We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cumana Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cumana Apartments to your Saves list
Cumana Apartments
2.0 of 5 Villa   |   Av Las Palmeras s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Cumana Apartments. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They couldn't do enough for us. The apartment was spacious and clean with very comfortable beds. It was cleaned twice in the week with fresh towels left out. The pool was cleaned daily and the bar at the pool served reasonable food. Location is perfect only ten minutes from beach and 5 minutes from the shops and restaurants. It felt very safe and the other residents were friendly and respectful..no late night noise from neighbours. Overall great value and a great place to stay!!! Thanks Antonio for all your help especially on arrival and departure.

Room Tip: If you are not up to climbing steps look for ground level or first level apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    28
    9
    34
See reviews for
21
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

These apartments are very basic and not suitable for the infirm or very unfit, Lots of steps and no lifts. However the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, The pool was always clean and although the kitchen could have been better equipped,(only 2 rings) we managed quite well with one pot cooking and a frying pan. It is a budget location and it shows; Pool bar could have been cleaner and had a bit more going on but overall we had a great time and the steps have probably stopped us putting on half a stone. In my opinion it was good value for money but we did only pay £750 for 14 days for 2 people.

Room Tip: Lower levels for less step but higher for less noise. All apartments get morning sun on Balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have stayed here twice among other apartments and the staff are very pleasant and reception very accommodating and polite. It is basic but what do you really want at these great prices? Be realistic and you will not be disappointed! If you want 4* luxury then pay for it! We had no problems with noise or robberies etc. yes, there are better places to stay, sure, but be prepared to pay extra. At the end of the day we were there to experience the resort and enjoy it not spend all our time in an apartment. If you want basic, clean and friendly, somewhere to sleep, shower get ready and go then they are perfectly fine!

Room Tip: Two beds are on the lower levels so minimal steps. If you don't want the telly don't take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I would advise nobody to stay in the cumana as the first night we were there two off the apartments got robbed and we think it was the receptionist. The staff were very unhelpful and would not give a report on what had been taken. The Spanish in the place were very aggressive and constantly watched every move we took. We were the only non-Spanish people there as its were the live, the receptionist also tried to rip us off at any opportunity. You don't feel safe and are constantly been watched its a kip. The steps are a nightmare to walk up and down. Please don't waste your money, pay the bit extra for a better place or you'll regret it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Didn't listen to the reviews listed here when really we should have!! We arrived at the apartment block around 12 pm and had to leave it that same day, it was so bad. On first arrival myself and my friend were told to wait 30 mins for our apartment and the keys etc, went down 30 mins later to find reception was closed. Eventually found someone who worked there and obtained our keys. We were then told we'd get help with our bags up all the steps to apartment, and we were not given it. Just pointed in the direction of the flat. The apartment itself was DISGUSTING. Dirty seats, couch and the beds were despicable. No pillow cases, no towels. One roll of toilet roll. And too make it worse, electrical sockets hanging from their wires out of the wall. They were such a fire hazard. Didn't have much privacy either, couldn't open the window without someone peering in through it. Also, on the patio we found someone else's underwear. After all this we had enough, gathered our things and left for a better place to stay.
Only thing that we liked was the location. It was close to some local amenities. (Then again, we didn't stay there the night so I can't comment on noise levels etc.,)
But please, do not book this place it is not worth the hassle!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went away for short break end of June 2013 to unwind with friends. Apartment was cheap and basic. Halfway through our holiday our apartment had been robbed. Staff security and police were unhelpful and rude refusing to communicate in English, left with no choice and ended up paying for expensive translator. Dreadful experience in Gran Canaria, its given its 'tourist industry' a new reputation of 'ripping its tourists off'

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went there end june 2013, it was the first time for all of us on our own, we are all 17 or 18 wanted to unwind after college ended. 6 of us had 2 adjoining rooms, and one evening returned after a great afternoon to find our rooms had been trashed and robbed! Staff were unhelpful, police were not interested. Attitude of staff, racist comments made to us, and we were accused of trashing the rooms ourselves, and being drunk. This was a nightmare holiday, British Consulate waste of time, as call answered by Spanish speaker who hung up!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cumana Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumana Apartments

Address: Av Las Palmeras s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cumana Apartments 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Cumana Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumana Apartments Hotel Gran Canaria
Cumana Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumana Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.