We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was good but ......” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Altamadores Apartamentos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Altamadores Apartamentos to your Saves list
Altamadores Apartamentos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Was good but ......”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

As we arrive seen a sign stating some work was being carried out from 8th june for couple of days even tho we arrived on 14 th june ... started off with one section of pool area cordened off to 3 days later 3 quarters not in use with a 6 year old wanting to be in and out of kids pool and adult pools not very good as we were staying two weeks we transfered hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamarhotel, Director Comercial at Altamadores Apartamentos, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having stayed at our hotel and have shared your experiences with us. I regret so much the displeasure during your stay, but the reason for the works was to improve this hotel. However do not close the entire pool because there were areas where clients could bathe. We apologize for this inconvenience.

Commercial Manager Altamar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    146
    58
    26
    10
See reviews for
185
185
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Another great ,chilled break in this very good hotel .Everything about the place is spot on. Food, staff and rooms are all perfect. Highly recommended for all ages. If you want a relaxing place to go this is it BUT there are activities on throughout the day to keep everyone amused. Food is great, rooms are spotless the whole hotel area is kept very clean and tidy. Views from the hotel are brilliant. Special mentions to great staff- our fellow Scottish mate Jamie, Evelyn, Neilo and Catherine and Adrianna.
Bar and entertainment do finish earlyish...but no real problem as it is along day for all staff. The main resort is only 5 minutes away in a taxi(4-5 euros).
We will be making a 5th journey here at some point.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Been here twice before absolutely brilliant place. Food fantastic why do people moan ? BBQ lovely, cold slaw to die for. Met some great people and never stopped laughing notably " GAY " Alan from Skegness ( nice bloke ) . Now for the entertainment , Jamie G what a great bloke nothing too much trouble gets everyone involved quizzes , darts, water polo, killer pool etc ( needs to brush up his pool skills though lol ) Bingo fantastic, just love it. Get involved you'll love it too. See you all soon

Dave Lorraine Sam Jamie Zoe Dean

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We come to the Altamadores every year without fail as we find it totally relaxing & we meet people that have come back time and again as well as new people who say they will come again, David & Claire have invited us to there wedding in September so looking forward to seeing them again, They have booked for 7 May 2015 next year but we booked for the 30 April 2015 for two weeks so that means there is a good chance I could actually win at killer pool in the first week before he gets there, My second option is to tie one hand behind his back, My third option is to put my glasses on so I can see the balls, the forth option is to have a game on my own before any body gets up in the morning. As other reviewers have said the staff and management are fantastic & they remember all the people that have been before. We have to book early as it is getting very popular so I had better stop saying how good it is. As a last note to all the friends that we have met over the years we are looking forward to seeing you all again in 2015 & don't forget I got the last round in so its your time in 2015.
Love to all Betty & Colin XXXX X

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

First time in Gran Canaria and we had a great 2 week holiday.
Good Points - Food - not a huge choice but great quality. BBQ to die for. Location - ideal for relaxing and great views. Rooms - spacious, well equipped and clean. Bar - self service excellent and not abused. Staff - always busy and helpful especially reception. Sunbeds - ample even with numerous sunbathing towels. Great value for money. Jamie G - great asset for the resort. Swap shop at Happy feet excellent idea. Chris Mooney and Wizard of Oz are both must see acts.

Bad Points - outside bar self service closes early. If Jamie G. not on then no background music and minimal entertainment. Hotel policy on towels on sunbeds not enforced. Atmosphere is just building at night when it is all stopped for bingo. Lots of hills but buses and taxis are cheap. People still eating when entertainment starts, late eaters should be seated in the far side of the eating area.
Due to legislation if all inclusive offered then resort must be 4 stars so how this will impact on the resort will have to be seen in the future - hopefully it will not seriously increase the prices.

Would we go back - No as we like to visit lots of places but we will definitely encourage people to go to the Altamadores

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This was our third visit to Altamadores in recent years and it did not disappoint. The quality of the rooms, food & entertainment were to the usual excellent standards.

The hotel's biggest asset is its entertainer Jamie G. Nothing was too much trouble for him. Our two little ones Lily & Harry were thoroughly entertained & we are looking forward to coming back next year.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Thanks to the mother and father in law, we have just returned from our 2 week break away at the altamadores.
From the time we arrived we knew we were going to enjoy the holiday, when we entered the apartment it was clean and spacious including a fridge, freezer, microwave and other facilities for anything you may need, with a bottle of water left in the fridge for when you arrive. The beds were comfortable, although only 1 pillow was given per person, but as soon as you request another they have given one immediately. The rooms were cleaned most days with just a couple of days without and towels changed most days too. Do make sure you put down the towel meant for outside of the shower as it can be very slippy if not.
We were situated on the top floor which had a table and 4 chairs and looked out to the swimming pool and further you can see the beach which would be maybe a 20 minute walk.
If you like to view other parts of gran canaria then you can walk to Puerto Rico or even take a Taxi for 4 euros, we also took a ferry to Mogan (little Venice) which is about a 20 minute journey and has a market on a Friday.
The hotel has two swimming pools, one for the young children and another large pool which at first is cold but you soon get used to it, is refreshing when you have been laying in the sun. There are plenty of sun beds to be used with lots of parasols for when the heat gets too intense..
Outside the hotel, next door there is a shop which is not very big but holds most things you could possibly want. The other shops are about a ten minute walk from the hotel and it's quite a steep walk however it's quite pleasant. I'm sure a taxi is only a couple of euros for those unable to walk it.
The drinks were fab and you could serve yourself from a slush machine to beer on tap. There was always plenty plenty of food put out and different theme nights however can sometimes be a little repetitive although we are quite fussy eaters.
I would say the greatest gift the hotel offers is Jamie G who supplies your entertainment for the holiday, during the day Jamie G would organise water polo, killer pool, killer darts, and a quiz throughout the day, on the evening Jamie would try to get an atmosphere going with children's games, them some games for the adults to play before various shows were on. Afterwards most nights there was bingo to play and then some karaoke for those who love a good sing song.
Jamie is such a lovely bloke and is polite and cares about each and every guest no matter what age, he is only too happy to help with any issues people may have. He is a credit to the hotel.
We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would have no hesitation about returning, with all of us attending needing an excuse to relax I can honestly say this hotel catered for it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Altamadores Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamadores Apartamentos

Address: Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Altamadores Apartamentos 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Altamadores Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamadores Apartamentos Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Altamadores Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altamadores Apartamentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.