We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with great facilities and numerous activities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf

Save Saved
You added Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Grenamora s/n | Urb. San Blas Golf del Sur, 38639 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with great facilities and numerous activities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 6 days and are considering coming back! (We never visit the exact same place twice but this is a contender!)

The Hotel has a fantastic array of pools that snake down from the hotel towards the beach like a river; with two of the pools being heated, some shallower for children and toddlers and others completely deep for adults. Towards the beach area there is also a small spa whereby the treatments are fantastic and carried out professionally. Near the spa is also a restaurant in which you can book for one free evening if your stay 5 nights plus. I highly recommend using this evening (which you have to book with reception, one day in advance) as the food was wonderful with views across the sea. You can use again but would have to pay – they also offer fresh lobster and oysters at a price.

The beach is a pebble beach but has some sun loungers provided by the hotel – if you want a sandier beach, come out of the hotel via the gate towards the beach, turn left and follow a dirt track to the neighbouring fishing village. On the way you will come across a very small sandy beach.

Half way between the main hotel and the spa area, is the main buffet restaurants available for breakfast, lunch and dinner and snacks (depending on your board). The food was wonderful with a good array of choice including pasta of your choice cooked in front of you with the sauce of your choice, many fish dishes, vegetarian dishes and other meat dishes. The beef stew was particularly yummy.

There are two bars by the pools; one towards the beach and the other in the middle of the pool river. Another bar can be found near the reception of the hotel. All serve a variety of beers, spirits, soft drinks and coffees which are all available on all inclusive as are a range of cocktails! (pina colada, coco loco, mojito and many more). They also provide bottles of water if you want one for your room which I thought was great.

The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom also included a Jacuzzi bath and a separate shower as well as a hair dryer. The room had a small fridge that you can use (or request to be filled at a price).

In addition to all this the hotel offers many activities and excursions. Day to day activities include but are not limited to aqua gym, ping pong tournaments, rifle shooting, kayaking, stand-up boarding, water basketball, botanic tours etc. There are also activities you can pay for; I highly recommend the Segway tour! For ~25 euros you get to learn how to use a Segway and travel to the next towns’ marina, stop at a café, then travel back to the hotel. It was brilliant fun! You can also do pony trekking and a walking tour of the nature park.

On the reception desk you will find a large book – in here are all the excursions available from the hotel with most including pick-up from the hotel. One I highly recommend is the sea kayaking/ stand-up board carried out by the same instructors of the hotel. We paddled out seeing the gorgeous coast and some of the sea fisheries. We were extremely lucky as the fishermen were collecting from the fisheries at the time which attracted a number of wild dolphins! We saw a mother and baby literally 2 meters away from our kayak – was amazing!! It was ~ 35 euros to kayak and ~60 euros for stand-up boarding.

BUT this isn’t all! On the very bottom floor are some hidden gems. By night there is a large room used in the evening for entertainment… but by day on only a few days of the week is a tour of the hotels museum and tunnel experience near to this room! These explain the history of the people of Tenerife (I never knew the hardship and slavery!) as well as some of the nature unique to the island. The tunnel experience for example, starts with a volcanic twist that even simulates the earthquakes! On certain days (see posters) you can see all this and get to try some Tenerife goats’ cheese and red wine afterwards.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel that offers a lot of different experiences and activities for the guests and I highly recommend staying!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccionsanblas, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf we would like to express our many thanks for taking your time and writing a review about your experience here with us.
We are very appreciative of all the compliments given to our hotel particularly with respect to the rooms, food served in both restaurants main buffet and La Proa, Spa testaments, our activities, swimming pools, and remarkably we would like to thank you for mentioning our exceptional nature reserve tour. Hereby we would like to invite all our future guests to take this unique opportunity to visit a spectacular moonscape of the Environmental Reserve with our guided tour full of surprises while staying with us.
We are looking forward to seeing you here in the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,352
    617
    209
    49
    18
See reviews for
646
1141
41
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Ok sitting waiting on our bus to pick us up after our 10days at San Blas.

