We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the Gold Crown timeshare we stayed at last year.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Tenerife Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Tenerife Country Club to your Saves list
Royal Tenerife Country Club
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Complejo San Andres | Calle San Andres, Golf del Sur, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€49 (EUR)
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Better than the Gold Crown timeshare we stayed at last year.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Having a timeshare week to exchange again, and having enjoyed Tenerife enough last year, and still with plenty to see and do, we exchanged in to this place. We were a little wary as it is only classified as a Silver Crown resort, and we had been a bit disappointed with the previous year's Gold Crown, but reviews on both RCI and here on Tripadvisor seemed to indicate that it was good. Well they were right as in most aspects it is better than last year. It is near the airport yes, but not as much of a disturbance as you'd think. Parking at the nearby golf course car park is fine, a good 5 minute stroll. Check in was quick and easy, and no unexpected charges when we checked out. Our apartment was large, clean, airy and once the shutters were opened was very light. Ground floor apartments have a patio and small garden complete with full size barbecue and chimney, first floor ones appeared to have a roof terrace. Although we didn't use it the pool area was lovely and large. There is free wifi in reception. We used Cafe Mer three times, the sangria was the loveliest we've ever had, and the food is a god quality and portion size, with enough variety to satisfy three visits easily. We didn't use the pool bar/restaurant but it also provided a good choice of food, of a more British menu. To sum up, how this is Silver Crown compared to our previous year's resort baffles us.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    116
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
115
105
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Looking for some winter sun and a relaxing week - this resort was quiet and the apartment very spacious and well equipped. The week in Feb was extremely windy but it was okay whilst the sun was out though too cold to swim. Other places on the island were not windy so you could get away to much hotter sheltered sun.
There is a heated pool and the area is clean and there's a pool bar/restaurant which we only used once though they were friendly. The apartment was comfortable and great big bed ours was quite a way from the pool and reception. There seemed to be cleaners every other day and several towel changes.
We chose not to have a car which meant we walked the 15 mins to San Blas where there are some reasonable restaurants, but best choice was a 25 minute walk along the front to Los Abrigos the little harbour nearby. It's uphill on the way home but taxis easy to find and about £4.
The little shop on site was fine for basics and one of the ladies was extremely chatty and helpful. Staff on reception were friendly and informative but we didn't get an information pack for a couple if days - would have been useful first day. Not the best of Diamonds resorts we have been to but of their usual good standard.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the pool if you don't want to walk far
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for the information and advice you’ve given about the Royal Tenerife Country Club, which we feel sure will be much appreciated by prospective guests. We’re really glad that you enjoyed your stay here!

We’re sorry to read that you didn’t get an information pack for the first two days of your stay – this shouldn’t have been the case, and the front desk team should have been able to provide one to you upon your request. We’re sorry for any inconvenience caused to you by this.

We really hope that this didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay here, and we’d love for you to return. We hope we’ll see you again!

Kind regards
Dragana Jovanovic
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

we stayed in apt 117, i'm afraid it was tired and dated, you couldn't even have the kettle & toaster on at the same time!
the bed was very comfy.
the planes don't cause a bother.
they do charge 15 euros a week for car parking, worth it if you use your car daily.
they also charge for a safe, 10.5 euros a week.
great pool area & sun-beds.
cafe-med for dinner is average, best to go to the marina rest. on the coastal within el nautical suites.

Room Tip: request refurbished apt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We regret to read that you have not been fully satisfied with the standard of accommodation you have been offered at Royal Tenerife Country Club, however we do thank you for your feedback as it allows us to remain informed with regards to our guests' requirements and opinions. We would like to take this opportunity to advise that our resort is currently being refurbished and all our apartments should be brought up to the same standard very soon. Nevertheless, we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you and we hope this has not marred your stay or your future dealings with us.

Ivan Lorente
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Having read some of the comments from previous posts I have to agree with the majority. I booked last year through villas and golf and from the first communication with them the service was excellent. Nothing was a hassle no matter how petty and the villa was exactly what we needed for my group.

