We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best small hotel in Llafranc... or perhaps even the Costa Brava” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blau Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Blau Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Blau Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Farena 36, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Llafranc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best small hotel in Llafranc... or perhaps even the Costa Brava”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Quite simply stunning, from the location, the view, the rooms and the service. The only down side, and it is the only one, is the short walk into Llafranc but it is only a short walk and then another view awaits with a variety of bars and restaurants offering great food and drink. After many years of trying different hotels and apartments in Llafranc we have found the perfect accommodation. Hotel Blau Mar gets our vote every time!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your opinion. We are pleased to know that your stay at Hotel BlauMar in Llafranc was pleasant.
We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit at Hotel Blaumar in the next future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    35
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
137
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I contacted this hotel directly rather than going through a booking agent to make sure we got the room we wanted with a balcony and a view. I was very specific and they assured me I would get a superior room with a balcony and quoted a price ' Total amount (breakfast and taxes included)' were their exact words. Two things happened that disappointed us.

Firstly when we arrived we were given a small downstairs room with a little patio and a hedge obscuring the view and where told they were very busy and full. I stood my ground and waited in reception feeling uncomfortable whilst two members of staff had a discussion in Spanish (which I could not understand) After looking at the original booking email they gave us an upstairs room. Although we did get the room we wanted in the end it is a shame that our original booking was not honoured straight away instead of putting us through the embarrassment. Clearly if we had not insisted or had arrived later after other guests, we would not have got the room we had booked. Later I saw another couple being shown to our original downstairs room who were clearly also disappointed and that made me feel even more uncomfortable.

Secondly when we checked out we were charged an extra approx 47 euros in tax when the email had clearly stated 'taxes' I am aware that Spain has recently introduced a second tax but as the the email stated 'Total' and 'Taxes' not 'Tax' we were surprised to be charge this extra amount. It was explained the quote was an error and only included one of the taxes but if it is their error I felt they should have honoured their original quote. Again I felt uncomfortable challenging the bill and in the end just paid it.

In all honesty I have to agree with all the other reviews that this is a fabulous hotel with truly lovely staff but it is a shame that our experience was marred by the booking process. I was made to feel uncomfortable when I arrived and uncomfortable when I left but I have to be honest and say the stay was wonderful and therefore can't give less than 4/5 overall.

Room Tip: Make sure you state clearly you want an upstairs room if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
BlauMar Llafranc Hotel is newly built and their situation is oriented south-east, which all rooms have sea views and are sunny and bright

We are really looking forward to welcome you at Hotel Blaumar in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you want to have a fist class experience in Costa Brava thisis the place to go.
It id mostly crowded with french tourists which is good because they are very respectful to others rest and the service and quality is super high.

Room Tip: all rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and to confirm the beauty of the place and the quality of the accommodation.
We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit at Hotel Blaumar in the next future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Our room was quite spacious and well furnished. Nice view from the first floor.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Good parking.
Just some little problem with theWi-Fi in the room.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Blaumar to spend your holidays.

We appreciate your positive comments on the clean hotel facilities and the friendliness of our staff. We have passed your congratulations to all our Staff, who will certainly celebrate it, as getting the best satisfaction of our guests is always our main goal.
We have made improvements in the area of wireless to provide better service to our customers and at this time the entire hotel has free access.

Hoping to see you again at Hotel Blaumar
The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Come and stay. Stay forever. Enjoy everything on offer. The peace, the views, the village, the beach, the enormous delicious breakfasts, the beautiful rooms, the smiles, the attention, the work that has been put into creating the hotel, the swimming pool.........

Room Tip: Room 5 is divine.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear
Thank you for your review and to confirm the beauty of the place and the quality of the accommodation.
We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit at Hotel BlauMar in the next future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed for 10 days in June. Arrived early, warmly directed to breakfast on the terrace whist our 2nd floor room was finished. Breathtaking view. Everything about the hotel and staff was wonderful. Even the sound on the TV is set so as not to bother other guests (but loud enough). Car hire - just ask and it's sorted, along with everything else. Room so restful and tastefully furnished - lovely little balcony overlooking the bay - bed sooo comfortable - best nights sleep in ages. Shower, plumbing, etc, all perfect. Interesting breakfast - go for the home-made cake quickly - and loads of lovely fresh fruit, great breads and good yoghurts.
Well placed for excursions - we walked/taxied and hired a car. Depends on how active you wish to be - the stank up the hill is an experience in the heat but we made it into a game.
Didn't use the pool much - busy early in the morning but lovely (and quieter) later in the early evening when the kids were put to bed.
The hoteliers are really, really lovely. Mrs Hotel got up early and ensured we had breakfast prior to departure. This was in her very stylish dressing gown complete with a goodbye kiss and a chilled bottle of water for the journey.
Overall this is a simply wonderful place - great for chilling out. The hotel doesn't do fab food but a basic lunchtime salad on the terrace will suffice. So many restaurants just a stroll away down the hill or further afield if you want to be adventurous.
Special note for the British - NO KETTLE/tea making facilities in room. We bought one locally and left it there as not travel size. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The sun stays longer to the left of the hotel as you sit on your balcony looking out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion. We are pleased to know that your stay at Hotel Blaumar in Llafranc was pleasant.
We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit at Hotel Blaumar in the next future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Spent a 4 day holiday with my wife. We loved everything about the hotel-location, staff, room designs, detailing for every aspect of the hotel. It is the best hotel I have stayed at. I will definitely go back

Room Tip: All rooms have fabulous view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments about your great holiday in Hotel Blaumar
We are very glad that you have enjoyed some relaxing time in our hotel and that you keep a nice memory of the treatment received by our staff.
Hoping that you will return very soon

The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blau Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blau Mar

Address: Carrer de Farena 36, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blau Mar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is in Llafranc, one of the best beach resorts on the Costa Brava. All rooms at the Blaumar have a private terrace or garden with sea views.The Blaumar is located in the heart of the beautiful Empordà region. Along the coastline there are a range of beaches and interesting fishing towns.The hotel has soundproofed bedrooms with bright décor and lots of natural light. There are wooden floors and attractive furniture.Wi-Fi is free in public areas. These include a living room where hot drinks are served around the fireplace.Breakfast includes local produce and fresh fruit and is available on the outdoor terrace. There are also gardens and a snack bar.Free public parking is possible on site. There are 10 golf courses within 20 km. The Dalí Museum in Figueres is an hour's drive away, while Girona can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Blau Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blau Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.