We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club to your Saves list
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This Hotel is very nice and comfortable. We stayed in villa 17 which has like most rooms; a TV in lounge and bedroom, a fridge and freezer, microwave, coffee machine, dish washer, lovely bathroom. Unfortunately we did not have a balcony with sunbirds like some but this was a minor inconvenience as we were near the lovely pool with covered sun beds and a pool bar which overlooks the sea. The staff are friendly, there is a gym, pool tables, creature club for the kids and entertainment around the pool during the day and evening entertainment in the W pub in evening but we never used this as we went out every evening. We have stayed here before and would come back again

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
We are pleased to know that we were successful in contributing to your enjoyment and that you had a lovely and relaxing break, thank you for your gracious comments regarding the standard and appointment of our apartments, we do strive to offer home like experience to our guests and it is great to know that this is what you had. We hope to see you again soon!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    410
    97
    31
    18
See reviews for
379
528
21
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We spent three days in the Santa Barbara in January in room 603 which is really superb with 2 bedrooms of which one was en-suite and there is a large living area. The furnished balcony stretched the full length around the apartment with an added bonus of having direct private access to the roof terrace which is secluded, with sun loungers and shared only with one other apartment. We booked direct with the resort and got an excellent deal. We did not pay for the daily cleaning option but the bins were emptied daily. All staff were extremely pleasant and there was no hard sell from a timeshare aspect.

In terms of the resort in general it is well laid out with a nice restaurant - Little Italy. The pools were fine but there is not a lot going on at night times if you are after nightlife. Around the hotel are a number of restaurants ( we really enjoyed the Tepenyaki one) within 5 minutes walk maximum and there is a good Irish Bar literally one minute out of the front door to the left.

The accomodation is around 10 minutes in a taxi from Tenerife South airport and the fare is circa 15 euros.

Room Tip: As mentioned the two bedtoomed deluxe option (room 603) was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments with the readers, it is great to know that the team effort we put every day in ensuring that our guests have a great stay is appreciated and we are happy to learn that we delivered this to you. Hopefully you will have many pleasant memories following your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stopped here 1 bedroom apartment very spacious and clean..all mod cons for self catering large double bed and lovely view from balcony overlooking the sea...Golf Del Sur is a nice quiet area and easily to get to Los Christianos by local bus or taxi definitley go back again in all a great holiday. Collin and Tatyana. Bedford

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your impressions following your recent stay at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club - it is great to know that you had a great quality stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Absolutely fabulous, couldn't fault the place at all, staff so friendly, resort so impeccably clean. We arrived at 13:00 after being awake for more than 10 hours already and were exhausted, thinking we would have to wait until 16:00 for the room to be ready, nope straight away near enough we were handed the Keys to Our Villa (Upgraded free from a 1 bed Apt) The Villa was enormous, probably the biggest accommodation we've ever had abroad, kitchen with loads of appliances, cutlery etc more than adequate for a S/C stay, air con which worked brilliantly, TV with BBC1,2 and ITV etc, a balcony overlooking the fabulous view. it Truly was paradise, worth every penny. Resort is very quiet however, not much going on really, maybe because it's out of season? Who Knows. Playa De Las Americas/Los Cristianos much more livelier with great selections of bars/restaurants and lots with Set Meals 3 courses and a drink for under 10 Euros. Loro Parque and Siam Park, Both WELL worth the visit, Siam Park especially was the best water park we have ever visited, both full days out and shop around we picked up a dual ticket with transport for around £55-60 each bearing in mind Loro Parque is near enough at the other end of the Island it is a great deal. Golf Del Sur is a beautiful Resort lots of scenery and very quiet, Superdino Supermarket approx. 15 mins walk from the resort however the on site supermarket is Excellent has lots of stuff and is very reasonably priced. Please be wary of the bus service however, without a car this is the only way out of the resort, the Bus 483 was excellent value just 1 Euro 65c to los Cristianos per person but only comes about once every hour in the morning and then once every 2-3 after 3 pm. they seem to run as they want, we waited an hour and a half for one one morning and the driver said this was "normal" lol oh well happy days, Overall fantastic place to stay would recommend to anybody, we shall return :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We always like to read of our guests stays.
We are glad the apartment was to your liking and well appointed to meet your holiday needs.
We are sure other travelers will take full advantage of your dining advise for the local area.
We will look forward to your return visit.
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went to Santa Barbara thanks to a Groupon offer and had never been to Tenerife or stayed in a large apartment complex before. From the minute we arrived the service was second to none. The complex appeared bright, airy and well organised and this was reflected in the apartment itself. We'd booked a one-bed (travelling with two year old twins) but were upgraded to a two-bed with an ocean view. Fantastic apartments and the cleanest I have ever stayed in. Not only was it clean when we arrived but our apartment, the pool area and everywhere in fact was cleaned by cleaning fairies who we never saw but enjoyed there effort. The only downside would be that with tow young children an enclosed green area wold have been a real plus. The kids pool was a real plus but the children's play area behind the complex on a 'gravel' surface next to a smelly sewage works was not ideal. All things considered though a first class resort.

