We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Hotel with Lovely Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
GreenLeadersSilver level
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Relaxing Hotel with Lovely Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We visited the Gloria Palace Royal Hotel in September 2012 and were not disappointed. The hotel is built in the rockside and offers wonderful views over the horseshoe bay of Amadores. Our room was Block 3 and the view from the balcony was slightly to the side but the room was clean and comfortable with plenty of space.

We went all inclusive and the food was excellent with plenty of choice. The choice of fish and seafood and salads were delicious. The staff could not have been more helpful and the views in the dining room were across Amadores beach. Drinks were included and the wines were good. Do note however that in the lounge bar drinks are half price even on all inclusive. They are included in the other other bars and the nightclub.

Facilities at the hotel were plenty. The infinity pool was so warm and wonderful for a dip. There is another pool above in Block 3 and the sunbathing area there is less crowded. Activities were posted daily and evening entertainment was good. Particularly liked the Cuban band and dancers.

Puerto Rico is only a short walk away on the coastal path and lovely Puerto Mogan a short bus ride or taxi away. There are plenty of boat trips for whale and dolphin watching from Puerto Rico. We were thrilled to see so may dolphins!

All in all a lovely holiday in a lovely hotel. Lovely staff throughout the hotel. Would highly recommend.

Mr.& Mrs Holme
Preston.

Room Tip: Blocks 1 and 2 would probably have more of a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    310
    75
    19
    8
See reviews for
395
720
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel all round. Everything about it was great. Staff, facilities, entertainment and food all terrific. Will definitely be back. Would definitely recommend this hotel , with the all inclusive package, for everyone. Cannot wait until next year to head back for some winter sun. Pools spotless clean with loads of sun beds for everyone . Roll on next year

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Me and my partner travelled here for 1 week, all inclusive in september. the hotel is beautiful, room was lovely and the view was spectacular.
the food at the hotel is a lot better then i expected, the drinks on the all inclusive were lovely, i personally recommend the cocktails.
the entertainment was ok, but to be honest i havent been to a hotel yet and thought entertainment was great.
we didnt go to the other bars and stuck around the main pool in the day (advice you to get up early ad put your towels down or you wont get a bed) but we couldnt complain, the daytime entertainment was great.
i would definitely recommend this hotel, and i hope to be going back, the staff were lovely and they waited on you hand and foot, and remembered faces well. great place for couples.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A week in sunshine with great food and drink is a real boost as the days get shorter in October and the cold of the winter approaches. The Gloria Palace was a real treat in terms of relaxing big bedrooms, courteous service and entertainment which was there if you want but could be avoided if you didn't.,Certainly a hotel to go back to and enjoy again

Room Tip: Block 4 high up has great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willenhall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We went here for a week in October and whilst the weather wasn't brilliant, the hotel more than made up for it.

The highlights:
- great location, 45 minute transfer from airport, set in the cliffs of a man-made harbour with lovely views of the beach and the feeling of privacy by virtue of the elevated location, but not too far to walk down to the beach.
- staff were excellent; all of them. Friendly, helpful, attentive without being all over you; a real highlight of the holiday
- all rooms had a sea-view and we were lucky to be in block 2; only a 2 minute walk to all the action, but far enough to be quiet and not overlooking anything other than the bay - bliss
- rooms were clean, well equipped, air conditioned, TV (with UK channels), small kitchenette and a good bathroom.
- cleaning service was good - every day
- food was good, not great, but what you would expect for a four star. A decent variety and plenty of fresh fruit and salad. The grill was a little disappointing as there wasn't really an exciting variety; it tended to be the same most days - still, we enjoyed every meal. One night they had live music and candle light, which was lovely and it would have been nice if this was done more often.
- entertainment was okay, particularly as it was October. We thought it was quiet (main hall would empty shortly after 11) but there was still a decent variety of acts. There were 320 guests in the hotel (it takes jut over 500) but to be honest it never felt busy.
- pools were great, although the usual towel reservation problem around the infinity pool. To be honest, we always went to the roof pool and terrace, which has a good bar and lovely views of the bay.
- when it rained, we went into the spa which was lovely. Jacuzzis, steam room, sauna, hot/cold showers, lots of relaxing 'water jet' chairs in a small pool
- all inclusive drinks were fine, even the wine, so no complaints there and there were plenty of snacks available, which were decent quality, not just the obligatory ham and cheese toasties!