We read reviews & thought this is going to be in the middle of nowhere..this is not the case!!
There are plenty of bars restaurants & shops nearby within 5min walk.We went for Chinese on night the Great Wall Chinese food was fab!!If you want Indian go to "taj"

Ok back to the hotel.We have stayed in lots of hotels & this is by far the best all inclusive food we have tasted!!anyone who doesn't like the pasta is obviously used to eating processed dolmio as the pasta is fine for all inclusive!!
Lots of salads&different dishes daily!!!lovley cheese food is great!deserts lovley although we normally didnt have space!!at breakfast there are also fresh pancakes. & omelettes!!
Drinks are great usual you get whatever you want every waiter in the place is fantastic!!!!!really great staff.nice cocktails. Rose & Red wine nice..heard white wasn't great!!Cava on tap!!:)

Rooms are very spacious!!fresh towels daily & new clean beach towels when you want them!!
Shampoo/conditioner/ aloe Vera replaced daily!!there is also a razor shoe shine toothpaste seeing kit!!great rooms!!

Lots of bars to drink from entertainment really good!!!!no complains there!!however there is a decking you can sit on at night which is beautiful it seems to be off bounds I think they are doing maintenance!!

The la proa restaurant was fine but we were quite disappointed felt the meal was too rushed and food wasnt better than the all inclusive.My husband ordered oysters & in the middle of our meal he interrupted us and asked for a signature for payment.

The place is getting very busy with ..everyone is reserving sunbeds like there is no tomorrow & most children are left to their own devices which is a shame for them!!we definitely picked the 10 days to come as we feel its more a family hotel now and not mostly adults like we thought!

To end this you must go to loro park its fantastic!!!if you buy a two park ticket you only get a bus to loro which it approx 1hour 20 mins..well worth it tho!! The bus picks you up at 10am and leaves loro at 5pm

With transport to Siam you need to make your own way.we used the free shuttle bus at the hotel that takes you to las Americas at 10am we got a taxi to Siam from here which was 5euro..and again left Siam at 4.30 pm got a taxi to las Americas and bus back to hotel!!!!your normally around 20 odd euros to las Americas do was a saving!!

Great holiday I overall xx




  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccionsanblas, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, in the name of Sandos Blas Nature Resort & Golf let me thank you for taking your time and writing a review about your experience here with us.
We get a lot of pleasure out of reading all your positive expressions, particularly when you said “We have stayed in lots of hotels & this is by far the best all inclusive food we have tasted!!”, it says a lot to us.
We really appreciate all your nice comments and suggestions, and of course, your recommendations of our hotel to our potential guests and at the same time we would like to take this opportunity to encourage you to visit our website to book your next holiday at the best price. It will be our pleasure to see you here at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleby Barwick, North East England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a few problems at this resort, however there were many positives the food was fairly good lots of choice, would expect fresh juice at breakfast though and usually have had this at most other 5* resorts we have stayed at. The al a carte was poor but worth a visit if you fancy a change of scenary as three meals a day in the buffet was a bit much. We had a problem with our room on arrival as we booked 2 deluxe double rooms, we were travelling with two children aged 7 and 13. We had emailed a number of times prior to arrival to ensure we had interconnecting rooms. When we arrived in the room it was interconnecting but the room for the children had two small camp beds, this was not what we had paid for. I rang reception but was told this was the only option for interconnecting rooms so we unpacked our things. Later when we went to reception I spoke with the manager Victor who was very helpful and pleasant and said we could move and have the two interconnecting rooms that we had paid for but I explained that we had already unpacked as was told this was not possible. He offered us 10% off our room, I didnt feel this was adequate bearing in mind we should have had 2 queensize beds and whirlpool bath etc. but really dont want to spend my holiday complaining and arguing the toss nor did we want to repack and move to another room. My husband used the gym a few times but found the majority of the gym equipment not working. We found the service within the hotel poor and staff were quite unpleasant at times. It is a large spread out hotel, it is very windy and the wind quite cold at times however very hot when the sun was out. I found the maid service poor and sheets were not changed until we requested it. You have to change your pool towels at the reception which is some distance from the pool areas. The drinks were good for all inclusive, cocktails full of sugar, but the cava and wine was good. We had a nice holiday and we thought it fair value for money. I mainly concentrating on the negatives as there is so many positive reviews about this place. We travelled independently with ryanair - ryanair was totally awful people fighting for seats on the plane etc. wont be doing that again in a hurry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccionsanblas, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Sandos Blas Nature Resort & Golf we would like to thank you for taking your time and writing a review about your experience here with us.
We would like to thank you for your positive comments and suggestions and we are glad to confirm you that our gym equipment it has been revised and it is in perfect conditions, also we would like to remind that we have fresh juice at breakfast every day and you can order fresh orange juice as well with an special price if you are with A.I. basis.
Please be sure that we will keep on working hard to try to improve day by day and keeping the same value for money that we have actually.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous holiday at this lovely hotel. The food is fantastic and the staff very helpful and always smiling. Great to have adult only pools and also sections in the restaurant (although this was not always adhered to especially at breakfast not sure why you have these areas and then allow children in!) Glad we came home this weekend as (25 May) as it was getting extremely busy lots of children and very young babies.

