We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Clean Hotel with Perfect Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Clean Hotel with Perfect Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Hotel setting is amazing. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and very clean and the balcony is also of a good size with comfortable furniture. We went all inclusive and the choice of food is vast and all very well cooked and tasty. Plenty of fresh fruit, salad and fish as well as more hearty choices.The inclusive drinks cover almost every type of beverage including cocktails.

Staff are all very welcoming and some very humerous! There are two choices of pool/sun lounger area and we chose the upper floor which was never very busy and there was always space with large gaps between beds so you didn't feel crowded.

The views are of the beach which are stunning and only a few minutes walk. The walk into Puerto Rico is along a coastal path and only about 20 minutes to the marina then another 10 minutes into the town.

All in all a great hotel in an ideal location. Ideal if you are looking for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The 3rd & 4th floors are preferable to the lower ones and blocks 3 & 4 are better (closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    325
    76
    20
    9
See reviews for
426
761
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Most of what is good about this hotel is already well documented in the other reviews. The hotel facilities, food and staff are excellent. We will go back again.

However, I will point out some minor irritations/experiences and things that might help you enjoy your holiday:

1 - get a private car transfer from the airport to the hotel (we used Smilo Destination Management) - its quicker (35 minutes), you'll be met in arrivals by your driver, and not that much more expensive (I think we paid 80 euro for the return trip in an aircon E Class Mercedes)
2 - the all inclusive deal is good if you're a boozer, maybe less so if you're not. I saw a number of couples with young kids (aged 5 and below) in the bar areas until midnight. Those that weren't running around, were in their parents arms being carried around. I appreciate that parents of young children also want to enjoy their holiday, but mature guests/couples without kids also want do to that. My view is that if someone can afford the all inclusive booze, they can afford the hotels babysitting service.
3 - We stayed in Block 1. Of the seven nights we were there, we were woken in the early hours (between midnight and 2am) on three occassions by people returning to their rooms, mostly merry, loud, and slamming doors with little regard for other guests. We were also woken (again!) on two of those 3 nights by people with young kids returning to their rooms, kids crying, parents (less merry) shouting at them to shut up. The noise carries in this hotel - it is built into a cliff-face.
4. Block 4 is nearest the Mirador hotel (across the road from the Gloria Palace Royal). The Mirador has a reputation for excessive noise (loud music). It was very loud but we were in block 1 away from it (we could still hear the music at night albeit faintly).
5. There is a decent Spar supermarket across the road from the hotel - it has all the English newspapers.
6. We walked into Puerto Rico one evening - it took 15 minutes mostly uphill. We stayed for about 10 minutes and were constantly solicited by people trying to get us into their restaurants. These "sales" people were mostly English and mostly pushy. Very annoying.
7. I saw a lot of red people! This part of the world is near the equator - high temperatures but very high UV exposure. I would recommend that you use sun factor 30 or 50 for the first few days of your holiday.
8. The gym is excellent - and has a decent selection of free weights. All of the form weight machines are Technogym, and one wall of the gym is fully mirrored. It is properly airconned. Only gripe was towels were not always available and it shuts early at 7pm.
9. The Kids facilities are excellent and there are full time staff available to entertain. There is a covered "den" for kids beside the main pool with art classes and the like for the little ones.
10. Free-wifi is available in the hotels reception and lounge area. It is on the 6th/top floor and is a lovely space with stunning views of the Amadores Beach below. There are nice sofa's to relax on whilst you have your daily fix of your I-pad or I-phone. Early morning and mid afternoon seemed to be popular times for guests to do this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

After numerous trips abroad over the years and very good intentions to write a review when I came back, I felt strongly compelled to write a review for this hotel.

My husband I and I booked this hotel for our summer vacation back in January of this year and were very excited by the excellant reviews it had been given. My parents also decided to make the trip with us and and I have to be honest with both of them in their seventys I was slightly concerned that the hotel might not be suitable for them. I need not have worried at all. There would be something for everyone here. From Couples, Singles, Families and business trips the hotel had an abundance to offer. From the Gym, Spa, Kiddies Club, Evening Entertainment etc the hotel even had a beauticians and hairdressers for those who required the facility. Most people would have been hard pushed not to find something to suit them here. The Hotel staff were exceptionally helpful, Hotel reception, Bar Staff, Waiter Staff in the dining room etc went out of their way to provide what we asked for.

On booking my husband and I requested a high floor. All rooms had a superb view of the beach and bay. With easy accessable lifts and staircases. My parents had a room two floors down with equally a nice view.

The beach was a short walk away with a slightly steep incline back up to the hotel. Possibly not suitable for people with walking difficulties.

Both pools were exceptional with a clear sided pool on the top floor and kiddies pool at each.

