We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 20th Wedding Anniversary !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing 20th Wedding Anniversary !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked this hotel to renew our wedding vows. We stayed from the 30th July- 6 August. We are a family of 5, 18 year old daughter and two boys 16 and 9. We all loved it, it was the first holiday we felt was too short. The rooms were clean, spacious and had beautiful views off the beach. The staff were always friendly and happy to help. We were all inclusive which was great and if kids missed breakfast that enjoyed pizza and chips at the pool snack bar. The pools and spa area were very relaxing never over crowded. The boys loved playing ping pong and hubby enjoyed the pool bingo. The evening entertainment was relaxing and funny.

We would like to say a special thank you to our photographer Andrea. He made our holiday so special and gave us memories for life. We wanted to renew our wedding vows on our 20th Anniversary which was on the 1st of August. We spoke to reception as we wanted pictures. We met Andrea the day before and spoke about having pictures on the beach to capture our special day. On the day we met at the lobby at 7.30 Andrea says " hold on I have 4 helpers!" he had organised 4 bridesmaids, who were all dressed in lovely dresses, had boxes of flowers. We went down to the beach and they made a beautiful flower heart for us to renew our vows. We had lots of beautiful pictures he spent the whole evening with us. The next day he took more pictures by the pool and in the evening we had some more family pics. He went out of his way to make our holiday one to remember!!! Thank you so much.

We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,038
    326
    76
    20
    9
See reviews for
428
762
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

visited this hotel first impressions exellent lovely rooms exellent views food ok alot of the same everynight and you were placed in a seat you didnt always want unless you tiped well then the waiters went out of there way to serve you ,the romanian head waiter was exellent the only one though,this is a lovely hotel if you dont want to do anything all day and night but if you like to explore there is nothing but one spar ouside and some grotty bars by the beach not for childern theres nothing for them ,never been so bored in all my life

Room Tip: do not go in block 2 if you want to sleep got disturbed every night by screaming idiots
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went as a family of 4, with 2 sons (20/17). The purpose of the holiday was to relax and unwind after a busy year for all of us and that is certainly what we did. The hotel was great, the food plentiful and mixed in variety (and rarely quality), and as we were All inclusive, when the boys missed breakfast they could have a snack in the snack bar late morning, or a feast at lunchtime. I can only agree with other reviewers over the cleanliness of the hotel, the great attitude of the staff, especially the very busy waiters and nothing was too much trouble. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks at the beginning of August 2013 and could have easily stayed for a third! The hotel was spotless throughout and the service from all the staff was superb! Room was cleaned everyday and fresh towels provided. Also no need to bring a beach towel as they are provided at reception and can be changed at any time! The food was excellent although at times it got a bit repetitive but with various food themed nights and an 'a la carte' restaurant on site this wasn't a problem! Would definitely stay here again and can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We returned from Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa on 30 July 2013. We stayed there for 10 nights – myself, my wife and our five and a half year old daughter. We had a lovely holiday. This is a fantastic hotel, and the restaurant staff were going out of their way to please us, thank you Iulian. Some of the reception staff do require additional training, and could learn from one of their colleagues whose customer service skills were excellent: well done Christian! The hotel caters for couples and families alike, and everywhere you go they make you feel welcome. The evening entertainment is great with some amazing shows – the Flamenco dance show was brilliant! Some other guests were suggesting that the shows would be better if they took place outside by the pool in the evening fresh air, but we couldn’t see any space for that by the main pool. I guess maybe by the pool at the top there would be space for a stage and show area in the evening, and the hotel could look into that for future. But we loved it as it is now and I don’t think this is an issue. The children’s entertainment/mini-disco is OK, nothing big but our daughter loved it. The animators make an effort to entertain the children and keep them happy. There’s also a soft play centre where children are supervised and this is great. It is located by the main pool bar/terrace, so you can have a nice drink or enjoy a pizza or just relax for a minute while your little ones are playing there. The hotel runs a kids club where they can colour and play, etc. Our daughter didn’t go there though so I wouldn’t comment on it. The food is of a very good standard for an all-inclusive hotel, we enjoyed our meals every day. There is a great variety so there’s plenty to choose from. The all-inclusive is great, good quality beer and all the cocktails were of superior quality to all the other Spanish all-inclusive hotels we’ve stayed in before. All the bars were classed as all inclusive except the one by the reception floor. The view from the room is fantastic, and what makes it better is that every room in this hotel has a sea view. We stayed in Block No 2 on the bottom floor and it was great, no noise from anywhere. I read before we went that on higher floors there can be noise from coaches picking up guests early in the morning. On our floor there was no noise at all, I recommend it – plus this way we got a much bigger balcony, top class! The beach is lovely, and it is a short walk – maybe seven or eight minutes from the hotel itself. Be prepared for a challenge on your way back to the hotel though, as it is a steep climb up in the Canarian sun. This is a man-made beach, and it’s protected from currents or big waves, though we found the sand a little bit coarse/rough. We still loved the beach though. The swimming pools are great, with the Jacuzzi area within the main swimming pool. The main swimming pool is an infinity pool offering fantastic views. There is also the Spa centre in the lower area adjacent to the main swimming pool. The main swimming pool can get very busy and the early morning towel sun lounger reservation is the norm. There is also a smaller pool here for children, though children are allowed to swim in the main pool as well. The other pool on the top floor is brilliant and less busy, with fantastic views as well. Children were welcome here as well, though this seemed to be an area more popular for adults. We spent a few lovely mornings and afternoons there with our daughter, and other families were there having a great time as well. The Playa de Amadores resort in itself did not have much to offer, though Puerto Rico is a short cab ride away or a nice 30 min walk. We went to Puerto de Mogan and enjoyed a lovely submarine trip, it was fantastic! For airport transfer I would recommend hire a car or get a taxi – we booked ours through Travel Republic and was fine. I heard that a normal coach transfer takes a very long time and it is not worth it. To conclude, we had a great holiday all around and we will definitely return to this hotel in future.

