We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcome to hell!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cumana Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cumana Apartments to your Saves list
Cumana Apartments
2.0 of 5 Villa   |   Av Las Palmeras s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“welcome to hell!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I would advise nobody to stay in the cumana as the first night we were there two off the apartments got robbed and we think it was the receptionist. The staff were very unhelpful and would not give a report on what had been taken. The Spanish in the place were very aggressive and constantly watched every move we took. We were the only non-Spanish people there as its were the live, the receptionist also tried to rip us off at any opportunity. You don't feel safe and are constantly been watched its a kip. The steps are a nightmare to walk up and down. Please don't waste your money, pay the bit extra for a better place or you'll regret it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    28
    6
    32
See reviews for
20
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Didn't listen to the reviews listed here when really we should have!! We arrived at the apartment block around 12 pm and had to leave it that same day, it was so bad. On first arrival myself and my friend were told to wait 30 mins for our apartment and the keys etc, went down 30 mins later to find reception was closed. Eventually found someone who worked there and obtained our keys. We were then told we'd get help with our bags up all the steps to apartment, and we were not given it. Just pointed in the direction of the flat. The apartment itself was DISGUSTING. Dirty seats, couch and the beds were despicable. No pillow cases, no towels. One roll of toilet roll. And too make it worse, electrical sockets hanging from their wires out of the wall. They were such a fire hazard. Didn't have much privacy either, couldn't open the window without someone peering in through it. Also, on the patio we found someone else's underwear. After all this we had enough, gathered our things and left for a better place to stay.
Only thing that we liked was the location. It was close to some local amenities. (Then again, we didn't stay there the night so I can't comment on noise levels etc.,)
But please, do not book this place it is not worth the hassle!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Went away for short break end of June 2013 to unwind with friends. Apartment was cheap and basic. Halfway through our holiday our apartment had been robbed. Staff security and police were unhelpful and rude refusing to communicate in English, left with no choice and ended up paying for expensive translator. Dreadful experience in Gran Canaria, its given its 'tourist industry' a new reputation of 'ripping its tourists off'

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Went there end june 2013, it was the first time for all of us on our own, we are all 17 or 18 wanted to unwind after college ended. 6 of us had 2 adjoining rooms, and one evening returned after a great afternoon to find our rooms had been trashed and robbed! Staff were unhelpful, police were not interested. Attitude of staff, racist comments made to us, and we were accused of trashing the rooms ourselves, and being drunk. This was a nightmare holiday, British Consulate waste of time, as call answered by Spanish speaker who hung up!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Myself and my husband have just got back from a weeks stay in Gran Canaria, we arrived at the cumana at 9.45am to find that the reception was all locked up and there was noone to be seen,says on the door...if noone here ring this number...we rang the number only for it to be the phone inside the reception !!, walked around the place trying to find someone but noone around, waited 50 minutes untill someone came and gave us key to our room,I would just like to say before i go on that me and my husband are by no means snobs and we do understand u get what u pay for,but this i did not expect...when we opened the door all we got was this terrible smell, very musty, walking around we found dead cockroaches everywere, stains on the walls,furniture and curtains,mold growing under the tv cabinet, then we sat down on the sofa only to have things jumping all over us ( not sure what they were,could have been mites) these things were everywere,in the furniture,in the sink,in the cuboards, the whole place was filthy,at this point i just sat and cried, i decided i was not going to stay here,we went on the internet and found another hotel, i went to reception to tell him we were going,but again the place was locked up and he was nowere to be seen,so i posted the keys with a note. we were in the place for all of 30 minutes.its a cheap place to stay and i didnt expect alot,but i didnt expect that,plz think twice before going here !!

Room Tip: No good rooms from what we seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My time at Cumana was brilliant, the staff was all very friendly and I had a electrician come to check all the electric was working properly. The downfall of my holiday was that we got charged for the tv which did not work. The guy at the reception said if we did not watch tv the give the key back, but he did not tell us this on our first day he told us on our last so we got charged 30 euro's for a tv we did not watch. The security guard wasn't the best of help either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Considering that this was the cheapest accommodation offered on booking.com it wasn't that bad at all. The apartments are simple, with no extras, not even hand soap so best to bring your own. However, they were spacious enough and clean enough. We went to Puerto Rico to enjoy the sun and therefore we hardly spent any time in the apartment. The only complaints were that you have to pay 1 euro a day for the tv (not worth it since the only English channel is skynews) and the pool was very busy.

If you're looking for something simple and cheap this will do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cumana Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumana Apartments

Address: Av Las Palmeras s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cumana Apartments 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cumana Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumana Apartments Hotel Gran Canaria
Cumana Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumana Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.