We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely birthday stay..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Park Albatros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Park Albatros to your Saves list
Royal Park Albatros
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Golf del Sur, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A really lovely birthday stay..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We booked a deal with KGB and this was complete luxury! We had a pool view apartment with plenty of sunshine. The apartment was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. I couldn't have asked for a better service. The only thing is you have to sit through a 2 hr 'timeshare' presentation but its not a hard sell, all you do is say no thanks! This happened at the end of our stay so it was not a massive problem. This deal was amazing value for money ad they even delivered a bottle of champagne to our apartment on my birthday. A lovely location, lovely food and a chilled relaxed stay.. Many, many thanks!

Hannah Rose

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Royal Park Albatros, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your review, your comments are most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    192
    93
    20
    16
See reviews for
127
210
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
doncaster
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

From the moment we booked which was through wowcher,the staff were excellent,both in the uk and in Tenerife,the apartment and complex were clean and well looked after.the resteraunt with its nightly entertainment was very pleasant.within walking distance were plenty of other bars offering good food and reasonably priced food.keep these offers and promotions coming.

Room Tip: Room 415A the balcony had the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Royal Park Albatros, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear guest, many thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Royal Park Albatros.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the RPA for the week 12-19 April 2013 on a really cheap 'Wowcher' deal. Having stayed in another excellent property just down the road from the RPA last year, on an identical deal, we had high hopes. However, we were disappointed. I had requested a sea-view apartment, but on arrival was told that there were no sea views from the complex, so I asked for a south-facing balcony instead. We were given a north-west facing balcony, which only received a sliver of sunlight very early in the morning and again in the evening.

All apartments are built in a sem-circle around the pool, which made the whole place feel quite claustrophobic. Our one-bedroom apartment was small and dark, with a nasty smell of sewage/drains coming from the wardrobe. The walls were paper-thin, and we could hear every word from the apartment next door - we even had a interconnecting door from our kitchen to theirs! This was unfortunate, as we were subjected to daily drunken rows and screaming abuse from the couple next door. Although the kitchen was equipped with the normal range of appliances, crockery etc., there was absolutely nowhere to store food other than in the small fridge. Not ideal for biscuits, cereals, crisps and the like, but the only other option is to leave them all out on the counter.

To get these cheap deals, you have to agree to go to a timeshare-type meeting - these are supposed to last approximately 2 hours, but in reality, they take 4 - 5 hours, so don't make any other plans for that day! Not all of the apartments on the complex are owned by Petchey. I would estimate about half of them are privately owned, and of course these are the apartments with all the extras, like huge balconies and good views!

It would be unfair to rate this establishment by comparing it with where we stayed last year. Although both were a similar price, purchased from the same daily deals website, in exactly the same resort, there the similarities end. Our accommodation last year was more than twice the size of the Royal Park Albatros apartment. It was bright and modern, as was the whole complex. We had a large balcony overlooking the ocean, and no noise disruption. This year, we got exactly the opposite in every way which, I suppose, is the luck of the draw. On the plus side, I must say that every staff member we met was friendly, helpful and polite, so no complaints there.

Overall, I would say that the Royal Park Albatros is a dark, dated, slightly shabby premises, reminiscent of the original package holiday resorts in Benidorm in the early eighties. There was even a resident Madge, doing the daily rounds in her motorised wheelchair! Petchey are gradually upgrading their apartments, but to avail of these, you must become a member of their Infiniti club, which you'll hear ALL about at the meeting!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Royal Park Albatros, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments. We are constantly renovating apartments in our continuing efforts to improve our services and our resorts. We hope to welcome you to a refurbished apartment on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We returned from the royal park albatross on the 9th April 2013 and had an amazing time! Payed a very low price for accomadation on bed and breakfast board basis, we were very surprised when we arrived. We payed 15 euros for a taxi which only takes 10mins. On arrival to room we had an amazing view overlooking the hotel, pool and harbour. Room very spacious and clean, had a few basics such as washing up liquid, kitchen roll and tea towels which is a bonus. Not that we needed to watch the television but it came with bbc1,2,itv, channel 4, sky sports and news channels. The resort is quiet, but has a small selection of restaurants and shops which was fine for us. Many opportunities for some nice costal walks. Breakfast was great with a good choice available. All staff very friendly and happy to help. Pool area clean but did get busy at times (could be due to easter holidays).We used the local bus a few times and travelled to Los Cristianos, it was cheap, only took about 20mins and was usually on time. Overall a very good holiday and we would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Royal Park Albatros, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your positive remarks. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My mum had booked a week at this resort through groupon. £59pp for a standard room for 7 days. After her circumstances changed she invited me and after reading a few reviews on here i was a bit apprehensive but i can honestly say i can't fault the place!!

When we arrived we were upgraded to a bigger room (which was nice as we didn't even ask to be upgraded). The room was very clean, had a nice room with flat screen tv and big wardrobes. the bathroom had a bath and shower, hairdryer and even an ironing board and iron! The livingspace was large with a sofa bed, big tv, kitchen with loads of appliances. They even put water in 2 ice cube trays, a big bottle of water and tea/coffee/sugar in the kitchen for us. The best part was the balcony. It was large with 2 sun loungers, a table and chairs, a drying rack and 2 banana trees. It was lovely to sit and relax in first thing in the morning.

