We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Accommodtion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Save Saved
You added Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Luxury Accommodtion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment booked through Holiday Gems. The apartment was very spacious and extremely well equipped, three bathrooms and a spacious patio area with sunbeds which we used when it was too windy to lay by the pool. The resort is very clean and well run, our only criticisms were the lack of information in the apartment , about the resort & surrounding area and there was a noise from the pump/motor of the water system at night. We only ate in the hotel restaurant once but the meal we had (on the two for one night) was well prepared with excellent service, had we been there longer I am sure we would have returned. There are restaurants close by, we found the ones to the left of the complex on the road more popular hence a better atmosphere than the ones on the coast road but I suspect that this might be different at busier times of the year. We eventually found San Blas which is only 15 minutes walk away where there are loads of restaurants and a very well stocked supermarket. The supermarket on the complex was good and sufficient for everyday needs and was not overpriced.

This was our first trip to Tenerife we were very pleased with the package, accommodatio, resort and locale and would return.

Room Tip: We would avoid rooms around the pool area, we were on level four which was good apart from the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    501
    343
    65
    27
    12
See reviews for
292
410
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here from 17-21 February with 2 friends. We got a taxi from the airport with no problems (€15) and were checked in straight away. Our one bed apartment was on the top floor and was HUGE! We were so pleased with it, it had everything you could ever need in the kitchen cupboards, and the balcony with its amazing view was perfect. The bed and pillows are as comfy as the previous reviews say they are. There were TWO tvs showing British tv channels (we watched Corrie!) and 2 iPod docks. The staff were all so friendly and helpful, the poolside cafe did a fab breakfast and we ate our lunch there each day too, really good value for money. The downstairs pub was very quiet but it was early in the season, the bar man Romaine was really friendly.
The pool was gorgeous, loads of comfortable loungers with mattresses on, although it did get busier later in the week, we always managed to get a good spot. We ate in the Italian restaurant one night and I enjoyed my meal. The on site supermarket was brilliant, we used it everyday. We had a few meals off complex too, the nearby Mexican wasn't great to be honest, we didn't enjoy that meal at all (didn't eat it in fact!).
One tip, bring a hairdryer, there was one in the room but it wasn't very powerful.
No complaints at all about anything else! Brilliant place! Would love to come back.
Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monaghan.ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

visited from 6th -13th feb on arrival we checked in with ease our room was not ready so we were given a free drink at the lovely ocean brezze bar which was a very nice touch after been travelling .A porter than brought our bags to our room .We did not know what to expect as we had only booked a studio ... and having always stayed in 4-5 star hotels I honestly didnt expect much BUT this turned out to be one of the best places we have stayed on any of the canaries islands . The view from the balconey was lovely ,the pool area is fab with so many areas to sun bathe with the most comfortable sun loungers . great pool bar for food and drinks .The resturant we found to be very good only fault that the portions were small for the price .. but very tasty .The staff from the cleaning to the recption to the bars to the entertaintment are so friendly helpfull nothing is too much trouble
The small kitchen had everything that would need if you wanted to cook it was the best equipped i have ever been in ... and for a pull down bed it was so comfortable with pillows to guarentee a very good nites sleep
Area is quiet ... in saying that we enjoyed the Irish bar across the road . Volare and the Tapas and Chilli resturant were EXCELLENT

This was our first visit and I would highly recommend this resort it had the feel of a 4- 5 star hotel but it was the friendiness and the attention to detail that makes this a wonderful place to holiday We will return hopefully this time for longer
Congratulations to a everyone at Santa Barbara for everthing

we stayed in room 222 and the sun shone in the evening a perfect end to the evening

thomas and marion
Ireland

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
It’s an absolute pleasure to read that you had such a wonderful time at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club and very pleased to learn that you may be visiting us again.
We are delighted that you found the bar and the restaurant satisfying and our staff friendly and helpful. Your kind words about our team are happily received. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the resort time and time again in the future.