Room Tip: We stayed in Block No 2 on the bottom floor and it was great, no noise from anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at this fantastic hotel, as a couple on our own we loved the fact that there was two pools so that you had a choice to get involved in activities or get away and just observe from the upper pool area. We stayed in block 2 and had a fabulous beach view and our balcony was totally private, as most are I believe. The room was clean, spacious and air conditioned. All the staff at the hotel were always friendly, helpful and cheerful and couldn't do enough for you, from the reception staff to the maids. We opted for all inclusive and we never felt the need to eat out as there was plenty of variety each night and something for even the most fussy eaters.
The location of this property was perfect for us, as it was in a quiet area if you wanted to relax, but only a short taxi trip to Puerto Rico if you wanted a bit of life.
Only potential issues for people would be the walk back from the beach as it is quite a steep hill, but the beach is worth the walk.
Overall we would highly recommend this hotel and will be looking to return ourselves in the future.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the middle of it all then go for block 3 (above reception) or 4, but if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I visited 06 Dec 2012 with family - one of the better hotels I've visited in Europe and would find it hard pushed to complain about any aspect (you'll always have one person who has had an unfortunate experience). Weather was 22-25c and sunny (don't know whether that's normal or we were lucky!)

Location: 50min drive from airport. Whilst the hotel has a great sea view, it's a 10min walk to the beach (only 10mins because you have some way to go to get down to sea level). There's a nearby Spa supermarket and those typical tatty shops along the beach. Also a crazy-golf course nearby (15min walk). There's a 'panoramic' lift at the end of the hotel to take you down to almost sea level - this certainly saves a lot of time over walking to reception which is up a considerable slope. Generally quite a hilly area so if your mobility is impaired it might be worth taking a closer look to see whether this resort is suitable - it probably is but best to check.

Rooms: I think they all have a sea view room; obviously I've not been in them all to prove that! Fantastic balcony layout with complete privacy from any adjacent rooms and very decent wicker furniture (none of the cheap plastic). Clean rooms as you would expect and when we were there, WIFI was being installed in each room - and this was free of charge. BIG plus! One negative - any coaches leaving/arriving overnight or early morning deliveries can be heard in the rooms as the area in which people arrive/leave is circled by rocks and noise echo's around and into the rooms. Not too bad but I guess depends on how deep you sleep.

Food (stayed on a HB basis): Great. Pretty standard offering/choice for a 4 start hotel and in the main, tasty too. The breakfast offered what you would expect; continental, cereals and fried. Eggs were available in most formats!

Activities: The Spa is FREE and of decent quality: ap ool with multiple-style water massages, steam room, sauna and a small sun terrace to relax afterwards. A perfect way to spend an hour. There was also yoga classes and probably other activities in the pools (there are at least two outdoor infinity style pools plus the indoor pool for the spa).

Overall would definitely visit again; it was so good though I fear going back as I'm bound to be disappointed! What greater praise could I give.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Address: C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 meters from Playa de Amadores, on the Costa de Mogan, the Gloria Palace Hotel Royal & Spa is a four-star superior establishment built in 2008 with natural stone, privileged views over Amadores beach, spectacular never-ending pool, exclusive rooms and executive suites. Its dedicated service, luxurious surroundings and breathtaking views makes it the most prestigious hotel in the area. Our goal is to provide our customers with a place to enjoy a calm, relaxing, caring and personalized service from our team of professionals. The extensive facilities are designed and decorated with exquisite taste, to convey a feeling of exclusivity and luxury to enjoy the deserved vacations. A hotel for all, from romantic getaways to business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel Puerto Rico
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel And Spa
Dunas Amadores
Hotel Dunas Amadores
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.