We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon from hell!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Honeymoon from hell!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Bitterly disappointed by our experiences during our stay at the Gloria Palace Royal. Very overrated and nowhere near deserving four stars.

LOCATION

The location of the hotel is fairly good with Amadores Beach a few hundreds of yards away but be prepared to be consistently walking uphill in 30 degree heat.

The main area of Puerto Rico is only a matter of km away and a single bus fare will cost you €1.40

SERVICE

The biggest disappointment for us was the lack of service in the restaurant on bars. On numerous occasions we waited over 30 minutes for someone to take an order. All in all they appeared very understaffed during food service and many of those that were working quite clearly didn't want to be! Poor attitudes all round.

On one particular occasion we left our table after our main meal to select dessert at the buffet only to discover when we returned that they had cleared our drinks and seated another couple at our table.

Service barely acceptable for a three star hotel never mind a four star.

FOOD

The select of food on offer during meal times is very repetitive and after a number of days the cycle comes back round again. Just be prepared if you like your steak well done because on many occasions I have been served steak with blood running out despite stating I wanted it well done.

On one occasions my wife was served raw chicken on a skewer. It was no were near cooked and the waiter just apologised and binned it. No one from the management side of things approached us to apologise.

FACILITIES

The room we had was fairly spacious with its own balcony, tea making facilities and a mini fridge. The room was comfortable and the cleaning staff could not be faulted in any way but on one day we were with electricity and water periodically. When the water was restored it was brown and horrible smelling for a few days.

ENTERTAINMENT

The entertainment and 'activity centre' is nothing short of a joke. Every night a show begins at 10pm and lasts only 45 minutes with the large majority of them being poor quality. Many of the surrounding hotels have better entertainment that lasts to midnight.

BEDDING

One particular issue we had was the fact we had requested a double bed, as this was our honeymoon, only to be presented with a twin room. When we complained their solution was to push the beds together and fit a double sheet.

It took six days to get a double mattress!

THOMAS COOK

We travelled with Thomas Cook and found our rep no existent. We continually checked times he would be available from using the information folder provided but he never showed up and in our two weeks we never seen him bar our introduction on the first day.

OVERALL

Beautiful looking hotel set into the mountainside overlooking the beaches but it is badly let down by staff.

The Gloria Palace Amadores is the superior hotel if you have to chose between the two but I would recommend you avoid this place at all cost.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    310
    75
    19
    8
See reviews for
395
720
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carlow
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you want to stay in hotel with good, friendly staff and a holel with a relaxing feeling this is the hotel for you.This was the second time I stayed in this hotel, and I would go back again. The staff are so friendly and helpfully. The food was improved so much since the last time I stayed, I would say that breakfast and lunch were the best meals there, but dinner some times was a little disappointing, but you always found something to eat. Entertainment was ok. The pool was lovely, yest you had to get uo early if you wanted a spot by the pool, but that happens everwhere. The rooms where clean and the cleaning staff were great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed a week a/i beginning of July 13 and its the best hotel we have visited! Amazing views, cleanliness, food, service, i could go on and on....The rooms are spacious, nice balcony, we had a seaview, our son had a pool view, both fab! Our son had a 'Happy Birthday' whilst there and the hotel sent 2 bottles of champayne and cake to his room! The pools where fab, as was the spa, im sure its meant to relax you but it certainly woke you up! i cannot say one bad comment, neither can my son and his girlfriend, they loved it! The food was great and so much choice, a huge thank you to the waiter/ress's, they work sooo hard and nothing is too much trouble. The entertainment was a bit hit and miss but hey your on your holidays, so you do enjoy it! We enjoyed a boat trip out to Mogan, went to Puerto Rico enjoyed the walk back along the seafront. All in all will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: we had block 2 overlooking the sea, our son had block 4 overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed 1 week All inclusive, have travelled to many of the usual European Resort destinations and have to say that on balance for Location, Hotel, Facilities, Service and Cleanliness this is by far the best hotel I have stayed in.
Check in staff were friendly, efficient and informative, the rooms are HUGE not the usual camp bed squeezed in for a child sharing the room, lovely walk in shower, plenty of storage space, and UK channels on the Television which is a bonus when you are getting ready for dinner.
A couple of minor maintenance issues that needed replacing were sorted within minutes of ringing reception.
Jaw dropping amazing views from the huge balconies all are sea facing.
The infinity pool is glorious and never gets overcrowded, yes you have to get up before breakfast to reserve premium spots by the pool...but is worth it!
Food and drink options are very good on the All inclusive package, couple of minor restrictions but nothing to worry about.
However, the key to this hotel is THE STAFF, they are ALL hardworking, attentive and genuine with beaming smiles it's what sets this hotel apart from others I have stayed at.
My wife who is a vegetarian was getting a little bored after a few days with the repetition on offer, however, instead of keeping quiet and moaning about it when we got home, we mentioned it to the Guest Relations Director who immediately asked my wife what sort of food she liked, some of it wasn't on the usual supplier deliveries and they therefore they ordered some basic ingredients in and the Chef prepared a couple of dishes for her which were simple but stunning!!
If you like to socialise on holiday throw yourself into the activities arranged by the Animation team its a great way of meeting people, but there's no pressure and if you don't fancy it they won't hassle you.
Don't think the A La Carte is worth the extra (you get 25% off food and 50% off drinks if ALL INCLUSIVE) next time I would stick with the general restaurant, snack bar by the pool is ok, but lunch in the main restaurant is worth getting out of the sun for.
The 4 star Superior rating is spot on, the only thing that stops it being a 5 Star is the evening entertainment which was low key and brief but didn't stop us enjoying the evenings.
I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, just go for it you won't be disappointed, have NEVER considered returning to the same hotel previously as have liked to experience different things, however, I will seriously consider returning next year, hopefully with some extended family to share this WONDERFUL HOTEL and its STAFF.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing, Block 4 is nearest the road but people staying there didn't seem to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have stayed twice at this hotel in 2009 and 2011 but because I just started reviewing on Trip Advisor I did not write about it before. I hope it will help some future client to make their mind up anyway.

