We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Save Saved
You added Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
mayo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in july with my partner and 7 year daughter. We had a great time. The room was lovely and had everything we required, it also had a great view of the pool and ocean. The pool area was nice but we also had the same issues with towels being left on sunbeds and no one sitting on them for hours. The rule was not implemented here. The location is nice and quiet for families. There are lots of nice resteruants near the hotel also. The food in the pool bar was nice also. We will be returning in the future. Such a nice hotel really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
We’re really glad to read that you had a fantastic time at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club – thank you for your review!

We don’t allow guests to reserve sunbeds at our resorts, and we’re sorry that you experienced this during your stay. Please be assured that the resort lifeguards would have been more than happy to help you find sunbeds if you’d brought your concerns to their attention.

We really hope that this issue didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay, and we’re delighted to read that you’ll be returning here. We hope to see you again soon!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    510
    343
    65
    27
    12
See reviews for
294
414
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked a week in March 2012 at the Santa Barbara with a 'Daily Deals' voucher, and couldn't believe what we got for our money! Granted, we did agree to go to the Diamond Resorts presentation, which lasted 5 hours, but there was no obligation to attend it, which is ususally a condition with these offers. Our apartment was around the side of the hotel, next to the Aguamarina complex, not overlooking the pool. We had a beautiful sea view, and the area was very quiet, which is just how we like it. On arrival, we were greeted with a Welcome Pack (bread, butter, milk, jam, juice etc.) and a very agreeable bottle of champagne. The apartment was clean, spacious, and had everything we could possibly need. The kitchen was well-equipped with fridge, full-size oven & hob, kettle, toaster & microwave. The bedroom and living room both opened out onto a double-width balcony with table, 4 chairs and 2 sun-loungers. The huge, comfortable bed and ceiling fan in the bedroom were much appreciated, and the bathroom with full bath, shower and twin washbasins was quite impressive. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout the whole complex. The immediate surrounding area is very, very quiet, so I wouldn't recommend it to those seeking a lively holiday, but the bright lights of Las Americas and Los Christianos aren't too far away. The Diamond Resorts membership scheme is attractive in that you can be assured of the same high standard wherever you choose to go, and at the same cost whether you travel in high or low season, but in my opinion, the pricing and points structure was complicated and uncompetitive in these days of Daily Deal and cheap flight websites.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your kind comments after your stay at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club. We are pleased that you have found the apartments comfortable and well appointed. It is a part of our ethos to guarantee a pleasurable, relaxing, home-like experience to all our guest and we are delighted to learn that we have been successful yet again! We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future!

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I travelled with my husband, our 3 yrs old girl and my mother. We all had fantastic time, had room 201 which is a 2 bed appartment. There is air con in each of the rooms, 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, comfortable beds, big balconies, Iphone docks, LCD tvs.

The complex is very well set out, you have clean pools and the ocean at your doorstep. Reception and Concierge were extremely helpful, thank you very much Petra and Williams.

Restaurant and pool restaurant are run separately from the hotel complex (Little Italy) and I have to say the food was a bit of a let down. We are not fussy eaters but we could see the food was simply prepared just to cover the standard, lacked soul and attention.

The waiters extremely helpful and cheerful.

The animation team was FANTASTIC, our daughter loved any minute spent with them, thank you Karolina, Celine, Marco and the others. Great entertainment for children - mini disco every night, pyjama party on Monday, shows and games for adults, aqua gym, excellent.

We will be back in Santa Barbara for another holiday, Im sure of that!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review – we’re really glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club!

We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to all our guests, and we’re delighted that our reception and concierge staff were able to provide you with all the information and assistance you needed during your stay.

We’re sorry to read your concerns about the on-site restaurant, however. We receive very few complaints about the restaurant facilities at our resorts, but we appreciate that they may not be to everyone’s tastes and we’re sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion.

We really hope that this issue didn’t spoil an otherwise enjoyable stay at Santa Barbara, and we’re delighted to read that you’d like to return here. We look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Javier Baqueiro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

stayed in Room 570. Huge had everything.
Greeted in arrivals with friendly staff and a free drink.
The establishment is truly a place i would recommend staying for all
Shops and restaurants withink walking distance
Airport is close but the rooms are so well built you hear nothing
Restaurant on site is good but there is better

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club. It is our aim to make every guest feel welcome at our resort and we are happy to read that our team proved friendly and helpful. We are pleased that you had an overall enjoyable stay and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

With kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location for a quiet break with some good facilities.
On-site restaurants are good and their meal deals and the happy hour offer some good value wining and dining.
Some of the apartments are still to be refurbished though they are still good quality.
Avoid staying near the areas being worked on though due to the noise.
Gym is OK - treadmill was out of action but may have been repaired and could do with some gym balls too.
Watch out for the very cold jacuzzi (one is warm and one cold!)
Weather here is great and area is lovely. Coast path is quite a pleasant walk too.