Very wide variety of foods for breakfast and tea something to suit everyones taste and for those Seafood lovers a wide variety on offer. Our family were very fortunate to have a window view seat for breakfast and dinner and for those scenery lovers this was indeed a stunning view.

So if your planning your holiday here, I can strongly recommend that this has been one of the best hotels we have stayed in over 20 years of travelling.

Myself and my family would certainly be giving it top marks in all aspects.

Happy Holidays.

Room Tip: We had a room in block 2 floor 4, Room number 2401. Superb view but then all rooms seemed to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coulsdon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I think it has all been said before, so just to confim this is a quite brilliant Hotel, and really quite difficult to find fault with anything. Facilities, accommodation, food all excellent; but what really makes this hotel stand out from the crowd is the quality of the staff. They really work exceptionally hard to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, and it with this that in mind I put this down as one of my best ever holiday hotels. Would love to return, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Block 2 in my opinion was in a good quiet position, with easy access to block 3 where the main resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel is very clean,all the staff are very helpful.All balconies are sea view overlooking the bay of amadores.there are plenty of sunbeds,but you have to be up early to get one near the edge of the infinity pool.entertainment ok,some reviews say it is 15 minutes walk to Puerto Rico more like 30 minutes,a taxi is only 3 euros.The rooms are very spacious.Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is faultless.
the view from your balcony is AMAZING all hotel rooms guaranteed sea views, the food is excellent with different dishes every night, waiters are always helpful and cheerful. With 1 sea view pool that is beautiful and allows you to see right over the edge of the mountain, 1 small baby pool and a sun terrace with it's own pool and baby pool, nudist area, two pool bars, free whirl pool, sauna and gym (spa treatments are extra) what more could you ask for!?
The only problem with this hotel is the fact it's on the top of the hill, and the walk down to the beach is fine, walking up the steep hill however can be difficult so a glass lift is provided.
And as for nightlife you'll need to get a taxi into town itself or it is a 20-25mins walk which is beautiful but it can be quite tiring the nightlife is quite around these areas though but the hotel entertainment was great with various shows every night.
Our room was amazing down to the little details such as the shoe polish, wash mitt, a robe for each of you and an extra pillow if needed. Our room was cleaned every day and was spotless, sheets are changed every two days and even a little kitchenette is provided and a kettle
Me and my mother will be visiting again next year!

Room Tip: All have sea views so no need to worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just arrived back from 2 weeks at this hotel and have to say there is nothing at all wrong with this hotel, the staff are lovely (ALL OF THEM) including the reception staff, they work sooo hard and always try and make you laugh, the rooms are very spacious and clean the whole hotel and resort is spotless never bin to somewhere so clean.We asked to change out room because we was beside the pool side and people woke us up at 6-7 moving their sunbeds and the reception staff could'nt of been nicer and moved us next day to a room with a better view. I must admit you can hear people walking above so the top floor rooms would be the best. The food is very nice however not a lot of choice for such a big hotel and it can be quite repetitive. The entertainment is on the whole really good especially the hotel team they are great and the staff in the entertainment room cannot try any harder people who say they take ages to serve need to walk to the bar is 2 strides to your right and they serve you straight away and we always got served bearing in mind their is only 2 people with machines to take your orders they try their hardest. The pool is gorgeous and not too cold, the spa is even better we went the most afternoons to relax after sunbathing. The beach is a very busy one but very nice apart from the sea is freezing but i did manage to go in once.We went on a few trips the one to morgan on the boat is a must especially when the market is on a Friday you get some great stuff, we also went on the jeep safari which is OK but they said it included going for a swim in a lake which when we got they was just mud and dirty water which was a shame because it was 40 degrees that day and everyone needed to cool off and finally we went to the water park which is good but a total rip off it cost 25 euros for 2 burgers and chips and you have to pay for lockers and beds and umbrellas. We went to puerto Rico but i can honestly say its not my cup of tea. Its defiantly true that this is by far the best hotel and location although the sister hotel looks nice the only bad thing is it is the last drop and first pick up making it a 2 hour transfer which wasn't the best after a 6 hour delay. Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed our stay here and think its a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: top floor has less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa

Address: C/ Tamara, 1 | Playa de Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 meters from Playa de Amadores, on the Costa de Mogan, the Gloria Palace Hotel Royal & Spa is a four-star superior establishment built in 2008 with natural stone, privileged views over Amadores beach, spectacular never-ending pool, exclusive rooms and executive suites. Its dedicated service, luxurious surroundings and breathtaking views makes it the most prestigious hotel in the area. Our goal is to provide our customers with a place to enjoy a calm, relaxing, caring and personalized service from our team of professionals. The extensive facilities are designed and decorated with exquisite taste, to convey a feeling of exclusivity and luxury to enjoy the deserved vacations. A hotel for all, from romantic getaways to business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel And Spa
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel Puerto Rico
Dunas Amadores
Hotel Dunas Amadores
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.