We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmmm.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Park Albatros

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Park Albatros to your Saves list
Royal Park Albatros
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Av. J.M. Galvan Bello S/N, Golf Del Sur, 38639 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Beccles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hmmmmm.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Went there this year with my partner. Not such a bad place. A bit tatty and could do with modernisation. Not enough discipline around the pool though. Too many people leave towels on sun beds and then go away for hours. Unfair and not upheld by the staff!! Food okay, breakfast very pricey and not cooked to order. Hotel staff very helpful and efficient. All in all a good place. Only major issue is the timeshare guys. They hound you very gently and are unhappy when you say no!! Unfortunately a Petchy Leisure hotel I will not be returning to as when on holiday like to be on holiday!!!

Room Tip: A reasonable hotel in a poor location. Not much for kids. Upside, Tenerife weather is always good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Social Media Supervisor at Royal Park Albatros, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Many thanks your review. Your comments have been taken onboard as part of our continuing efforts to improve the service to our guests . We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    212
    98
    22
    18
See reviews for
134
229
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

stayed here in august 2011 after winning a competition for a weeks accom in a one bedroom apartment for 4 people. we loved it so much that we are just back from our 2nd visit where we booked a two bed apartment.
we hired a car and i do feel that you really do need one to stay in the golf del sur area - we could go to los abrigos, el medano all are only 5/10 min drive plus head further around the island- in the general area there is not that much to do but we like that as its quiet and relaxing! the apartments and complex are well maintained, v clean and spacious. my only gripe would be no aircon only fans which was ok this time when we travelled in oct 2012 but in august was unbearable! food in resort is great and happy hour every day on drinks is a bonus!!
sunbeds round the pool are often reserved early on but if they are left for more than an hour the lifeguard takes the stuff off and we found him v helpful getting extras beds for us if needed. not a big deal to be honest! planes do fly overhead but we liked watching them come in and noise from them is minimal!
we love the place and after two visits would defo go back for a 3rd time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Me and my wife were fortunate enough to win a week at this hotel through the free tesco cook book. The service was second to none from the outset. The staff were all very professional and friendly and they made us feel right at home. We were surprised at how clean and well equipped the rooms are and the cleaners did a fantastic job when they visited. We caught the bus to the supermarket one day and one of the cleaning ladies happened to be on the same bus. She pressed the bell and let us know that it was our stop. She then got off the bus with us and walked us to the door of the supermarket before continuing on her way home.
We never ate at the restaurant within the complex but the ones nearby that we did visit were all really nice. Especially La Marina 2 which is a pizzeria behind he hotel at the seafront. If you want to eat there then get there early or reserve a table because it gets very packed. We were there at 7pm and by 8.15 there were people queuing up for tables to eat the delicious food. The bar/restaurant at the hotel is nice and overlooks the pool. Happy hour is between 5 and 6pm. There is also a bar two minutes walk up the road (out of the hotel and turn left) where happy hour is between 6 and 7.
The area is nice but it isn't really a party place. If you want clubs then you're better off staying at los christianos or las americas which are about half an hour away by bus. The buses aren't very frequent but it's not too inconvenient as you're on holiday and not in too much of a hurry. The complex is in golf del sur - a golfing area so it's very tranquil. If you want a peaceful holiday away from the hustle and bustle then this is the place for you. It is on the flight path though so if you're a very light sleeper it might be an issue.
Part of the deal was the timeshare talk which took about an hour and a half. They said there was no obligation to buy but they did pile on the pressure and try to convince me to part with my cash. If you tell them you're not going to sign up to anything they will get the message.......eventually.
The small supermarkets nearby are very expensive. There is a large supermarket up the road called 'Mercadona' which is 5 euros each way in a taxi. All the locals shop there because it isn't hiked up in price to cater for tourists. They'e got a fresh fish counter and some of the local fish are delicious. You can also pick up a litre bottle of 4.8% beer for 76 cents and it is very nice. If you're going out on excursions then you cannot miss Loro Parque - it is an absolute must. Do the shows one after another so you get them all in because it is a massive park and the day will fly by. Siam park is also good fun (water park). We also went out on a catamaran and got to see lots of pilot whales. Beer was free too
All in all a wonderful holiday. You can't go wrong with this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Social Media Supervisor at Royal Park Albatros, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Many thanks for your kind and informative review. Your comments regarding our staff will be passed on it encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests.
It is a pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Parque Albatros and was very impressed. We stopped in a privately owned apartment but despite this the reception staff were as happy to help us as any other guest. The apartments themselves are extremely spacious and contain everything you need for a self catering holiday and all have a balcony. The complex is a bit of a maze and there are several different routes around it - so worth spending a small amount of time working out the quickest way to the pool and each exit etc... There are many steps around the Albatros complex so it's not suitable for people with mobility difficulties.

The on site restaurant offers good quality food at very reasonable prices and we very much enjoyed happy hour!!! There are a number of very good restaurants within walking distance on the complex if you fancy getting out and about.

The pool area is great and well maintained. Despite going in October, all the sun loungers were taken on a daily basis so expect it's very busy in the high season. There is a policy that if you haven't used your sun lounger for 45 minutes all towels etc.. will be removed. This wasn't necessary when we were there but definitely worth bearing in mind if you go in the busy summer months.

