We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I said I'd be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terramar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Terramar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Terramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Cypsela 1, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Llafranc
Gloucestershire England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“I said I'd be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We enjoyed yet another October visit for 3 nights and the hotel is as good as ever. Llafranc is lovely out of season. It would be handy if there was some information in the room eg. ask for a safe key, get towels for the beach from reception, no charge for either. Hope to be here again next year. See separate review of restaurant.

Room Tip: A sea view is what makes it special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    56
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
81
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay - can't fault it. Everyone was very helpful, the room was comfortable and spotless with great view across to the beach and breakfast was excellent. The Menu del dia was really enjoyable and great value. Will definitely be returning - I'm only sorry it's closing for the winter!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riguepeu
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel, is comfortable, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the food is good. We took a late September break and had a fabulous week in Llafranc at this hotel, right on the front but not noisy. This is a beautiful area and we will return as the walking and beach experience are good, followed by a welcoming smile and good service at the hotel.

Room Tip: Front of hotel facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbeare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Terramar before and enjoyed it so much that we returned again this year for a late break. We booked direct with the hotel so that we could discuss our requirements as we were travelling with elderly parents with mobility problems.
Everything about this hotel is excellent. All our requirements were met with a quiet efficiency. The beds in the rooms are comfortable, the power showers in the bathrooms excellent. The first floor room supplies instant boiling water and tea and coffee but on request they will provide a kettle and facilities in your room.
The breakfast at 12 euros is excellent value and is served until 11am. From the freshly squeezed orange juice, to the fresh fruit, yoghurts, cold meats, croissants, bacon, eggs, toast, all the food is of top quality.
We ate in the hotel twice during the week sampling the both the Tapas menus and the Plat du jour. both incredible value and excellent quality.
Finally all the staff from housekeeping, to reception, bar and waiting staff are all a credit to the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and they get on with their work in a friendly way.
You never feel like you're being ripped off. An delicious ice cream in a bowl is cheaper than a cone from the local shop!
We made use of the beach towels (you have to sign for them at reception) and had exclusive use of the sun terrace with really comfy sun loungers.
Llafranc has a flat tree lined promenade with easy walks along the coast to Calella de Parafrugel. With the improved road system only 45 minute drive from Gerona airport.

Room Tip: Request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were still working out the Spanish way of eating and were not hungry enough for a full menu of the day. The translated choices on the menu looked good, in this small village, bay side hotel restaurant.
We were very impressed with the meal of ( shared) roasted vegetable and bean salad and the traditional sea food paella. One of the best meals we have had in 2 weeks in Spain. And the service was great, attentive, but not over bearing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is obviously well established in Llafranc and, really, offered all we needed.
Our sea view room on the second floor was comfortable and bigger than rooms we've paid a lot more for in other countries, and of course, the location simply could not be better.

We ate in the hotel restaurant a couple of times and found the menu del dia to be a great bargain, including as it does, bread and wine.

There were one or two things that we found a little quirky about the hotel, so they may be worth mentioning.

First of all, the hotel will tell you that they have a parking space outside where, on arrival, you can drop off bags and register etc.
It may be as well to know that you have to drive over the curb and into the space between the two restaurants - I don't think we were alone in not finding this immediately obvious.

Secondly, although there are no tea and coffee facilities in the room and there is a lounge where you can make hot drinks, you can also have a tray with kettle and cups in your room if you ask at reception.

Finally we were not told that the hotel supply beach towels but, again, all you have to do is ask and they are freely available.

On the subject of the beach, I'd recommend being there fairly early at the weekend when the weather's good and the second-homers are in town - it turned into a bit of a Saturday morning scrum when we were there and it was the only day when the beach was packed.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and didn't find our view particularly obstructed by the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel has so much going for it, I don't know where to start.

The location could not be better. Llafranc itself is a gem of a seaside town, with lovely beaches, fantastic restaurants, and fine coastal walks. The Terramar is right on the beach, but surprisingly sheltered and shaded by the pine trees that line the little road in front of it.

Our sea view room was excellent value, and we loved spending time enjoying the view and watching people go by after a relaxing day on the beach.

The staff are wonderful, and despite not being as multi-lingual as in bigger fancier places they really look after you.

There's a sun terrace, a reading room, and a small gym, none of which we used. I think these could be put to better use somehow... How about a pool table in the reading room, and table tennis and petanque on the roof? But this really didn't detract from our experience at all.

The world would be a lot better if hotels were all like this simple, efficient family hotel. There is no real equivalent in my country, and this is a shame. Well done Terramar, we'll be back!

Room Tip: There are two floors of sea view rooms, all of which should be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Terramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terramar

Address: Passeig Cypsela 1, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terramar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Terramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terramar Hotel Llafranc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Terramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.