We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice and cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blau Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Blau Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Blau Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Farena 36, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Llafranc
madrid
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“very nice and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you want to have a fist class experience in Costa Brava thisis the place to go.
It id mostly crowded with french tourists which is good because they are very respectful to others rest and the service and quality is super high.

Room Tip: all rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and to confirm the beauty of the place and the quality of the accommodation.
We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit at Hotel Blaumar in the next future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    36
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
140
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pavia, Italy
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Our room was quite spacious and well furnished. Nice view from the first floor.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Good parking.
Just some little problem with theWi-Fi in the room.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Hotel Blaumar to spend your holidays.

We appreciate your positive comments on the clean hotel facilities and the friendliness of our staff. We have passed your congratulations to all our Staff, who will certainly celebrate it, as getting the best satisfaction of our guests is always our main goal.
We have made improvements in the area of wireless to provide better service to our customers and at this time the entire hotel has free access.

Hoping to see you again at Hotel Blaumar
The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Come and stay. Stay forever. Enjoy everything on offer. The peace, the views, the village, the beach, the enormous delicious breakfasts, the beautiful rooms, the smiles, the attention, the work that has been put into creating the hotel, the swimming pool.........

Room Tip: Room 5 is divine.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear
Thank you for your review and to confirm the beauty of the place and the quality of the accommodation.
We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit at Hotel BlauMar in the next future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed for 10 days in June. Arrived early, warmly directed to breakfast on the terrace whist our 2nd floor room was finished. Breathtaking view. Everything about the hotel and staff was wonderful. Even the sound on the TV is set so as not to bother other guests (but loud enough). Car hire - just ask and it's sorted, along with everything else. Room so restful and tastefully furnished - lovely little balcony overlooking the bay - bed sooo comfortable - best nights sleep in ages. Shower, plumbing, etc, all perfect. Interesting breakfast - go for the home-made cake quickly - and loads of lovely fresh fruit, great breads and good yoghurts.
Well placed for excursions - we walked/taxied and hired a car. Depends on how active you wish to be - the stank up the hill is an experience in the heat but we made it into a game.
Didn't use the pool much - busy early in the morning but lovely (and quieter) later in the early evening when the kids were put to bed.
The hoteliers are really, really lovely. Mrs Hotel got up early and ensured we had breakfast prior to departure. This was in her very stylish dressing gown complete with a goodbye kiss and a chilled bottle of water for the journey.
Overall this is a simply wonderful place - great for chilling out. The hotel doesn't do fab food but a basic lunchtime salad on the terrace will suffice. So many restaurants just a stroll away down the hill or further afield if you want to be adventurous.
Special note for the British - NO KETTLE/tea making facilities in room. We bought one locally and left it there as not travel size. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: The sun stays longer to the left of the hotel as you sit on your balcony looking out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion. We are pleased to know that your stay at Hotel Blaumar in Llafranc was pleasant.
We hope to have again the pleasure of your visit at Hotel Blaumar in the next future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Spent a 4 day holiday with my wife. We loved everything about the hotel-location, staff, room designs, detailing for every aspect of the hotel. It is the best hotel I have stayed at. I will definitely go back

Room Tip: All rooms have fabulous view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comments about your great holiday in Hotel Blaumar
We are very glad that you have enjoyed some relaxing time in our hotel and that you keep a nice memory of the treatment received by our staff.
Hoping that you will return very soon

The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Blau Mar in early October 2012. We found the staff extremely welcoming and pleasant from the moment we arrived. Our room on the 2nd floor had a great balcony with an absolutely beautiful view of the small bay and surrounding areas. Our room was clean and modern but quaint. The breakfast was great and our coffee requests were remembered each morning before we even asked. The snacks and salad of the day were just right for us, along with wine and beer choices. We requested laundry service one day and our items were picked up by an outside service and brought back perfectly done the next day. One day we rented a car which was arranged by Marta. It was brought to the hotel and we left the keys at the desk the next day. It was very easy. Marta and Joseph were especially helpful to us.
We were both very sad to leave this lovely place, and hope to return again.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have great views, but I would suggest not being on the ground floor as the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated. We are also pleased that your holiday in our hotel went so good and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
For us it was a real pleasure to help with everything you needed.
We hope to welcome you again at Hotel Blaumar Llafranc
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Spacious well furnished room and modern spacious bathroom with great view from the first floor
Short walk to seafront down a steep hill
Well kept grounds and swimming pool
Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff
Breakfast on the terrace; very enjoyable
Good parking
No room safe
Bar snacks need to be upsized

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlauMar, Gerente at Hotel Blau Mar, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, your suggestions are valuable to us because they help us to improve.
In the Hotel Blaumar Llafranc take care every detail to make your stay as comfortable as possible
We hope to welcome you again at Hotel Blaumar Llafranc
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blau Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blau Mar

Address: Carrer de Farena 36, 17211 Llafranc, Palafrugell, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Llafranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Llafranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Blau Mar 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is in Llafranc, one of the best beach resorts on the Costa Brava. All rooms at the Blaumar have a private terrace or garden with sea views.The Blaumar is located in the heart of the beautiful Empordà region. Along the coastline there are a range of beaches and interesting fishing towns.The hotel has soundproofed bedrooms with bright décor and lots of natural light. There are wooden floors and attractive furniture.Wi-Fi is free in public areas. These include a living room where hot drinks are served around the fireplace.Breakfast includes local produce and fresh fruit and is available on the outdoor terrace. There are also gardens and a snack bar.Free public parking is possible on site. There are 10 golf courses within 20 km. The Dalí Museum in Figueres is an hour's drive away, while Girona can be reached in 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Blau Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blau Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;