Weather was not too bad but the wind was relentless and there is nowhere on the resort where you can get away from the wind - only place we found was behind the Plaza bar by the pool. Quite cold at night and we were not able to sit out very often in the evenings - the main lobby bar was very busy the last few days of our holiday - children allowed to run wild and babies screaming we used to take drinks back to our rooms after dinner. The rooms were lovely and spacious with English channels on the TV which was great.

We would go back again but at a much quieter time of year we went to celebrate my husband's birthday but because it was coming up to half term the hotel was very busy.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms over the lake are lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccionsanblas, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf we would like to give you many thanks for taking your time and writing a review about your experience here with us.
We are sincerely very pleased you to share such warm and personal comments about your stay in our hotel, particularly with regard to the rooms, food, our only adults areas and remarkably our staff that is always ready to attend you with a smile and made your stay so enjoyable that you feel like returning. Hereby we would like to invite you to visit our website and book your next holiday at the best price.
We are looking forward to seeing you here at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I found the hotel, facilities and staff were very good and catered for most of my holiday needs. Upon arrival, late at night, we managed to get to the restaurant in time for their opening hours, thinking that we may be too late. However, the head waiter was very courteous, showing us around the array of fine food. We felt relaxed and batteries well charged after this stay here. We also hired bicycles for a day and rode into a nearby village for lunch, saw a wonderful parade and then stopped at a beach to watch wind surfers. A bus service to Los Christianos was free and we booked a show playing there through the hotel. The show was Evolution and is well worth the money to see flamenco at its very best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccionsanblas, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest,