We will definitely go back again!!

Room Tip: Ask for block 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel was everything we could want for the price. It is nearly impossible to find anything negative to say. It is more of a family/couples place, where you can relax, suntan, and enjoy being pampered.

Weather: Sun, sun, and more sun. We went in October and there was plenty of sun and heat to feel like it was the middle of summer. There was a slightly cloudy and windy day, which made going into the pool later in the day feel a little chilly, but that was only one day.

Room: We were in block 2, which is great because you don't get the noise from the pool, but it is still close enough to reception, pool and beach lift. Good size room, clean, comfortable beds (although we would have preferred an actual double bed instead of two singles put together, but that didn't bother us much). The view was amazing, but depending on how you look at it there wasn't much sun on the balcony. This really wasn't an issue, because we were at the pool all day anyway. The bathroom was clean and had a separate shower and bathtub. A word of warning to light-sleepers, you could find the traffic noise below the balconies to be a problem at times, so try to get a room in block 1 (furthest from the pool and reception).

Staff: Absolutely one of the most friendliest hotels we've ever been to. The staff go out of their way to make you happy, but NOT in a constantly pestering manner. Services are prompt, professional and courteous.

Amenities: The main pool (infinity pool) had a spectacular view blending into the ocean. It is filled with purified ocean water, so it is very slightly salty. There was plenty of room to suntan and plenty of sunbeds around (although not all are around or near the pool). However, early morning towel syndrome is an issue with the sunbeds near the pool. There is a second pool on the level above the infinity pool that has more beds and I've never seen it get busy at all. There are also a few secluded places where you can tan more privately (the spa balcony for example). There is also an amazing spa pool indoors with a few bubble beds and waterfall showers. There is a mini-market store nearby, where you can buy water (not recommended to drink from the tap) and anything else you need. The beach is made with crushed shells, so the sand isn't very fine. The ocean water is clean, quite salty and without waves. The hotel does not have sunbeds on the beach, so you have to pay for those or bring a towel and lay on the sand. There are many many restaurants and small shops at the end of the beach, where you can have lunch or dinner.

Food: We recommend going half board, although you will have to pay extra (reasonable prices) for any alcohol you order. There was plenty of food variety for any taste. Good choice of seafood and steak (fish and steak prepared as you order on the grill) shrimp, calamari, and lots of other treats. The desserts make you regret that you have eaten all that other food before them, because they are so tasty.

Room Tip: Block 2 is the best compromise for a relatively quiet room close to pool, reception, bar and everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

we have just returned from our second visit to this hotel. the firist time i never wrote a reiew but i feel that this time i must. the standard of the cold buffet has improved but the hot main has not. a chef brought a fresh dish of scrambled eggs out, so i took advantage of this fact and helped myself to some, only to find out that it was already cold and rather runny. on a whole the food is good but there is to much that re-invents itself each day. NOW the bar. the staff do try very hard to serve you but the show bar was near empty and still i had to go up to the bar to order.i do not drink all that often so to have 4/5 drinks a one night .i spoke to other people and thay seem to be of the same mind, (try a spirit neat, not the same as at home) it is a shame as this is a good hotel, spotles great views and wonderfull staff but to go all inclusive and have to pay for a decent drink is rather a let down. so if you are thinking of going to this hotel do so as it is lovely but do say something to the bar staff if you agree with this review

Room Tip: block 4 high floor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Address: C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 meters from Playa de Amadores, on the Costa de Mogan, the Gloria Palace Hotel Royal & Spa is a four-star superior establishment built in 2008 with natural stone, privileged views over Amadores beach, spectacular never-ending pool, exclusive rooms and executive suites. Its dedicated service, luxurious surroundings and breathtaking views makes it the most prestigious hotel in the area. Our goal is to provide our customers with a place to enjoy a calm, relaxing, caring and personalized service from our team of professionals. The extensive facilities are designed and decorated with exquisite taste, to convey a feeling of exclusivity and luxury to enjoy the deserved vacations. A hotel for all, from romantic getaways to business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel And Spa
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel Puerto Rico
Dunas Amadores
Hotel Dunas Amadores
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.