Room Tip: A sea view is a real must and the very best rooms overlook the pool area too
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We really like to read of our guests stays and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.
We are glad you found the grounds well kept and maintained throughout your stay.
We have noted your suggestion and passed on to our senior management team. We hope you and your family will visit us again soon.
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
437 reviews 437 reviews
211 hotel reviews
Reviews in 171 cities Reviews in 171 cities
544 helpful votes 544 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have taken some all inclusive holidays in recent years but wanted to get away from the crowds and the eat and drink all you can brigade. We opted for Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club and it was an excellent decision. We had a one bedroom apartment with a balcony and sea view and couldn't have been more delighted. The resort is quiet but that was a bonus as we didn't have the crowds but had a great choice of restaurants on our doorstep.
Firstly the resort. Out of the front door and turning right you have a short walk to some bars and restaurants and a little further along, the excellent 'Maria's', a very good, extremely well priced and classy restaurant and terrace bar. We ate there twice and it was spot on.
Out of the front door of the hotel and turning left, you are minutes from a host of restaurants including the excellent 'Rendezvous', see separate review. You also have Le Marina 1 and Le Marina 2 (near the waterside) and a choice of cheap and cheerful restaurants, or just down the hill opposite the Irish Bar you have a choice of very nice eating places with water views and outside seating.
If you leave from the rear of the hotel near the swimming pool, it is a short stroll to the marina area or if you turn left, it is a 20 minutes, easy stroll to San Blas with a host of bars and eateries.
Now to the hotel, we loved it! It is a series of time share apartments, part of the Diamond Group but you can book rooms either on their website or through booking agencies like hotels. com and Booking.com etc.
We were a little concerned as the prices were so reasonable but we needn't have worried, the room was great. The one bedroom apartment had a separate bedroom which suited us fine as I could get up early and work and the living area is comfortable with an extremely well equipped kitchen with everything you need to cook in house if you want.
Some people have complained about the fact you have to pay for the safe, parking and wifi but at the cost of the apartment, it isn't an issue as I paid an additional 60 euros for a week to have use of the safe, secure underground parking (it is a little tight to park), a pool towel for the week and wifi. The wifi is sporadic, works well at 6am in the morning but is flaky after 9am which meant that a glass of cava at the Irish Bar across the road becomes the saving grace with its free and efficient wifi.
The shop in the complex is competitively priced and has a reasonable range including fresh bread etc and is open between 8.30am and 9pm. It also sells English newspapers.
The comfortable outside bar has a Happy hour between 4.30pm and 5.30pm where pleasant, non branded gin and tonics cost 5 Euros for two.
We didn't use the pools or fitness facilities so can't comment but the entertainment was quite good most nights and if you want to get involved you can.
The staff were unfailingly pleasant, professional and polite and nothing seemed to be too much trouble, all our requests were met.
All in all, the Santa Barbara ticked all the boxes for us and we are seriously looking at a sun winter break next February and it will be to this hotel we head!
A great week - absolutely first class!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on as high a floor as possible and I would go for a one bedroomed rather tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are glad to read you enjoyed your apartment. It is great to read it was well appointed and met all of your holiday needs.
We are sorry you found the WIFI disappointing this is something we are working at getting a better connection for.
We will be sure to pass on your comments to our food and beverage manager who we are sure will be pleased with the comments.
It is lovely for us to read that our staff could provide you with a great level of customer services and provided you with everything you needed to ensure you had a memorable vacation.
We are positive that our future guests will be taking advantage of your tips on the location and places they can eat out of the resort.
We hope you will visit again soon.
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We rented an apartment for a week here in January 2014 via hotel.com. The whole complex and the apartment was of an excellant standard with high levels of comfort. We found the staff to be curteous and helpful at all times. The Little Italy restaurant was also very good so we went twice. Would definitely stay here again especially if we got a good rate. On the downside the location is not brilliant and some of the nearby restaurants are only ok. But having a week in the sun at a good base more than made up for this.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
There is nothing we cherish more than words of compliments coming from our guests - thank you. We are pleased to know that you had a good experience. Please come back in the future!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.