote "calas" (bays) from which to swim or sunbathe.


We generally stay at this hotel 1 or 2 week-ends a year, and will definately repeat.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the main street, and there is a bit of traffic. If you wish for a quiet room, it ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.
We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely
Customer Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 day stay at the lovely Hotel Terramar. We completed a cycling holiday which ended in Llafranc and we were looking forward to a relaxing stay at this hotel and we were not disappointed. Our room overlooked the sea front and although not enormous was impeccably clean, well furnished and the bathroom was immaculate, with a walk in power shower, plenty of towels and a range of toiletries. The rooms certainly did not smell 'muggy', just the opposite in fact.
As part of the holiday we had half board and I have to say the food was excellent. We had a choice of four menu's some of which changed nightly. Both the service and the food were excellent, staff were attentive and explained any dishes that were unfamiliar to us. I would say that all the food was the best that Catalonia had to offer with seafood high on the list. When I travel abroad I expect to experience all that the country has to offer including the food, I would not expect, or want to see typical British food on the menu.
I must disagree with the previous reviewer on her comments about the lighting in the corridors, they are not dark and dingy, however I did not take nocturnal wanderings on other corridors apart from my own and therefore can't comment on the light bulb situation anywhere else.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Llafranc and hope to return someday. Thank you.

Room Tip: I can't really comment on any other room than the one I had. It was on the first floor and had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.
We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely
Customer Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riguepeu
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from another relaxing few days at this very comfortable hotel.
We had a problem with the air conditioning in our room which was no fault of the hotel, but because of major water pipe replacement to the town causing an air lock to the system. When I reported the problem it had been fixed by the time we returned at night.
The restaurant was serving good food with a balanced menu each night, and the breakfast bar was sumptuous with friendly smiling faces to welcome us.We had some over cooked pieces of veal which I should have complained about before eating, the waiter was very apologetic and made sure on future nights we were satisfied. He also made sure there was an adjustment to our bill.
Reception were helpful at all times and made our our 4 nights seamless and for us the resort coupled with the Terramar offer a perfectly relaxed break.
We shall be back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony facing the sea are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.
We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely
Customer Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This little hotel quietly sits on the sea front and in an evening we sit with just the sound of the ocean waves breaking gently on the shore .
Rooms are not overly spacious but are comfortable and well equipped . Should you need anything at all the friendly staff are more than willing to help you just have to ask.
On a couple of days there was a good breeze blowing in from the north and the roof top terrace came into its own providing shelter and comfort wither sun loungers.
I will write a review of the hotel restaurant when i get home it seems not to be on the site but for me its number one.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department
HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and son for 4 days after Easter 2014. The hotel is very nice overall – it is not 4 star and does not claim to be, however it is easily close and I suspect that this is the direction the hotel is travelling in. The price was very reasonable and represented excellent value for money. Service was excellent and helpful – the place is spotless and it is clear from the modern bathrooms and restaurant that this hotel is kitting itself up for additional stars on an rolling basis.

I must note their attention to service - I arrived the day after my birthday and had not mentioned this to them. Later that day I returned to the room to find a bottle of cava provided for me as a gift - a really nice touch reminiscent of service I once received in the best 5* hotel in Nice, France. I would put the level of service into this category.

The details:
Rooms: very comfortable if fairly narrow but fine in terms of dimensions overall, with a very modern bathroom (no bath in my room - a bit of a problem for washing my son so ask for a bath if you have similar circumstances). Very comfortable and well sized bed, travel cot provided. The digital TV has many stations from many countries, including BBC1, BBC2, ITV and Sky News amongst others. The view from the balcony (room 112) was splendid, facing directly onto the beach. The only improvement I might suggest is a kettle and some coffee, tea bags, etc, in the room.

Location: Ideal, right in the centre of the main promenade, at the heart of the village and across a very quiet road to the beach. 2 An easy drive from Girona airport – my first time driving on the right hand side and the roads were a breeze, nothing to worry about. There are three nice play areas in Llafranc – one directly adjacent to the hotel car part (see below), one on the way and another a block or so behind the village church. These are variably shaded throughout the day so provide a nice respite from the sun for little ones.

Dining: Restaurants attached to the hotel (the hotel restaurant for finer dining, Nova Pasta seem to rent out the opposite side of the hotel frontage and provide pastas and pizzas – anything on the menu can be ordered to take away, just in case you have a baby to watch over in the evening. We dined in the hotel restaurant for breakfast and this was also of a very good quality (paid 12 euros each as a couple per day for this and fed our son from the ample buffet too at no extra charge).

Price: Incredibly reasonable for the location and quality

Service: Very good, even down to the friendliness of the maids.

Parking: I used the parking facility which is about 3 (short) blocks inland - really very close, about 2 minutes walk. Email them to book this in advance as spaces are limited, and you do have to pay (11 euros per day). This was secure and shaded, very convenient overall.

Llafranc: Llafranc is lovely, a really nice spot to visit and a million miles away from the built up idea of the Costas as you could get. Although I didn’t see much fishing going on, it would be best described as a fishing-village sort of place. Fairly quiet but well served. Just right.

English is not commonly well understood in Llafranc (the standard answer to "do you speak English" was "A little" but then my spoken Spanish is appalling so I am not complaining about this at all!) I would just advise digging out an old phrasebook as it may make things a little smoother. When we visited the other visitors were generally Spanish and French with a smattering of young British families and older British couples. If you’re visiting, rent a car as public transport seems a bit thin on the ground and the walk to Tamariu is fairly long (although pleasant, I am told – too many steps for the pushchair). Pop into Port Bo for lunch and Cap Roig botanical gardens if you can – the views from the latter are stunning. 6 euro entry per person, children free. There is a small supermarket on the corner of Carrer Isaac Peral and Carrer Xavega (see Google Maps) and a larger one within easy driving distance (probably walkable too) in Palafrugel proper, right by the roundabout for Llafranc. Some of the businesses were not open during weekdays when we visited – weekends only to cater for tourists. This is unlikely to be the case in high season. If you fancy a drink in the evening, most restaurants shut for Siesta but there are two bars/restaurants with promenade seating towards the eastern end of the beach that get the sun in the afternoon/early evening. Sit down to be served but then get their attention if you want a refill – they seem to be reluctant to approach you the second time around unless you are direct.

Room Tip: Ask for a bath if you want one - other photos show a bath, my room did not. Book parking in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Sirs,

We contact with you from the customer service department to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it is very helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt comfortable in our hotel, and you could enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Terramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terramar

Address: Passeig Cypsela 1, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terramar 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Terramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terramar Hotel Llafranc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Terramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.