We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice gem in la costa brava !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terramar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Terramar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Terramar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Cypsela 1, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Llafranc
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Nice gem in la costa brava !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fantastic little hotel. We stayed in a family room with unbeatable sea view. It was fantastic to fall asleep listening to the waves ! The hotel is spotless and the size of the room / bathroom was very decent. The food at the restaurant is excellent. We had lunch and breakfast. Breakfast is really worth it. Fantastic buffet with the freshest products. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANNA P, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Terramar, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sirs,

We contact from the customer service department you to thank you for your opinion and assessment about hotel, information that it helpful for us.

We are glad that you felt were comfortable in our hotel, and that you could also enjoy it's facilities. We appreciate your positive comments concerning the services and facilities offered by the Hotel Terramar.

Yours sincerely

Customer Service Department

HOTEL TERRAMAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    58
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
86
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nice hotel at a beautiful beach with possibility to do very nice walks up to Calella and Sant Sebastian (lighthouse). Cami de Ronda up to Cap Roig (walking path) offers you exceptional views. Breakfast is the best you can find with lots of fruits, very good service, and evening dinner you can take outside on the terrrace or inside in the dining room.
In our week, in the mid of September, temperature was +/- 30 degrees!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's hard to fault this hotel. This was our second visit and we intend to go again. The rooms are spacious and well maintained with good bathrooms, comfortable beds and a balcony overlooking the charming bay. Pop across the road and you are on the beach. The staff are friendly and helpful - in several languages. The restaurant is stylish. The 21 euro 3 course menu is fantastic value, including as it does a glass of cava, bottle of good Perelada wine, water and bread. The chef is imaginative and we have enjoyed the five dinners we have eaten there. Breakfast is a bit pricey at 12.50 euros but it was worth it - great selection and a good cup of coffee.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here in July '12 and had a suberb week away in the most idyllic and peaceful Spanish fishing village on the Costa Brava.

The hotel is in the perfect location, right across the road from the beach and sheltered among the shady boulevard of the main street leading to the port. One doesn't visit Lla Franc for hustle and bustle but for a relaxing break of sunshine, lazy evenings, fine wine and amazing Catalan cuisine. Hotel Terramar offers a doorway to all of it and couldn't be a more perfect location from which to start your days.

To begin your day, do not miss out on the breakfasts! The choice and variety of all of your staples as well as local specialities, all served with the best coffee you can find! The dining area overlooks the beach and picturesque bay providing such a beautiful backdrop before venturing out for the morning.

The rooms are clean, spacious and have everything one needs to be comfortable including air con! The service is spot on and you really can tell this is a family run business from the warmth of the welcome to the friendly faces you pass on your comings and goings throughout the hotel.

We will definitely be heading back to this beautiful little cove for all that it offers and wouldn't think of staying any where else. A real gem on the Costa Brava and one well worth visiting if you're in need of a relaxing break in the sun.

Room Tip: There isn't a pool or spa, but being 20 seconds fro the exceptionally clean beach and sea, you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This area is so pretty and the hotel only yards from the beach, a car is recommended to explore the surrounding countryside although there are plenty of nice walks locally if you don't mind a climb. There is a bus service but they are not very frequent and the stop is at the top of a hill so not for the less mobile. The hotel was small, very clean and the staff were so helpful and friendly. The restaurant was such good value for money with wine and water included on the evening set menu for 21 euros and the choice was varied. Breakfast was extra for us and not cheap but it was worth it. We booked independently as we had read previous reviews and we had a lovely room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the sea with TV, fridge and kettle. If you are looking for just a snack at lunchtime this could be difficult as there was only one place we could find for a light lunch, lots of local restaurants though and the food was excellent. This comes highly recommended for a quiet, relaxing break, we only heard music being played once the whole week - what bliss.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is an excellent hotel all-round.
We stayed on floor four, in a spacious room with great views. Everything was spotless, the staff always helpful. The breakfast costs, but consists of a wide range of very good quality. The hotel has a nice ground floor dining room plus a pizza/pasta restaurant, both looking out over the sea.
Llafranc beach is blue flag, and there are also wonderful beaches in Calella, a twenty minute stroll away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We travelled 15th September for one week.

Hotel:
• lovely three star, situated across a small road from the beach. no pool though
• friendly staff
• rooms very clean, fresh towels every day
• flat screen TV showing Sky News, BBC 1 and ITV 1
• fridge in room and complimentary water
• hairdryer provided
• buffet breakfasts excellent, everything on offer you could wish for and as much as you like
• evening meal deal, three courses with wine and water 21 Euros but quality is not as good as it could be – a new menu is put under your door each morning

Thomson:
• met at airport and given a phone number, never see or hear from Thomson again
• pointed towards a taxi and left
• no rep in the resort
• info book in hotel has very little info in it
• Thomson forgot to order our taxi back to the airport!
• they have the worst rooms in the hotel, overlooking the fire escape you need to upgrade to a balcony with a sea view, 34 Euros per night – we phoned the hotel in advance and sorted this out with them
• as you no doubt paying a premium for booking via Thomson, it is better to book independently - Girona airport 45 minutes away, Barcelona 2 hours away.

Places to eat out:
• Chez Thomas is excellent, closed Tuesdays. Eat inside or outside in the garden. Need to book. Near to the pharmacy
• Leon is excellent. Down the street from the pharmacy, very small eating out area on the road, bigger inside. Need to book
• Hotel Llevant on the sea front, good and a bit more pricey, again need to book

The resort:
• Lovely and quiet but it did start closing down around us, shops, restaurants, cafes all closed whilst we were there
• Weekends are busier, Saturdays especially
• Nice walk around a pedestrianized walkway to the next village, Callella, about 15 minutes
• More restaurants and cafes in Callella probably because much more self- catering accommodation there than Llafranc
• Beach beds and umbrellas available in Llafranc generally but as we were late in the season, only if it was a very hot day!
• No beach beds or umbrellas in Callella, take your own, no shade either!

We will definitely go back to the area again but hire a car this time and book independently, to visit other villages, I’m told Pals is a lovely medieval village not too far away.

Room Tip: Balcony sea front rooms the best.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Terramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terramar

Address: Passeig Cypsela 1, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Terramar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Terramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terramar Hotel Llafranc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Terramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.