Golf Del Sur is smaller than the main resorts and this suited us fine, that said there is no shortage of bars/restaurants etc.. and if you want to go to Playa or Los Cristianos then the bus stops right outside the hotel

Overall, the holiday and accommodation were great and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, CO.Tyrone
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at Royal Park Albatros from 21/9 until 28/9/. Firstly travel to the Hotel from the airport by taxi 12 euros. The Resort is approximately 10 minutes from the airport. Check in was quick and informative and we were given room 161 on the ground floor. There is quite a number of units at the Hotel. We were offered meal upgrades at discounted price but we stuck with the room only. This Hotel is a Holiday Points Club and part of our deal was to attend a presentation to find out all about how the system works. I will deal with this now, the following morning we were contacted by the salesman and a date to attend our presentaion was set for us. The presentation was very informative and no pressure was put on us and the whole experience lasted just over an hour. We were then shown what the upgraded rooms were like compared to the basic ones we were in all very nice but will cost £6000, not for us but there were plenty of club members there. Back to our apartment which was a reasonable size well furnished and had all new appliances in it. We had requested air con and this unit had it which was needed as it was very warm, the bedroom had a ceiling fan which worked very well actually the best I have come across. It had a balcony with table and chairs and two sun loungers. Beach towels hired for 2 euros each and change as often as you like again for 2 euros. Safe for hire for 2.50 euros per day. The problem with this Hotel is the availability of sunbeds, there is just to many people and not enough room around the pool. The pool area was very nice but very small. At 9.05am every morning when I came down every sunbed was taken now the Hotel states no reserving of sunbeds but this is not enforced. This just spoils the whole holiday. Some people reserve the beds and never return to later in the day. Did not eat in the Hotel so cant comment on the food. There is also noise from the aircraft as previously stated. There is nothing to do here and there is no shops so unless you want a really quiet holiday I would not recommed this place to anyone. There is no beach near the place. There is a few resturants dotted around the area and a lot of unfinished buildings. The neighbouring resort of San Blas which is about 15 mins walk has a large supermarket and a few resturants and a couple of bars. We found a fantastic resturant called Harbour Lights which is near the small harbour it was so good that we ate here 3 nights. The prices around this area would be a lot cheaper than in the bigger resorts. The only other fault I had with this Hotel was a few cockroaches were in the room not what you expect to find in a good Hotel. Did not complain about it solved problem by getting a tin of spray. Finally I knew before I came here that it was going to be quiet but I did not expect it to be just as quiet everybody is indoors by 11pm. Not the resort for me and I will not be back but if you want peace this may be well what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Request a room with Air Con and a pool view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgware, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Arrived on the Friday 28 Sept 12, staff members made you feel really welcome. The room was very nice/clean and a good size, with a nice laid out balcony, that included a clothes dryer. I assume depending on your location, I agree with Skeen49, the place was quite, the planes do fly over the resort, fun to watch all the various planes flying by, in the day, and at night, we experienced no noise level, slept like a log. The beach was a lot further away, than expected, but once again taxi or the bus stop was within easy access. Used the bus, arrived at the beach, the sand very hot, and loads of shops to choose from.

Although, there is not much to see/do in the local vicinity, but once again a good choice of restaurants, the best one was Aberdeen a three course meal, at a reasonable price, and Spanish lager is sold for 1 euro, up until 6.00 pm. We attended a couple of theme nights, i.e steak night, etc., plus most nights the entertainment at the resort was great.

My daughter, friend and I thoughly enjoyed ourselves. Can I take this opportunity to thank
expecially Maria and her colleagues, who were friendly, helpful fun, respectful and professional at all times, even when Maria, was dealing with rude customers, she maintained her cool, well done, and we all miss her.

The only negative points are that we felt the towels, should be changed every other day, we arrived the Friday morning, and towels were not changed until the Tuesday. Extractors fans, would be nice in the bathroom.

We would definitely, chose to visit again, not necessarily a place for hard core party goers but a nice place if you love tranquillity in your life. thanks also to Anabell Zichittella for her wonderful Oaki Therap. Massage.

A great balance, met quite a few wonderful people in the resort, and the locals are friendly, excursiones leaders, fantastic. The free blanket trip, was interesting, although, the merino wool blankets look good, we had to resist, very pricey, was not expecting to be invited to spend
over £1,000, for a bed mattress or bed covering, but if you are in a good position, and most importantly, in need of these items, go for it, but I am sure if is something they likely to repeat, you never know, I may just treat myself.

The whole week, was just perfect!!! Missing the whole experience, plus the beautiful hot sun.

Love the guests in 104

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petchey L, Social Media Supervisor at Royal Park Albatros, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review with regards to your stay with us. It encourages us to improve and strive for the best service to all our guests.

I have shared your valuable feedback with our team members. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for one night and was Pleasantly surprised. The room was A good size and clean.TV had lots of channels. Nice balcony with lounger and table & chairs.
The place was quite, had a nice large pool.

Not much to see or do in the local vicinity. I just used the place to stay 10 minutes from the airport for convenience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Park Albatros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Albatros

Address: Av. J.M. Galvan Bello S/N, Golf Del Sur, 38639 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Park Albatros 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Park Albatros is set within Tenerife's Golf del Sur resort, 100 metres from the sea. It offers accommodation with furnished balconies overlooking the outdoor pool and beautiful tropical gardens.All apartments at the complex have a living room with a sofa bed and flat-screen TV. The private bathroom is equipped with a hairdryer.The gardens at the Royal Park Albatros feature artificial lakes, waterfalls and flowers native to Tenerife. The Golf del Sur has one 27-hole Championship Golf Course, and 6 other golf courses.Guests can dine outside on the poolside terrace. There is also a lobby bar and staff at the 24-hour reception are happy to recommend nearby restaurants and bars.Tenerife Sur Airport is just 4 kilometres away. Free private parking is possible nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Royal Park Albatros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Park Albatros Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Royal Park Albatros Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Park Albatros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.