In the name of Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf we would like to give you our thanks for taking your time and writing a review about your experience here with us.
We appreciate very much your positive statements with respect to our hotel facilities and staff. We are very pleased to read you spent such a nice holiday here that “your batteries are well charged”.
We will be looking forward to seeing you here at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have recently returned from a 2 week holiday at this hotel and what a great holiday we had. The complex is extremely clean and the rooms are beautiful. We had some problems with the room we were originally allocated but Deputy Manager Victor Gil arranged for a change for us without any fuss and we were more than happy with this change. Snr Gil is a fantastic guy and is a real asset to the Sandos company. He is charming, friendly and his attention to detail is second to non! All the other staff however from waiters to chambermaids were also friendly and helpful at all times. We felt really well looked after. It takes a few days to get used to getting around the hotel so keep the hotel map you'll be given on check in! You'll probably need it.
The food is of good quality and there is plenty of choice. My husband was a bit disappointed with the pasta station as the pastas were all a bit bland. I have to have a gluten free diet and this was well catered for. All dishes were labelled if they contained gluten and the "pan sin gluten" I requested most mornings was delicious.
Sangria from the pool bar was also delicious as was the red wine at meal times. Husband enjoyed a few JB Whiskys also. The whole complex has a chilled out feeling and we had a really relaxing holiday. Nice walks in the area both ways from the hotel. There is a free bus into Las Americas from the hotel but we found that the local buses were fairly easy to find and cheap. There are bus stops in Los Abrigos and also in San Blas to most places in the south. Don't miss the environmental tour. It is very interesting, with a few surprises along the way. Good walking shoes or sandals are required for the outside tour but its not a difficult walk. We would highly recommend this hotel and would be back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccionsanblas, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest,
In the name of the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf let me thank you for taking your time to write a review about your experience here with us.
It is our real pleasure to read all your warm and personal comments, especially your compliments with regard to the quality and choice of the food especially “the gluten free options”, all inclusive drinks, the room and cleanliness, the free shuttle to Playa de las Américas, and above all our hotel staff that are always ready to attend you with a smile.
Also we appreciate your mentioning our exceptional nature reserve tour that we are really proud of. On this occasion we would like to invite all our future guests to take the unique opportunity to visit a spectacular landscape of the Environmental Reserve while staying with us.
We are very pleased to read you spent such a wonderful holiday here that you would return. We will be looking forward to seeing you here at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have not long returned from a weeks stay here with my husband and daughter aged 4.
This is a lovely hotel and the staff are a really credit, they go out of there way to help from the moment you arrive at reception to the moment you leave.
I was a little apprehensive as the pictures don't do this hotel justice, it's very well thought out and the rooms are modern, clean and very spacious. We had two huge rooms with a balcony to each room with had a lovely wicker bed on one and table & chairs on the other which over looked the complex and the sea. There were lots of nice touches in the room along with robes, slippers and toiletries, the rooms were kept very clean and the bathrooms were good too, lovely large walk in shower and double basins plenty of wardrobe space etc
The food was good, nice choice for everyone we all eat well, drinks machines everywhere so you can help yourself to coffee/latte/chocolate or Coke/lemonade and slushy for the kids. Pool bar was very nice.
Pool areas are excellent and the 2 heated pools are manned by life guards which is good for the kids. The pool felt a little cold but after speaking to the manager it was checked within minutes and was heated to 30c (as it was a little overcast and windy, I think this is why it felt colder) Sunbeds were never an issue in the morning to find and hotel provides towels.
My daughter joined in with the Mini club, the girls there are fantastic and she enjoyed the mini disco and the clown of an evening, it was lovely to see her become more confident, there is also a nice little park for the children. You can walk out from the hotel easily and wonder to the village nothing is to far away. All in all we had a very relaxing de-stressing week at Sandos, so thankyou to everyone.x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subdireccionsanblas, Deputy Manager at Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, in the name of Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, we would like to express our many thanks for taking your time and writing a review about your experience here with us.
It is our great delight you to share all warm and personal remarks about your stay in our hotel, particularly regarding the rooms, toiletries, cleanliness, mini-club activities, quality and choice of food& drinks, pool areas, etc. and it is our real pleasure to get to know you had “a very relaxing de-stressing week at Sandos”.
Hereby we would like to invite you to visit our website and book your next holiday at the best price.
We are looking forward to seeing you here at the Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf again soon.
Yours sincerely,

Víctor Gil
Deputy Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf

Address: Calle Grenamora s/n | Urb. San Blas Golf del Sur, 38639 San Miguel de Abona, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Miguel de Abona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in San Miguel de Abona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the beach of a beautiful nature reserve, this unique hotel provides a wide range of activities based around nature and tradition as well as boasting luxurious facilities and sleek design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos San Blas Hotel Reserva Ambiental And Golf
Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf Tenerife, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandos San Blas Nature Resort & Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.