We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo San Miguel

Castillo San Miguel
San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
922 70 02 76
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
Attraction details
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was such a good night and the price is ok to.
When you first arrive you get a coloured tabard witch puts you into your teams and your supporting knight. The night was great and it takes you back to the medieval times and shows you just how they ate and what it was like. The wine is endless, drink as much as you can before going into the other room to watch the flamenco dancers. The food was also great starters was soup, mains we had hole chicken and a big boiled potato witch was lovely, and desert was hot banana in syrup.
If you you are visiting around this part of tenerife it's a must go to you will not be disappointed.

As for the persons review a couple down that says (awful)
Don't listen as in medieval times cutlery was very rarely used, as for eating your soup you quite clearly pick up the bowl and drink it, the wine is endless and you just have to ask for more.

Don't listen to any bad review just go and see for your self.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    40
    20
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly entertaining evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It might be a bit cheesy but the whole event is great fun if you get into the spirit of it. Food was good, albeit nothing amazing but the horsemanship was fantastic. Although the fights are staged, hats off to the knights as they were obviously putting a lot of effort into it and making it seem as real as it could be with metal swords (albeit bluntted). The flamenco show was a little bit of culture and you could meet the "knights" after the show for photos. Lots of giggles and laughter for €50 odd euros.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good giggle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just go with it and you'll enjoy the night!
Initially dubious with the coloured bibs and queue for required photo before getting into the hall but once there the service was generally good and the entertainment amusing. Be ready to cheer for your knight, pack some hand wipes for finger food eating and cover your plate during the falconry display to avoid any flying accidents...
While the waiter accidently missed us for a course the food when it came was fine. Advert of "free-flowing wine" is well earned with both red & white being replenished through the night.
Flamenco show to round up the evening was ok especially as you get the chance for a wee dance on the stage at the end of your performance.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I payed a hundred odd quid to see the widely-acclaimed medieval night at Castillo San Miguel in Tenerife.

On arrival we were issued a coloured bib to support the colour of our knight and then given cardboard crowns and herded in line to have our photos taken with 'The King'. I attempted to take my own photograph and was met with the stern warning 'No photos' - because they wanted us to buy theirs at exorbitant prices.

Now decked out in a red bib and cardboard crown we were seated either side of the arena. What followed amounted to a display of dressed horses and knights charging up and down getting the audience to cheer on the knight corresponding to the colour of the bib.

There followed some mock hand-to-hand combat staged in the same manner as you would expect a pantomime to be conducted - great for children I suppose.

The meal was served 'medieval style' with no cutlery which proved quite a task when it came to the soup. Mains was chicken, lamb cutlet? (it was dark) and half a potato unceremoniously dumped on our plate as the food distributors passed by - you certainly couldn't call them waiters.

Dessert was a small tub of vanilla ice cream again dumped in front of us at speed.

I was under the impression that the price included food and drink but apart from a limited amount of wine and water on offer we could, and did, buy one of the plastic jugs of beer being touted for sale at 5 euros a pop.

More photographs with the photographer now taking snaps of couples whilst sat at the arena - more money.

The show should then have continued with flamenco. We left the arena and were seated in front of a stage at tables devoid of anything in the way of drink. But that was not a problem because they had a bar and a drinks tariff - we could buy beer at 5 euros and water at 2.5 euros. A band played some old music and then encouraged people to get up and dance on stage for half an hour. With tunes such as YMCA and the usual hardcore of people who like people watching them dance badly it reminded me of a typical family wedding in a village hall.

Finally the flamenco began and for the first few dances I was wondering if any of them could actually dance flamenco. There was a few taps of the heels but nothing spectacular ... until the lead dancer's solo towards the end. This was spectacular and deserved the standing ovation. So it seems that the dance troupe consisted of one flamenco dancer and five that were trying their best.

To sum up, if you like pantomime, primitive food, bad service, a very average dance troupe and paying out for photos, this is for you.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mackain Walker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant night....€50 which includes transport there and back, food, wine/water/juice, entertainment which was fabulous....I mean everyone loves value for money and to me this was excellent value!! I had already read that no cutlery was provided and was a little nervous given that I really don't like meat on the bone but I really had nothing to worry about...1) the food was really lovely 2) I felt it added to part of the experience 3) no fuss which means u can just get on with enjoying the night. Would absolutely recommend!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castillo San Miguel also viewed

 
San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife
 

Been to Castillo San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo San Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.