We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RESTAURANTE LEON

RESTAURANTE LEON
LLAFRANC, Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Llafranc
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
England
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Leon restored out faith in LLafranc restaurants after a terrible experience the previous night. The food was fantastic, potions huge ( we just could not manage it all) and the service great. The waiters are genuinely helpful and cheerful and the place has a real local buzz about it. We could not believe the quality of food and prices - amazing. We went back for a second night.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    36
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herault, France
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great family restaurant at good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Following TripAdvisor reviews we tried Leon this lunchtime.

We settled for a couple of set menus, one at €13 and the other at €16. We both had the moules in a tomato sauce which was delicious as a first course. For the second course we had one paella, which could have fed us both and a dish which was described as eggs with bacon and potatoes which turned out to be egg, bacon and chips, but I'm not complaining! The final course was a selection of commercial offerings (Cornetto and similar) and home made offerings of panacotta or creme caramel. No contest, the creme caramel was perfect and the panacotta likewise - the panacotta flavoured with fresh mint with a chocolate sauce at the bottom of the dish.

We drank rose and red wine, both of which were very acceptable. The bill came to €32. We classify the Leon as 4* because it does what it does very well - good lunch at a very reasonable price.

This is clearly a family business with mama watching over proceedings and helping whenever necessary. The service was excellent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“3 blobs plus?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our first night in Spain, well Catalonia this year. Checked into hotel, went for a mooch, Llafranc as lovely as it was 40 years ago when last here as a boy.
Went to go to #1 on the list but was very shut and was time to eat.
Leon it was then. Was very quiet, as was whole village, but staff welcomed us and very friendly. Great choice of fixed price menus, and staff helpful on choosing wine, a very nice Verdejo.
Only snag was food was OK, not bad, but certainly not great. Fixed price was prawn kebab, cold, with salad, main pan fried sea bass, OK. I had exciorda (spelt wrong), bacalao with pepper/tomato a salad, and then Susquet peix, fish stew. All OK, but no more. Am using OK to avoid using nice. 63 euros inc wine, good value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great food...friendly staff....super prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We visited the restaurant twice during our visit. There were a number of fixed price menu selections. My husband and I loved the choices and he totally enjoyed the mussels. Even though this was not waterfront, this was a great place to go. Reservations would be encouraged as the place fills up quickly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We've been in Spain, well Catalan, for 5 days, had many good/great meals but find this area a little tough to figure out. We made 2 mistakes in our first 3 days in Barcelona. First, we expected a similar experience to San Sebastian..... seafood, seafood, seafood. Tapas bars serve pinchos with some seafood but limited in my view. Second, we avoided the Las Ramblas area expecting it to be tourist oriented.

What we found is that Barcelona has amazing seafood, it just isn't all that common in restaurants. The restaurants we visited, most highly recommended, were more focused on haute cuisine.... too bad in our view. Dried meats, mostly pork, are much more common. We did have a nice seafood paella at Cheriff in Barcelonetta but it wasn't until we ventured into the Boqueria Market on the west side of Las Ramblas that we found the selection of seafood and other delicacies that we were looking for. We will likely eat lunch at one or more of the various bars within the Boqueria on our next trip.... unfortunately the Boqueria isn't open for dinner.

We then moved on to Llafranc. Based on our first look we expected an Atlantic City sort of experience.... seaside eateries with drink specials and catering to the tour bus crowd. Restaurant Leon proved us completely wrong. This little gem is a 1/2 block from the beach, family run, friendly, and has great seafood at very reasonable prices. We ordered a mixed seafood plate as an appetizer that included smelts, crevettes, clams & baby squid... all so fresh. That was followed by sole and monk fish entrees, both nicely browned and served with asparagus. We had a nice local grenache, syrah blend, mineral water and coffees.... all for under 60 Euros.... great value.

There are clearly several restaurants to avoid in the Llafranc area but based on our experience and discussion with others at our hotel there are also several good choices within steps of the beach.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RESTAURANTE LEON also viewed

Llafranc, Palafrugell
Llafranc, Palafrugell
 
Llafranc, Palafrugell
 

Been to RESTAURANTE LEON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RESTAURANTE LEON, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.