I have already booked for this year with us staying in the same villa and we're all looking forward to it. I am planning to hire a car for a few days too explore the island knowing I can park it on the complex safe and sound. So no complaints from us

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your review-we are delighted to read that your last vacation at Royal Tenerife Country Club has left you with a long lasting good impression and you have decided to pay us another visit. We trust it will be another great stay and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Ivan Lorente
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A great place to stay, we had a lovely 2 bed apartment with a lovely garden terrace to enjoy breakfast and the needs must, sundowners (gin and tonic as the sun goes down). Yes the planes were near but we didnt notice night time ones. Milk, bottled water, tea and coffeee to get you started when we arrived helped, as we arrived at 4am in the morning after a delayed flight. Luckily the place was spotless and flawless, all that you needed you had in comfort. Ideal golf retreat very relaxing even if watching from afar. Unfortunately what let this place down was the reception service, we wanted to stay longer or come back later that week but could not be told if any apartments were free and we had to look online and book from that, we tried a lot the internet receiver in reception was practically non existent! frustrating. we did later in the week get booked back into the apartment by booking with expedia from another hotel we were in, only to be told we had been double booked! when we arrived back! please be aware that a booking here is not always guaranteed it seems, if it is a late booking. Reception were un-co-operative with our problem which occured.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Royal Tenerife Country Club, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it is important to us to receive feedback from guests in order to ensure we continue to provide high level of service. Therefore, it comes as a disappointment to us to read that you have not been satisfied with the level of service you have received during your last visit at our resort. We assure you this most certainly is not the standard we are striving to achieve. This will of course be addressed with our reception staff.
We do trust this has not marred your future dealings with us; we hope we will have an opportunity to be of service to you again and we wish you all the best on your future travels.

Ivan Lorente
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our holiday and would say that this location would be ideal for those with a small family. Lovely accomadation, great pool area for relaxing and some lovely restaurants in nearby Los Abrigos.
The airport is close but it certainly did not detract from our stay.
The staff members were very helpful and someone was always on hand if needed.
My only negative would be the 1000 am check out, with a 15 month old baby 1100 would have been easier.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Ok so let's get to the main point that would concern anyone including us about this place, Yes it's proximity to the Southern Airport. Firstly the planes during our week we're landing over the resort due to the prevailing wind but at no point where they overhead. At a guess I would say the flight path was 1km or so south of the resort and 2-300m from the ground as they passed. So there it is in facts and from our perspective did not affect our enjoyment of the resort one bit. The focus of my review is the accommodation which is absolutely superb. We stayed in villa number 119 which is a 2 bedroom (1 huge double bedded room and another room with 2 singles in it) unit. The furnishings were of a really high quality both inside the villa and outside. The maid service was polite and frequent. A definite plus was the large bathroom with lots of natural light plus a Jacuzzi. The Jacuzzi was a bit small for someone 1.88m tall but hey it was really great. Check-in was at 4:00 in the afternoon on arrival and Check -out at 10:00 on the day of departure. On the whole a thoroughly enjoyable break where temperatures were between 20 and 24 degrees all week. We ate in San Blas most nights but went to an absolute gem of a restaurant called the Cave in Los Abrigos on our last night. Checked it out if you are staying at the Royal Tenerife Golf club for us it was the perfect end to a fantastic break from the January weather in the UK.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Tenerife Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Tenerife Country Club

Address: Complejo San Andres | Calle San Andres, Golf del Sur, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Tenerife Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against rising hills amid the greens of the challenging Golf del Sur course, Royal Tenerife Country Club is a resort designed with relaxation in mind.The furnished accommodations boast sumptuous marble bathrooms and beautifully outfitted kitchens. Outside there are attractive, subtropical gardens, but the focal point of Royal Tenerife Country Club is its large and beautifully landscaped swimming pool.Out and about you will find that a relaxed atmosphere pervades, while the fish restaurants in the nearby village of Los Abrigos are simply too good to ignore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Tenerife Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Tenerife Country Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Royal Tenerife Country Club Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Tenerife Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.