We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ants & thieves!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club to your Saves list
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€49 (EUR)
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ants & thieves!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

On arrival at the hotel we were delighted with the reception area, hotel decor and friendliness of the Reception staff. Our appt was very spacious, with a large balcony, and well equipped. The first problem we had was with our rental car - I was asked to pay extra to use the hotel car park (not detailed as an extra), then had to manoeuvre my car through a tiny underground car park.
We raised concerns about an infestation of ants in the bathroom, that appeared to be spreading throughout the appt, yet nothing was done until the 4th day when my wife marched up to Reception, and sat our 11 month old baby on the desk to show the staff the ant bites he had suffered. Even though the Duty Manager argued that there wasn't a problem (!), we were given 20 mins notice to get out of the appt while they fumigated it. That sorted the problem so we did have 3 days ant-free.
The biggest problem I had was with money being stolen from my wallet that I'd left in the wardrobe. It was not locked in the safe (again charged extra, not detailed on itinerary), but given that we didn't have many valuables that we left in the room during the day, we didn't take the option - big mistake! I reported the cash stolen to the manager, who was apologetic, but quite defensive. I narrowed down the timescale to a few hours, so they could check the system for which housekeeping/janatorial keys were used during that time & reasolve the matter. I was promised a response within 24 hrs. No response was forthcoming, and the manager was "in a meeting" each time I asked for an update. The only update I got was that they were still investigating (when I checked out). Not best pleased.
My advise would be to avoid this hotel at all costs, but if you're unfortunate enough to have already booked, pay the extra for the safe and inventory-check your personal belongings every day...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
We are sorry to read that there were aspects of your recent stay that did not meet with your expectations.

We are concerned that you were not aware of the car-park charges at this resort prior to your arrival, although we must advise that this information is available on the Fact Sheet for the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, which can be found on our website.

It concerns us greatly when our guests feel they have cause for complaint about the standard of service they have received, and we sincerely apologise for any unhelpful behaviour that may have been shown by the resort staff in connection with the issues you experienced during your stay.

We are sorry to read of the situation you encountered with ants in your accommodation. The resort does take preventative measures to reduce the appearance of these insects, and while this is something that is very difficult to completely eradicate, we would like to reassure you that the situation is monitored on a regular basis by the resort staff. Ants found within the apartments are usually eradicated by the use of a spray; however more extensive measures were unfortunately needed for your particular apartment, which meant the involvement of the external fumigating company. We are very sorry for any disruption caused to your holiday by this incident.

We are also extremely sorry to read of the disappearance of money from your accommodation during your stay. We would explain that incidents of this nature do unfortunately occur within holiday resort complexes as they do within domestic housing. We feel that adequate measures are being taken to ensure that all guests are provided with suitable protection against these sort of incidents, such as the facility of safe rental, security patrols and an alarm system. It is regrettable that the security facilities which were available to you were not used on this occasion - we are confident that had they been used as recommended, it would have prevented this incident from occurring.

We are very sorry for any disappointment you experienced during your holiday. We do hope that you will choose to return to the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, however, and we look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    372
    80
    29
    13
See reviews for
347
468
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Highly recommended for a transit night to or from the airport. But stay here for a few days and enjoy high comfort for a reasonable rate. Large, very comfortable and well equipped apartments with balcony and sea view. Pool facilities superb. An ideal place for families.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I have just returned from a week at this lovely resort, and already want to go back! The apartment (see photos) was modern, had a beautiful sea view as requested (759), and was absolutely spotless.

We ate at the hotel on a number of occasions and the food was excellent (my partner is a chef and extremely critical of food but he loved it!), and on the one occasion that something had to be altered, the staff couldn't do enough.

Overall, the restaurant and pool bar staff were wonderful. Everyone was so friendly and accommodating, which really made our stay great.

The resort is pretty quiet, but not boring! We are a young couple and really enjoyed our stay, and it seemed others like us did too. Las Americas and Los Cristianos are easily accessible by bus or reasonably priced taxis if you fancy visiting somewhere a bit more lively.

There's a lovely coastal walk behind the hotel, with great views. Also, in our opinion, there is a slight smell at the front of the hotel occasionally, but it's not normally noticeable.