Obviously if we went twice it is because really liked it. The rooms are spacious, clean, large beds and with large balcony. One thing I think make a real difference is having real furniture on the balcony. We spend a lot of time on our balconies when we are at hotels and with such a views and comfortable chairs it makes it even better.

The main swimming pool (infinity pool) is lovely. It is also heated which makes this hotel a great option even in early season (I think we went once in April) as you can enjoy a dip without freezing. We only used once the other pool (the one on the top terrace and it is not heated) and its position is not as great as it does not have the amazing views that the infinity pool has.
This is not a really large hotel, it is quite compact however we never felt that there was too many people and finding a quiet spot was never an issue.

The food: we really loved the food here. The restaurant is a large buffet and we always felt that there was something we liked and fancied. The views from the restaurant are great (try to get a table close to the windows for panoramic views). My only complaint is that there isn’t the possibility to eat al-fresco during the evening and this is something we enjoy during the holiday. However you can eat outside at lunch at the bar next to the swimming pool.
If you are all inclusive, they have a great selection of drink including a great Champagne Sangria!

The area: we do not like Puerto Rico however we like Amadores beach (with its restaurant and bars: we love the fact that you can spend the day at the beach and decide to go for a quick Sangria without having to move all your belongings). Yes the walk to the beach is not an easy one (the hotel offers amazing views and therefore it is at the top of a steep hill) but we always used to go down by foot to the beach and come back with a taxi (you can grab one just next to the beach very easily) which is only a few euros.

If you want a nice day out, grab the boat in Puerto Rico and take a trip to Puerto de Mogan. It is a lovely little town with a great port and lots of restaurant. If you fancy diving I highly recommend walking from Amadores beach to Puerto Rico (path along the sea) and as you arrive in Puerto Rico harbour there is a great diving centre. The instructors are very good and extremely attentive.

We have done some a couple of other hotel in the area but this is the best we have experience in this part of Grand Canaria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect at this hotel!
Incredible view from our room, 2307, a very big bed, a large balcony, nice bathroom, and everything sooo clean!
I was speechless when i first saw the hotel, and i was amazed by so much beauty every day while i stayed there.
The hotel has an impressive infinite pool, always good temperature in the water, it has another pool in another part of the hotel, and another one for the nudists.
The cleaning personal of the hotel washes every corner of it, its a pleasure to smell and see so much clean around u.
We had all inclusive and we was very pleased by the food and drinks they offered to us. Very kind personal at the restaurant, many thanks to Iulian and Heriberto which were incredibly nice to us.
The pool bar girl, Minerva, also was very kind and always smiling, like every other person from the staff.
The atmosphere was very nice.
Every night, near the main pool, they offered us a different show: one night illusionism, one night dance, another day sing night. Very good shows.
I dont have enough good words to review this hotel, really... I stayed in many places from different countries, but nowhere so amazing like here.
The beach is very clean, also all the island. U have a SPAR, the main supermarket of the island, near the hotel in the left. Near the beach, many shops, restaurants and bars.
Puerto Rico is about 15 minutes away, walking. Incredible view everywhere around.
This hotel is absolute impressive and from the beach u will see his greatness and incredible beauty.
I sincearly reccommend this hotel to anyone who wants a great vacation, u will always keep this place in your heart if u stayed here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Pros - very clean, good sized rooms and balcony. Probably one of best locations with a beach front. Good choice at breakfast. Kaia Restaurant was good. Top pool area quieter.

Cons - dining room a bit impersonal and cafeteria like. Lunch and dinner were a bit samey. Plenty of choice but similar each night. For four stars would expect more variety. All inclusive didn't apply everywhere. No real bar area to sit for a quiet drink instead of being in entertainment room which wouldn't be to everyone's liking. Not so,suitable for families with older teenagers. A few annoying rules which weren't actually adhered to like long trousers for men at dinner. Be prepared to get up early if you want a sun bed as towels were put on them well before 8 every day even with requests from hotel not to do,so. There is a busy road in front of the hotel so not so quiet when on the balcony and in your room if a/c not on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Address: C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 meters from Playa de Amadores, on the Costa de Mogan, the Gloria Palace Hotel Royal & Spa is a four-star superior establishment built in 2008 with natural stone, privileged views over Amadores beach, spectacular never-ending pool, exclusive rooms and executive suites. Its dedicated service, luxurious surroundings and breathtaking views makes it the most prestigious hotel in the area. Our goal is to provide our customers with a place to enjoy a calm, relaxing, caring and personalized service from our team of professionals. The extensive facilities are designed and decorated with exquisite taste, to convey a feeling of exclusivity and luxury to enjoy the deserved vacations. A hotel for all, from romantic getaways to business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel And Spa
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel Puerto Rico
Dunas Amadores
Hotel Dunas Amadores
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.