We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel that deserves the excellent reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel that deserves the excellent reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from our holiday at the Gloria Palace Royal and had a fantastic holiday. We wanted a relaxing holiday with guaranteed sunshine, somewhere that was away from the main town but not isolated and that's what we got. The hotel was beautiful, the staff excellent and the facilities were great too.

The hotel is very impressive, set high on the cliff with stunning views. It's in a great location in its own bay away from tacky puerto rico town, but only a close taxi ride away should you wish to venture there (we went once and it was good for a laugh one night but with the hotel being so nice and the fact we wanted a relaxing break, we didn't go back). You can walk but we heard this was a 30 minute walk minimum, so being lazy opted for taxt instead (3/4 euros one way and taxi rank is at foot of hotel and there are always loads there waiting).

Our room, which was sea view, was very large and modern with a lovely bathroom with a huge shower. Much nicer than the usual 70's style you so often tend to get in Europe. Balcony was huge with fanatic view.

Food in the main restaurant was excellent- good choice of European foods including fresh fish, sea food and steak which they cook in front of you to your liking. Those wanting things like curry etc won't find it here though. You can go to the outside terrace a la carte restaurant which you have to pay for separately, and you get 25% off your bill for being a hotel resident. We planned to go but the food was so nice in main restaurant we saw no need. Men have to wear trousers of an evening which appears to be a bone of contention for some, but I think it's good they are trying to keep the place smart and keep standards high.

Yes the sun beds by infinity pool get taken quickly but it's so popular there people surely can't be surprised by this (pool is stunning, view is stunning- totally worth it). Either get up early and claim your seats or just go up a level to the terrace where the other pool is and there are plenty of beds there. It's quieter there away from the music and animacion activities but its still very nice and there's another cafe bar there too. Failing that go to level 6 to the naturist level if you dare......

The animacion activities are excellent each day- things like acqua gym, ping pong and pool each day, run by a great team of young people. Luke, Adam, Didier, Gino and Ana amongst others really did a fantastic job and made it a very fun atmosphere, getting everyone involved and it's a nice way to meet people.

The spa is good- you can use the sauna and steam room and the very hot pool there free. Treatments are quite pricey.

Entertainment in the hotel seems to be mostly aimed at the older generation, but it's still nice to enjoy a drink at the bar. On Amadores beach, there are also a couple of bars where you can go for a drink, as well as Beach Club Amadores- a very Ibiza type restaurant and bar on the front which serves champagne and excellent cocktails. Not the cheapest, but similar prices to the hotel (7 euros a cocktail). If you are facing the beach from the hotel it's on the right, jutting out into the water and looks like a hut.

This was one of the best hotels we have been to in Europe and we would definitely go back for a relaxing break in the sun.

Room Tip: Rooms in block 2 were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    325
    76
    20
    9
See reviews for
426
761
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Widnes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife and I chose this hotel to go to for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed in any way, shape or form. From the moment we walked into the reception we were made to feel very welcome by the staff. The hotel is beautiful and in a fantastic location. Our room, as with all the rooms, had a great view of the Amadores beach. The hotel is immaculately clean and the rooms are really comfortable. We went all inclusive and we would recommend doing this, especially as all the cocktails are included! There is a big choice when it comes to the food and it is all beautiful. I put on 9lb, in the week that we stayed, as I could not decide what to choose from the vast amount of food on offer, so I had one of everything! The infinity pool has a lovely view out onto the ocean. The hotel is well placed to travel to various locations. Puerto Rico is just a short walk away. We would highly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a relaxing time in luxurious surroundings. We are already looking at going back! Everything about this hotel is fantastic, especially the friendly, helpful staff. The staff could not do enough to help us and we were always greeted with friendly smiles and a warm welcome.

Room Tip: Every room has a fantastic view so it doesn't matter which one you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
killarney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We absolutely loved our travel to Puerto Rico in 2010 hotel was lovely, food delicious view from room breathtaking hotel very luxury I would say the best hotel in Puerto Rico room was very clean and food lovely we definitely recommend the hotel for your stay because we will definietly be back ;)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for 1 week in October - Checked in at midnight to a lovely gentleman who was friendly and helpful. As we had missed dinner they had cold food in the restaurant to eat with water. DSaved us having to find food so late at night.

The rooms were spacious and modern. oly complaint is that the pillows are not the best.

Food was good although a little repetitive. We stall AI and found dinner could be a little over crowded with queues forming for food and other guests abrging by to get their meals. The had a romantic night on the Wednesday which included a sax player. the drinks were good with plenty of AI options. on the last day we had a late we paid extra to remain AI until 6pm - I think this was overpriced and in hindsight would not have gone for this option.

