We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant despite the alterations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Altamadores

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Altamadores to your Saves list
Hotel Altamadores
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence 2014
notts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Brilliant despite the alterations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from yet another fantastic 2 weeks at this complex. I travelled with my husband, son & his partner, daughter & my grandson and my mum so we aged from 4 - 64. As always we were greeted by Manola the very friendly & helpful manager who nothing is too much trouble for. We had 3 rooms 414 - 416 and they were spotless and overlooked the pool area. This was our 4th visit in as many years but this year there was some upgrading to the hotel being made. The owners are making some fantastic changes to the hotel to be completed by late Oct. This hotel is open 52 weeks a year so they have to get it done whilst there are holiday makers there but at NO point whatsoever did this affect our holiday. The workmen are very friendly and try there very best to avoid any disruption to holiday makers . I saw people causing mayhem and trying to claim everything they could when really there was absoloutey no need. The food was as good as always, the staff very polite and friendly and Jamie the Animator was excellent, he was always smiling and was brilliant with children. There's poolside quizzes in the daytime along with other activities. Evening entertainment is the usual you get abroad ... Parrot shows, dancing & singing acts as well as some great tribute acts. The apartments are spotless & very roomy. People reading this please do NOT be put off going cos of negative reviews about the work being carried out because it really isn't such a big deal . Anybody who's been to this hotel will know that they are always put first

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie G, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Altamadores, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Many thanks guys for the positive review. It was a pleasure meeting you all and who knows, maybe next time Wayne will take the killer pool crown ha ha. Thanks again and hope to see you all again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    149
    60
    27
    10
See reviews for
190
191
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Arrived early hours of 8th June, welcomed by a great night watchmen, very helpful, noticed a sign in the lift saying pool upgrades happening from 8th June for "a matter of days" didn't think anything of it, two weeks later it still wasn't finished, food, staff, entertainment, rooms all very good, cleaning staff excellent, woke up Friday 20th morning to a building site, sports area closed due to refurb, cranes swinging over pool area, pool seating limited loungers stacked up so workmen can work, disappointed in apparent lack of hotel management relaying info to holiday rep, who claims to not know until 13th June but didn't pass onto guests. Glad we left when we did as it looked to be getting worse. Heads up if ur travelling there over the summer I don't think it will be improved as it is part of a massive refurb that should be finished for October, but this is Spanish timing so who know which October 2014 or 2015.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

As we arrive seen a sign stating some work was being carried out from 8th june for couple of days even tho we arrived on 14 th june ... started off with one section of pool area cordened off to 3 days later 3 quarters not in use with a 6 year old wanting to be in and out of kids pool and adult pools not very good as we were staying two weeks we transfered hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamarhotel, Director Comercial at Hotel Altamadores, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having stayed at our hotel and have shared your experiences with us. I regret so much the displeasure during your stay, but the reason for the works was to improve this hotel. However do not close the entire pool because there were areas where clients could bathe. We apologize for this inconvenience.

Commercial Manager Altamar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Another great ,chilled break in this very good hotel .Everything about the place is spot on. Food, staff and rooms are all perfect. Highly recommended for all ages. If you want a relaxing place to go this is it BUT there are activities on throughout the day to keep everyone amused. Food is great, rooms are spotless the whole hotel area is kept very clean and tidy. Views from the hotel are brilliant. Special mentions to great staff- our fellow Scottish mate Jamie, Evelyn, Neilo and Catherine and Adrianna.
Bar and entertainment do finish earlyish...but no real problem as it is along day for all staff. The main resort is only 5 minutes away in a taxi(4-5 euros).
We will be making a 5th journey here at some point.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Been here twice before absolutely brilliant place. Food fantastic why do people moan ? BBQ lovely, cold slaw to die for. Met some great people and never stopped laughing notably " GAY " Alan from Skegness ( nice bloke ) . Now for the entertainment , Jamie G what a great bloke nothing too much trouble gets everyone involved quizzes , darts, water polo, killer pool etc ( needs to brush up his pool skills though lol ) Bingo fantastic, just love it. Get involved you'll love it too. See you all soon

Dave Lorraine Sam Jamie Zoe Dean

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We come to the Altamadores every year without fail as we find it totally relaxing & we meet people that have come back time and again as well as new people who say they will come again, David & Claire have invited us to there wedding in September so looking forward to seeing them again, They have booked for 7 May 2015 next year but we booked for the 30 April 2015 for two weeks so that means there is a good chance I could actually win at killer pool in the first week before he gets there, My second option is to tie one hand behind his back, My third option is to put my glasses on so I can see the balls, the forth option is to have a game on my own before any body gets up in the morning. As other reviewers have said the staff and management are fantastic & they remember all the people that have been before. We have to book early as it is getting very popular so I had better stop saying how good it is. As a last note to all the friends that we have met over the years we are looking forward to seeing you all again in 2015 & don't forget I got the last round in so its your time in 2015.
Love to all Betty & Colin XXXX X

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

First time in Gran Canaria and we had a great 2 week holiday.
Good Points - Food - not a huge choice but great quality. BBQ to die for. Location - ideal for relaxing and great views. Rooms - spacious, well equipped and clean. Bar - self service excellent and not abused. Staff - always busy and helpful especially reception. Sunbeds - ample even with numerous sunbathing towels. Great value for money. Jamie G - great asset for the resort. Swap shop at Happy feet excellent idea. Chris Mooney and Wizard of Oz are both must see acts.

Bad Points - outside bar self service closes early. If Jamie G. not on then no background music and minimal entertainment. Hotel policy on towels on sunbeds not enforced. Atmosphere is just building at night when it is all stopped for bingo. Lots of hills but buses and taxis are cheap. People still eating when entertainment starts, late eaters should be seated in the far side of the eating area.
Due to legislation if all inclusive offered then resort must be 4 stars so how this will impact on the resort will have to be seen in the future - hopefully it will not seriously increase the prices.

Would we go back - No as we like to visit lots of places but we will definitely encourage people to go to the Altamadores

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Altamadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altamadores

Address: Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#8 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Altamadores 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Altamadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamadores Apartamentos Puerto Rico
Altamadores Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Altamadores Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Altamadores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.