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had a lovely little apartment within this hotel - well equipped, extremely clean, and with everything we needed. Superb views over the ocean from our balcony. Check in and out were efficient and courteous. Would certainly visit this one again - perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

After reading the good reviews for this hotel we were really looking forward to our holiday - I must say that they were right!!

The hotel is situated right by the sea (all rooms with sea views), very clean and maintained grounds.

Our room was spotless with all the self catering facilities you need, bed was comfy and aircon/heating was adjusted by remote control, milk and water in our fridge on our arrival with sachets of tea and coffee also.

Whilst unpacking we had a courtesy call from reception to make sure everything was how we expected and advised us there was a bottle of wine(white,red or champagne) awaiting downstairs when we were ready.

The pool area was lovely , with a bar and spa jet jacuzzi - padded beds were the best I've ever used all overlooking the sea.

2min walk from the rear of the hotel are several cafes and restaurants and opposite the main entrance is an Irish bar with great food and entertainment every night . If you enjoy walking there is a coastal path to a lovely fishing village again with cafes and restaurants.

All the staff were extremely pleasant which makes a huge difference, with free Internet and weighing scales is also a bonus.

This resort is more for couples and not for teenagers, however we did take the bus into Los christionos and las Americas which was £2.50 so the options also there if you need it.

We will definitely be going back - hopefully this year....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It is very reassuring to read that we have managed to meet your expectations and deliver fantastic accommodation and customer service – thank you for your kind words!
We are certain our future guests will appreciate all the useful tips you have shared. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and we are looking forward to being of service to you again, hopefully soon!

Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from the best week of my life. 100% luxury in Santa Barbara. I had a beautiful 1 bedroom, very spacious apt with balcony-overlooking sea. The cleanest best run hotel I have had the pleasure to stay in. I was travelling alone on sneaky break and from checking in to checking out I could not find one fault.All the Staff were amazingly helpful especially the fitness instructor from Mexico. At 9.30 am wud have stretching & toning then aqua aerobics. Always something to do if u wished. All different levels of quiet zones childen pool n outdoor spa pool with amazing water spouts for all aches n pains. Also indoor gym n spa. Fantastic complex. Even when refurbishing it is done between 10 to 4. Amazing walk along cliff edge from Marina to tiny fishing village Los abrigos with lovely little bars n tapas bars. LCD tvs in both sitting room n bedroom with fully equipped kitchen with air con plus large ceiling fans. Even down to wash up liquid supplied. Cannot praise it enough. Beds exceptionally comfortable with any amount of extra pillows n blankets.
I'LL B BACK. Just email specialoffers@diamondresorts.com r book online DiamondResortsGetaway.com

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just returned from an enjoyable week at Santa Barbara. I was pleasantly surprised at how well our 1 bedroom unit was presented - very clean and extremely well maintained and it contained everything we needed (and more) to enjoy our week in the sun. The bedroom was a good size (with plenty of storage and a safe), the lounge/kitchen/dining area - spacious and bright, and the bathroom (with a walk-in shower - no bath) contained everything needed (including a magnifying vanity mirror for shaving/make-up application). Only negative - the balcony furniture was 'too big' and so moving around the balcony was compromised!
This sizeable resort is a bit of a maze at first but once you find your way around, it's manageable - lots of stairs and lifts to accommodate guest access to all areas.
The main pool area is lovely but can be a little noisy however there are many different sun terraces throughout the property and so its easy to find 'the perfect spot' which offers peace and tranquillity.
Within easy walking-distance of the resort, there is an abundance of restaurants and bars offering everything from Tapas to Chinese/Indian/Mexican to Steak and Chips and All Day Breakfasts so there is no necessity to venture to the larger tourist areas - unless you want to 'hit the shops/markets'. All in all, Santa Barbara is a great place to enjoy some time in the sun!

Room Tip: Ask for a 'room with a seaview' - if lucky, you'll be able to sea dolphins cavorting in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.