We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Was Pleasant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Save Saved
You added Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday Was Pleasant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and 2 boys (12 ad 11) stayed at Santa Barbara from the 29th Jan until 2nd Feb. The pool areas are very nice and clean, the staff very polite and a good room. On the downside, they want to charge for a safety deposit box. Why? They are drilled into the wall and doesnt cost them any money to run. why should people pay to protect their possessions? The charge for wi-fi is ridiculous. Per unit and not per room. We have 4 i phones and an i-pad. So guess where we went for drinks and food? To one of the many local restaurants and bars nearby that are very nice, pleasant and well priced with free wi-fi. So not only are customers outraged at the cost, they are eating and drinking elsewhere, so ultimately the hotel is losing out because of its greed. Give free wi fi and they will make money by selling more food and drink on site, You cant even receive it free in the reception. I dont buy it that their service provider is looking into it. I travel a lot and dont know of any hotels in this range of class that charge. Our room was very nice, albeit we had what I think was a sewage process plant right behind us (judging by the smell and the noise at certain times of the day) - we had villa 9. Room was clean, spacious and great view of the ocean. Nice tv's and a decent sized bed/bedroom. Kitchen well equipped and spotless. We would certainly go back again. Its well situated from a local square and also the marina. Hard rock well worth a visit too, as was the Dolphin trip on the Catamaran. We hired a car for GBP 50 for the day and drove up Tibe and got the cable car. Excellent day out. Why pay GBP 50 each to go on a coach? Staff at the hotel was pleasant. By the way, the pool is not heated and the spa tub near the poo didnt work and was also frezing cold. I would mark it overall as 7/10.

Robert from London

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are glad you generally enjoyed your stay with us.
We are happy to read that your apartment was well maintained and spacious. It is lovely to know this apartment met all of your holiday needs, however we regret to read of the smell in the surrounding area.
There is a cost to operating internet and wi-fi services. Most businesses can incorporate this into their pricing and so appear to provide a free service, but in reality it is not. In order to do the same within a timeshare resort, each individual HOA Board must approve the cost of providing this service. The Boards, at this time, believe that each individual should pay those costs if they use the service, and so have decided not to include these costs in the budget and so increase maintenance fees, as this would effectively charge those who did not use the internet. That’s said, we are in discussions with the Boards at this time with a view to providing these services in the future.
We are sure other travellers will take advantage of your tips on the location and we hope you will visit us again in the future.
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    343
    65
    27
    12
See reviews for
292
410
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

we stayed here for a week just to get a little winter sunshine and we weren't disappointed, we were able to sit around the pool all day. the hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful, the bar and pool staff the same. the accommodation was very impressive, we had a lovely apartment with bedroom and living room / kitchenette. it had all mod cons including ipod doc, the lovely little balcony looked out over the pool and part of the hotel and was nice and quiet. the spa area wasn't as good as it could have been, the sauna didn't work and the Jacuzzi was very poor with hardly any power in the water jets but we just stayed out in the main pool instead. the shop within the hotel was fairly well stocked with essentials, the area around the hotel was another matter. we were advised by the lady at the tourist desk to visit the 'night market' in the next town, we walked along the coast road as advised but it was quite difficult in the heat and anyone with limited mobility would have serious difficulty. when we arrived we thought we must be in the wrong place as there were only a handful of stalls selling terrible cheap rubbish, but apparently this was the night market in full swing ! the restaurants out the back of the hotel weren't brilliant either. if you have transport or are having several day trips out and about then this is a great place to stay especially if you like lounging around the pool, if you want to explore the local area then you could be in for some disappointment. there were also a few building sites around where it looked like they had started to renovate the area then stopped !
so all in all a great hotel but a poor location

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to read you had a good stay with us.
We are happy to read the apartment was well equipped with everything you needed for your holiday.
We are sorry to read you were disappointed with the area the resort is located in and we would often recommend a car if you are looking to venture out for sightseeing.
Overall we are happy to read you had a relaxing stay at our resort and we hope you will visit us again in the future..
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hatfield, herts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Our second stay at this great winter sun hotel.. friendly staff , rooms and communal areas spotless clean. We did have a better room last year but got a good deal on our room so no complaints really. Only negative thing is the WiFi . I would not mind paying if u got a good connect. We went across the road to the Irish bar the wild geese for lots of meals and used their free WiFi. Had some goods walk along the coast . Hope to return next January.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are glad to read that the resort was kept clean and tidy, we will be sure to pass your comments on to our House keeping team.
We are currently in discussions with regards to WIFI and how to improve this service which we hope to implement in the new future.
We hope you chose to visit us again.
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 weeks from 10th January. Lovely position on sea front. A very nice 2 bed apartment with sea view. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The place was kept very clean. The swimming pool was a bit cool but ok, it was also kept very clean. Great team of entertainment staff. Overall it was a lovely place to stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are glad you had a lovely stay with us. It is great to read our staff could provide you with excellent customer service and provided helpful information when you needed this.
We hope you will visit us again soon.
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

