We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, friendly, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Terramar to your Saves list
Hotel Terramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Cypsela 1, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llafranc
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, friendly, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Initially allocated a room at the back of the hotel, James and Marina assisted us in our request for a sea-facing room despite the hotel being quite full. It was lovely falling asleep and waking to the sounds of the waves on the beach.

The bedroom was immaculate, the bathroom spotless. It would have been preferable to have a double bed but this is often not the case on the continent. No matter, this is a minor comment.

We were more than happy to choose to eat at the Terrassa Terramar on our first evening, having meandered along the length of the beachfront. The food was delightful - we both had Beef Wellington, and a bottle of the red wine served at the Oscar's ceremony earlier this year. The service was equally enjoyable and the experience as a whole, from the moment unexpected glasses of cava were brought to the table, was a thoroughly pleasurable one.

The hotel excel at the finer points - it may be three-star in name, but the attention to detail and the service lift it above that level. The flat roof has been turned into a suntrap with plenty of loungers - we enjoyed the mid-evening sunshine - and the hotel is happy to look after baggage if you are leaving the town late on your day of departure.

There is no parking at the hotel but we were directed to a quiet road only a couple of hundred metres away where the car sat safely for the duration of our stay.

Offering great value for money and a wonderful location, we will happily stay there again when next we visit Llafranc.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must. 206 has a double terrace. As mentioned elsewhere, first floor (rooms 1xx) will o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department
HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    76
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
110
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I agree with all the superlatives that are mentioned about the Hotel Terramar. Staff, food(all meals), pricing, ambience with the sea, and even the ability to bring your own wine from a visit to a local winery to dinner. All combined make this the preferable choice in Llafranc. IF a room in another hotel at a similar price is appointed better(and that would be arguable) the Terramar's other superlatives would still make it the better choice.

Room Tip: 102 or 104 if solo for the sea and least cost, 107 and up if a couple. I prefer the lower rooms, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.
We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department
HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Yet another lovely stay at this hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and it was a lovely surprise to receive a half bottle of Cava in our room as we generally stay here around 3 times a year. The buffet breakfast is splendid but we never manage to take full advantage! Cheese, pate, sausage, fruits, yoghurts, pastries, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, breads, tomatoes, ham etc I could go on!! A freshly squeezed orange machine and Cava if you want plus espresso coffee.
We will return in 3 weeks.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view it's lovely to relax and look out to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department

HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is nice, location is great but the food in the restaurant really makes the difference! We think it is just refurbished, really nice seats at the fire place, would be even better if you could eat there. Good wine menu for a nice price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel and Restaurant Terramar. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar and we note their contributions.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fantastic little hotel. We stayed in a family room with unbeatable sea view. It was fantastic to fall asleep listening to the waves ! The hotel is spotless and the size of the room / bathroom was very decent. The food at the restaurant is excellent. We had lunch and breakfast. Breakfast is really worth it. Fantastic buffet with the freshest products. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department

HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nice hotel at a beautiful beach with possibility to do very nice walks up to Calella and Sant Sebastian (lighthouse). Cami de Ronda up to Cap Roig (walking path) offers you exceptional views. Breakfast is the best you can find with lots of fruits, very good service, and evening dinner you can take outside on the terrrace or inside in the dining room.
In our week, in the mid of September, temperature was +/- 30 degrees!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's hard to fault this hotel. This was our second visit and we intend to go again. The rooms are spacious and well maintained with good bathrooms, comfortable beds and a balcony overlooking the charming bay. Pop across the road and you are on the beach. The staff are friendly and helpful - in several languages. The restaurant is stylish. The 21 euro 3 course menu is fantastic value, including as it does a glass of cava, bottle of good Perelada wine, water and bread. The chef is imaginative and we have enjoyed the five dinners we have eaten there. Breakfast is a bit pricey at 12.50 euros but it was worth it - great selection and a good cup of coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llafranc
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 7 in Llafranc
5.0 of 5 stars 253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Llafranch
Hotel Llafranch
#3 of 7 in Llafranc
4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sant Roc
Hotel Sant Roc
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Llevant
Hotel Llevant
#6 of 7 in Llafranc
4.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terramar

Address: Passeig Cypsela 1, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terramar 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Terramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terramar Hotel Llafranc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Terramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.