Room Tip: Ask for morning or evening sun depending on your preference and stay on the west side to avoid the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club. As you have accurately noted, we do have a refurbishment program being carried out and we hope our guests will appreciate that although such works may be inconvenient, they are also necessary to upkeep the standard of the resort. We do our best to keep the disturbance down to the absolute minimum, nevertheless, we do apologise for any inconvenience this may cause. Thank you for your feedback regarding the gym equipment, we will consider new additions during the next management meeting. We are happy that you had a nice and relaxing time here at Santa Barbara and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee on the solent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our first holiday on our own for 15 years and a bit of a disappointment. Hotel was OK although not gold star. Not a lot to do if it rains - which it did for 5 days out of the 7 we were there. Only a couple of English TV programmes - resort said it was because Sky was illegal in Spain it has been on in all the other Spanish resorts we have visited. No tourist shops to speak of. Enough restaurants to eat something different every night - try the Chinese/Japanese/Thai - fantastic food and good value for money. The Wildgeese Irish Bar was brilliant. Again good food and good value - with entertainment every night. However, unless you are into golf, not for me so wont be going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent holiday at Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club. We regret to hear that you have found the entertainment at the resort somewhat lacking. Our guests generally find the resort has something for everyone with our activities choice being diverse. However, we realise that poor weather may affect the quality of your holiday as the time normally spent sunbathing or sightseeing needs to be otherwise filled and unfortunately, although the choice of entertainment is considerable it is also limited.
As for Sky TV, we need to respectfully note as currently the use of Sky card outside the UK and Ireland is in fact a breach of BSkyB's terms and conditions and therefore it is indeed not lawful to broadcast Sky in Spain. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and hopefully we will be able to add a wider choice of English speaking channels in the future.
We do hope that this has not marred your stay with us and we do hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north lincolnshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We travelled in September and this was my third trip to Santa Barbara. The complex is consistently good and exactly what we expected. We are Diamond Resorts members and when work gets too much and all we want to do is lay in the sun for a week there is no better place. The apartment this time was a refurbished one. The air conditioning was excellent and I don't know how we managed without it previously. This was the first one bedroomed apartment I've stayed in and it was at the back of the hotel. Previously I've been in two or three bedroomed apartments at the front and they have been superb. Size wise it was fine, just for the two of us, I wouldn't have wanted to stay there with another couple though. The balcony was tiny and wouldn't have fit another couple on. Despite being high up we still didn't get any sun at any time of the day on the balcony, which would have been nice. The view was lovely though. I had asked if I could be at the front of the hotel but was told that the hotel was full. The refurbish was good although a couple of things had been broken and obviously mended and the bathroom looked a little used around the edges but we didn't report this as it really wasn't that bigger issue and we were only there for a week.

The majority of the staff were lovely, helpful, friendly, polite and everything you could wish for but we had a bad experience at the poolside bar where we waited half an hour to be served and when my husband held up his hand to attract attention the waiter just waved, laughed and walked away. We just didn't go again. I think this might have been a "rogue waiter" though as I passed this same waiter a couple of days later and asked him if the water machine was working and his response was again to wave his hands in the air and say "no time, go to reception" before walking off. Everyone else we met was lovely though.

The complex itself is great. Always clean and tidy. Sunbeds at the lovely pool is an issue and you have to get up early to beat the people who put the towels on the bed before breakfast. We didn't bother, you could usually get one later on in the day. There is a small natural beach just outside the back gate. We used to go there in the morning where there is great snorkelling. Also if you turn left outside the back gate and carry on walking along the cliff path, past the 70s style little square of soveigner shops and bars, continue down the steps you come to a lovely beach with parasols.

To eat continue on this path past the beach to Los Ambrigos. Here you will find traditional fish restaurants and bars by the habour which is a working harbour with small fishing boats where the locals all gather on an evening to swim. We had some really good meals here and found the locals really friendly and helpful.

Unless you're seriously into 70s cuisine don't try the majority of restaurants on the strip next to the complex other than the oriental restaurant which is great.

Our main issue was with Diamond Resorts. We discovered that they are now selling discounted weeks to anyone at this resort. We'd used our points only to find that some of the people around us had paid less cash through Groupon and other offers. When I complained to Diamond Resorts they sent my letter to Santa Barbara as if it was their fault and still haven't answered my query as to why this happens satisfactorily.

All in all I think Santa Barbara is great for a week in the sun and would recommend it to anyone. My tip would be to Diamond Resorts Members - don't use your points here, look around and find a cheaper place to book it.

Room Tip: Try for the front of the hotel and high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind feedback referring to your stay at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club and thank you for all the useful tips regarding places to visit and where to eat.
We are happy to be able to deliver you relaxing holiday year after year and we are glad that you consider our apartments comfortable and pleasant to occupy. We hope that you will appreciate that we always endeavour to accommodate our guests’ wishes, however, we are unfortunately limited by the availability and we are sorry that on this occasion we were not able to fulfil your request.
We are happy to read that you have been pleased with the performance of our team and found them friendly and helpful. However we are sorry that you have been disappointed with the waiting on staff member’s attitude. We have of course addressed this with the restaurant manager. We hope that this has not marred your overall holiday experience and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

With kind regards
Javier Baqueiro
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.