We manage to get loungers each day at hte infinity pool. guests do put their towels on the beds from early doors but we still managed to get loungers no problem. Could have been as it is out of season.

Entertainment - not the best although you can see the performers try hard. My boyfriend and I did leave during some of hte performances but it is geared more to families or older couples. There is an activity centre in block 2 which has ping pong darts and rifle shooting and hte amimation team aldo did aqua gym and aqua bingo in the infinity pool each day

We visited Mogan and Puerto Rico - Have to admit was not impressed with either town. we got hte boat from Mogan to Puerto Rico which was nice. Also visited Amadorres beach which is nice with restaurants and shops. a Nice chance fro mthe hotel. It is a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

The spa is great and the gym is ok. We used both quite a lot on holiday. We didnt get any treatments though as I felt they were overpriced even for a five star hotel.

We organsied speedy shuttle to and from the hotel which was great. Journey time no more than 45 minutes.

The spar at the bottom of the hotel is well priced and well stocked with everything you could need.

Staff at the hotel were friendly pleasant and top class. service in the showhall at night could be a little slow but staff worked hard and always had a smiles on their faces.

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing week away in the sun.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had a very good break here Went T Cook on an all inclusive which holidays of this kind can can be sometimes be hit or miss in my experience . No problems here though Rooms spotless... Fabric of Hotel excellent.. Location very good. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Would recommend

Room Tip: All Sea view if the rooms immediately behind main blaock can be avoided as i thgink they may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

24th September 2012.

My husband and I, decided on the Gloria Palace Royal this year to compare the differences with the Gloria Palace (Its sister hotel) where we stayed last year. Both Hotels are set on maintaining high standards to ensure that everyones stay is a comfortable and great experience. The rooms in the Royal are a little more up to date than its sister hotel, but apart from this small difference, I am struggling to say which hotel I enjoyed the most. Both have fantastic staff, great food with lots of choice and are attentive to every whim. I will say though, we decided to upgrade to an executive suite for the last two days of our holiday and it was worth every penny. These rooms are on the top floor above the reception area, close to everything and are beautiful. The double length balcony has a jacuzzi, together with comfortable sun beds and a seating area, all overlooking Amadores Beach. You will struggle to find a sun bed at the Royal, unless you are up at the crack of dawn and take your towels to the sun beds for 7.30am. We didn't experience this problem at its sister hotel. One of the advantages of the Royal is that the spa is a walk in spa inclusive in the price. Its sister hotel has a fantastic spa but there is a charge. I would like to say a big thank you to the staff on reception especially VICTOR LOPEZ, who went totally above and beyond his call for duty by giving us a CD with Latin American music. Any hotel who employs Victor will benefit from his professionalism. If you choose this hotel or its sister hotel, I am sure that unless you are a really fussy person, you will struggle to find fault. I will say - make sure you go all inclusive, it is really worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearer reception as you may have a long walk. Our first room was in block A 5th floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay on the 9th Oct 2012 from the Gloria Palace Royal which was absolutely fabulous. We had the luxury of staying in one of the exclusive suites which is situated in the main block and has its own lift to these suites. On arrival to the hotel we were greeted by very friendly, helpful staff and a nice glass of champagne. We were then shown to our suite which had a large living room, two huge double bedrooms with there own large bathrooms, a hot tub on the balcony and amazing views over the infinity pool and the amadores beach.
The food was great and a wide range of drinks/cocktails to choose from, and all the staff are very very helpful The animation team were great headed by the flying dutchman.
We used the spa and the indoor and outdoor gym which are all free of charge everyday, and also treated ourselves to a relaxing massage in the hotels spa
This is our second visit to this hotel (we went july 2011) after previously visiting the sister hotel The Gloria Palace which is within walking distance on many occassions. We will be returning again next year.

Room Tip: suite lovely views plus jacuzzi on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Address: C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 meters from Playa de Amadores, on the Costa de Mogan, the Gloria Palace Hotel Royal & Spa is a four-star superior establishment built in 2008 with natural stone, privileged views over Amadores beach, spectacular never-ending pool, exclusive rooms and executive suites. Its dedicated service, luxurious surroundings and breathtaking views makes it the most prestigious hotel in the area. Our goal is to provide our customers with a place to enjoy a calm, relaxing, caring and personalized service from our team of professionals. The extensive facilities are designed and decorated with exquisite taste, to convey a feeling of exclusivity and luxury to enjoy the deserved vacations. A hotel for all, from romantic getaways to business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel And Spa
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel Puerto Rico
Dunas Amadores
Hotel Dunas Amadores
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.