stayed at santa barbara 13th jan till 20th have stayed there at least 4 times before the staff are brillant even those on the diamond desk we stayed in apartment 139 which although not refurbished was still good a cople of small things were sorted very quickly on the thursday we booked a table at little italy this was a disaster my wife ordered mushrooms stuffed with bacon as a starter recieved stuffed with cheese, then duck for main course with plum sauce uneatable! came with pear sauce and tough as old boots when told of this waiter said order something else so she ordered salmon recieved sole! ate this in spite of coming with the worst canerian potatoes we have ever tasted we attepted to laugh this off decided for dessert she would have an icecream all of the ones she selected were not avalible the waiter was most apologetic he then brought us half a bottle of wine which we did not want as we had already had sufficant with our meal I have thought for some time diamond is not as good as it used to be but this may have been a one off but i do not recomend eating here

Room Tip: dont have one left side of hotel smell from sewage
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Please accept our apologies for what appears to be a poor dining experience, as you may know the Restaurant is a franchise and we do not have much influence on its operations, nevertheless we will pass your comments on to our Food & Beverage operator. We are pleased to know that the rest of your stay appears to have been enjoyable, please come back soon!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton Keynes United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed here the first 2 weeks of January with my mum who's 70 ..
Beautiful well looked after hotel..
Had a room on the right hand side of the hotel beautiful view of the sea the apartment was plenty big enough for us both and very well equipped,we had to share a bed but was huge plenty of room In it and really comfortable plus fluffy pillows .
All the hotel staff are very helpful and polite ..
There is a supermarket which had almost all the essentials and not too overly priced ..
We never used the pool or sun bathed as my mum has had skin cancer so we took advantage of the gorgeous weather to walk around the area and along the coastal path quiet hilly at times ..
Only had one day of rain and the rest cloud free very warm sunny days 22-24c ..
Tried many of the bars to have lunch in everyday and everyone was reasonably priced and very friendly..
San Blas is a great place for little shops even has a charity shop which is very cheap !
Bus stop very close by for las Americas etc but taxis are also very reasonable ..
Would I go back again ? Hell yeah ! :-)
The only negative is the internet is €27 for the week for each devise you use and the signal was terrible hardly got online very much :-(
All in all we had a fantastic time :-)







Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
It is great to read that both you and your mom had such a pleasant, relaxing time here with us and made the most from the beautiful weather and picturesque surroundings. Thank you for all your tips. We hope that you review will inspire your fellow travellers to pay us a visit too. Please come back soon!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's not on the beach. You don't get golf as part of your stay...so why ocean and golf club? Because the ocean IS close...as are some golf courses...although somewhat misleading. The rooms are okay but EXTREMELY noisy. You can hear the cleaners wheeling around at 6 in the morning as well as shouts of drunken Brits here and there. This is because the rooms face the front door and the walls are made of.......paper mache? You have to pay extra for beach towels, laundry, ROOM SERVICE, and wifi which is tacky BUT......you can buy cans of beer for .50 euros! The supermarket on premises has all that you need, and there are several pools. Don't bother trying the jacuzzi. It doesn't work. Food is average and the on site bar is a hilarious comparison to a stag-and-doe hall. So why do I recommend it?
We had a blast. Period. Ever had something in a restaurant that you just really enjoyed and can't explain why? It's like that. The guests genuinely had a great time too and we found ourselves becoming little kids again. You can't buy that. It just happens. And here it happened twice which makes it strangely lovely.
If you go here and don't like it, don't blame me....but you might need to re-find your inner child.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
It was with some apprehension that we read your review, until we reached the ‘twist’ in your comments! We are so pleased to read your account of your recent stay, and although there clearly have been certain aspects of your visit with which you were not entirely satisfied, you had a fantastic visit and enjoyed the welcoming atmosphere of our resort. Please visit us again soon!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.