The pool area was better than most, loads of loungers, nice pool and a great life guard who watched over the pool all day and even saved a little boy one afternoon when we were there! There is also 2 jacuzzis but we didn't try them. There is a games area here too for children or big kids ;) they had a free kids club which proved invaluable to the parents we met there who felt their kids were safe and being well looked after.

The restaurant was great all day. Breakfasts were nice, lunch menu was cheap and exactly what you would want whilst lounging by the pool. The evening meals were good but could do with a bit of a menu overhaul or reworking as there was an odd mix on it. The staff were great though! very friendly and made the stay even more special.

They also had a small shop to buy essentials in the resort, as well as vending machines and a machine that gave you 5lts of clean water for 50c. The area the resort is situated on is nice too, a lot quieter than the rest of the south of the island. Nice for us as we just wanted to relax.

As it was a cheap deal we had to sit through the sales pitch too which i can honestly say wasn't anywhere near as bad as others are making out. We gave up 90mins of our time one morning and had a coffee and a chat with one of their irish sales ladies. We had a nice talk, saw their points system (which in fairness is great if you have the money!) and politely declined. No drama. We even had a laugh with them!

I would definitely recommend this resort, i would absolutely go back in the future for a week of taking in the sun.

Room Tip: The studio rooms were small, ask for anything from a standard room up. We were in room 159 block 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Royal Park Albatros, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback and recommendation. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities on offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after winning on a scratch card(other words FREE accommodation). Down side was to attend a 2 hour chat about timeshare, which actually was fine. The guy was very informative and not at all pushy. As we have other commitments this was not for us, but could see the benefits
The staff are awesome. Nothing is too much trouble and go to great lengths to make sure that you have all you need.This is done with every curtiousy and with a smile. It also meant we could use the back gate which brought you onto the street with a few but good restaurants. You could also walk upto the main road with a gradual incline which is useful if you lack mobility.
The apartment we had was down near the pool so that we did not have to climb the steps which are many. Everything you could want for SC was available though we only made toast for breakfast and ate out. The pool bar was good food and reasonably priced.
As other people have mentioned the bus is not always on time but is cheap and goes to the main resorts.
Whilst there we won a free ticket for a boat trip to see whales and dolphins with food and drink
free. We paid for the other ticket but even so we would have been willing to pay for both tickets as it is a good trip out even though it was choppy the day we went.
If you want lots of night life this not the place for you, but if you want a relaxing holiday go for it.
We would definitely stay at this complex again and pay for it next time.
.

Room Tip: We had the sun until about 1 o'clock but then we used the pool bar which has sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Royal Park Albatros, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for all your comments and good feedback and we are glad you had a relaxing stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chetserfield
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Won this week on a scratch card, took the week on the basis we would take part in a 90 minute timeshare presentation.

The area is well served by public transport, buses to los cristianos, los abrigos, el medano and silencio are frequent.

The complex is under the flightpath of the airport, planes can be seen and heard but not before 7 am or after 8pm, no bother.

Apartment 148B in block 9 was simple, tidy but dated, very clean with a small balcony facing the morning sun. TV showed BBC, ITV and 4 + sky sports. Radio and dvd also available.

Free wifi available in the reception area, good speed, paid wifi in the rooms, speed poor.

Pool and pool area well maintained, make sure you go early to avoid the towels.

The restaurant provided breakfast, lunch and dinner, all ok. Better meals to be had in the area like el nautico and bistro 27, both reasonably priced.

There are plenty of stairs, however, ramps were being installed and lifts are available.

The gardens and lawned areas were well maintained.

The staff were very friendly.

There's plenty of evening entertainment but did not attend so can't comment.

The timeshare apartments were outstanding, brand new furniture + air con, if not extorionate, beware the timeshare man.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool and the afternoon and evening sun, unless you can get a room overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Manager at Royal Park Albatros, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you had an overall enjoyable stay. We are indeed modifying/upgrading the complex to accommodate people with mobility needs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Park Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Albatros

Address: Golf del Sur, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Park Albatros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Park Albatros is set within Tenerife’s Golf del Sur resort, 100 metres from the sea. It offers accommodation with furnished balconies overlooking the outdoor pool and beautiful tropical gardens.All apartments at the complex have a living room with a sofa bed and flat-screen TV. The private bathroom is equipped with a hairdryer.The gardens at the Royal Park Albatros feature artificial lakes, waterfalls and flowers native to Tenerife. The Golf del Sur has one 27-hole Championship Golf Course, and 6 other golf courses.Guests can dine outside on the poolside terrace. There is also a lobby bar and staff at the 24-hour reception are happy to recommend nearby restaurants and bars.Tenerife Sur Airport is just 4 kilometres away. Free private parking is possible nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Park Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Albatros Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Royal Park Albatros Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Park Albatros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.