Thanks for a wonderful holiday, can't wait to return!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

bought one week in a self catering apartment (which had absolutely everything one need to live) and when with my teenager daughter and her friend as well as with my friend. We spend the second week in January there, which was a perfect scape from the cold winter here. the weather is lovely, but the review in here is about Santa Barbara, yes? So, fantastic place, with the most welcome stuff ever! great nigh entertainment on the hotel. Easy access to the bus service that can take you anywhere in the island. the restaurants around the resort are not great (British- like, nothing against but as you are in Tenerife, you expect to eat local food) but you get a real sense of canarian food with just 20 minutes walking away from the resort, in a village called Los Abrigos. If you fancy night clubs, easy too! jump in the bus or take a taxi and in 15-20 minutes your are in Las Americas! lots of nice restaurants and parties!

Room Tip: almost all rooms have balcony and the sun visits all of them at some point in the day! if you like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We are a young couple and just back from 1 week staying at the Santa Barbara. I had read some mixed reviews about this resort. However, I do not have anything bad to say about it. Excellent location if your looking for quiet a relaxing, with or without kids (not for the young and lively)
So the resort: Clean comfortable, great facilities (laundary, gym,sauna and all the information you need) there was a great restaurant and staff were very accommodating. I did see some comments that there was a smell from the left hand side of the resort, yes this is true but not enough to turn your stomach.

There were decent bus links into main areas such as Los Cristianos and Las Americas. Golf on the doorstep and a great Irish bar with entertainment just 2 mins away, there were a selection of italian, indian and mexican restaurants close by overlooking the see.

Room Tip: Right hand side if you are fussy about smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are really pleased that you decided to visit the Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club, and that you enjoyed your stay. We have a constant program of improvement at the resort and our aim is to keep getting better and better.

We hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

The accommodation is excellent with plenty of room providing everything you need with full kitchen which was fully equip. The room, hotel and pool area was spotlessly clean. Our room had a stunning view of the sea and pool which was a pleasure to wake up to.

I went the 17th April and after looking at weather reports stating it was going to be cloudy and rainy days I was concerned about the weather being to cold for the children to enjoy the pool but I was pleasantly surprised, it was 22c and upwards with no rain but some cloud and wind which was nice. The pool could be chilly (to cold for me) but that didn't stop my children from spending all day at time in the small pool as the big pool was a bit colder and a bit to deep for my 7 yr old. It was also a bit chilly in the night.

They have a great entrainment crew for the children and adults if you like to participate, with the kids club and mini disco and other activities throughout the day and night. I recommend the comedy Elvis show and the Parrot show if any of these are on while you are there I would take a look.

It is a quiet area with little around there are a few bars and restaurants in either direction I recommend the Chinese restaurant less than 5 mins up the road with great food, great staff and good prices and in the opposite direction Angus Steakhouse which was good food for good prices!

I would recommend this hotel for families and mature couples who are looking for a relaxing break in a stunning hotel. I hope to return later in the year!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view as we had a stunning view overlooking pool and sea. If you have walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teeside, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Santa Barbara lovely place to stay. Have been many times now, staff so friendly happy to help and love socialising with everyone. Entertainment average for Europe hotels however some good acts on for the evening. Worth heading to. Pool rather cod it we did go in November 2011 so perhaps normally slightly warmer. All n all would happily go over and over again.

Room Tip: Vila2 gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club

Address: Avd del Atlantico, Urb Golf de Sur, 38620 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moorish-inspired architecture and beautifully finished luxury accommodations, some overlooking the Atlantic, are just two of the features that make Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club one of the finest resorts in Southern Europe.Nestled on the sun-drenched southern coast of Tenerife, Santa Barbara Golf and Ocean Club boasts a truly superb range of facilities including swimming pools, landscaped gardens, shops and even its own gymnasium.A golfer's paradise, the fairways that host the prestigious Tenerife Open are just a few steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Golf And Ocean Club
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Hotel San Miguel De Abona
Santa Barbara Hotel Ocean
Santa Barbara Resort Ocean
Santa Barbara Tenerife
Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Barbara Golf & Ocean Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.