We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altamadores Apartamentos

Save Saved
You added Altamadores Apartamentos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Altamadores Apartamentos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 69 hotels in Puerto Rico
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here last year and decided to return. We arrived 27th July for 2 weeks. What an amazing time we had! Asked for our same rooms, we got the next 2 along. It felt like we had never left, met up with people from the previous year. All restaurant staff are fabulous. The maids keep the place extremely clean. Jamie G what can you say a good bloke, enjoyed all daytime activities, especially the poolside quiz. Yes we won it 10 days in a row. Nightime shows have improved enjoyed The Tramps they got us up dancing and our fabulous Chris Mooney( o hail chris) we told you , you will never forget us. Adriana, who does her show on a Saturday night is very good, she also has the happy feet fish spa. In there she has a swap box, which is excellent it you are running out. Food is good, plenty to choose from, enjoyed the BBQ night. Day out to Puerto Mogan for the market on a Friday well worth a visit. Amadores has a lovely beach, its a nice walk. Yes its up the hill, but taxis are easily booked via reception. Met some nice people as its a friendly place. Jez the rep is around if you need him. All in all had another fab time all 7 of us. Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    123
    53
    22
    9
See reviews for
153
158
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at Altamadores with my husband and two children aged 6 and 3. We had an amazing holiday in a fantastic location and can find little to fault about the place. The staff are very friendly and will go out of their way to help you and nothing is too much trouble. The apartments are spacious and clean with everything in them you could need and more.
The food was good and there was always plenty of choice both hot and cold even for those on a diet !!! BBQ night is fantastic and the theme nights bring a welcome change. The restaurant can get a little warm but you have the option of eating outside if you prefer.
Jamie G the entertainer is fantastic and tries to provide something for everyone. I really miss the poolside quiz and the rivalry it brings between holidaymakers !!! Killer pool , basket ball shots quizzes and karaoke fill your days and nights alongside shows ,singers and reptile visits to name but a few.Jamie is a wealth of knowledge and if you ask him anything he will know the answer. Our camera broke at the end of our first week so we asked him for advice on where to go to get a new one. We didn't want to get ripped off or buy fake goods so we valued his advice and got a great camera at a great price thanks to him.
The pool is plenty big enough for the amount of holidaymakers and the smaller pool is ideal for small children to play safely in. You need to be careful as sometimes the tiles around the pool get a little slippery.
To sum it up this is a place where strangers meet and leave as friends. It felt like a community by the end of the holiday and we will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Returned on Wednesday 14th August from our 4th visit to the Altamadores.

Rooms - 528 and 529 this year with stunning views. Only negatives we had were - towels had seen better days and were fraying and a sheet fell off the bed revealing an extremely worn mattress protector which wasn't nice to see. Small issues which would be easily resolved.

Food & restaurant - Breakfast and lunch again fantastic with a huge selection. A new cake stand has been added at breakfast with a selection of pastries, muffins, scones etc. which are all delicious. The evening meals weren’t to our taste which was disappointing but other guests were having 2nds so it all depends on what you like to eat. Reminder - to be able to enter the restaurant you must wear a top over your bikini and men cannot go in without a top either. The restaurant does feel more like a café and is extremely warm. The table cloths have seen better days, looking and feeling disgusting, yet again something easily upgraded which will make a big difference.

Pool area - lack of sunbeds was a big issue whilst we were there, with some mornings seeing all sunbeds gone by 7:30am. A new rule was introduced that sunbeds cannot be reserved until 9am. Hopefully this will resolve the issue but I personally think the only way to resolve it would be to purchase more sunbeds. Tiles around the pool are extremely slippery and many people stumbled on them so be careful. I think the apartments would also benefit from a kids club to give guests a bit of time to relax and parents a bit of time to themselves as the pool area got overcrowded and very noisy with all the kids.

Entertainment - this year there was yet again another entertainer, Jamie G who was the best by far. Afternoon activities included water polo, killer pool, fashion show, quizzes which we managed to win one afternoon after the family from Newcastle went home haha! ran 5 days out of 7 and evening entertainment was provided every night of the week. New shows we saw this year included the tramps (motown show which was fantastic) and the hypnotist (unbelievable how good this was) other shows included the parrot show, Chris Mooney (rock singer who is brilliant), acrobats. Bingo is still played after the evening show and some evenings there was a bit of time for karaoke. Big thanks to Jamie G for the encouragement to get up and sing on a few occasions, I had a ball!

Leaving on the plane the other day I was extremely sad as we had another fantastic holiday. I was given the best surprise ever when we arrived home, being told that we will be returning to the Altamadores in 4 weeks time to celebrate my 21st birthday. Let the countdown begin!

11 years sometimes 2-3 times per year we holiday in Gran Canaria and never get fed up. So I hope everyone who books the Altamadores has as good a holiday as we always have :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Arrived home Sunday am and cant wait to go back. Met up with friends from last year and added new friends this year.

No issues with food, always fresh, lots of choice. We were there 11 days think i put on a few pounds.

Help yourself bar - no issues everyone had a good time nobody falling over drunk - no bar issue it closes at 11 prompt - this is a family hotel not an 18-30s, if you want to drink into the night you have several options, go into town, but cheap booze at the shop and party back at your room (remembering you have neighbours) or stock up before 11 as we did most nights.

My other half also proposed to me while there watching the sunset on our 1st night there and were given a love bottle of bubbly that we shared with out friends - no didnt taste like vinager either (thanks Jamie)

Entertainment - 100% improved on last years. Jamie G what a star this guy is. The most genuine, happy hard working entertainer i have ever come across. Water polo for kids and adults not mixed like last year much safer for the kids, music quizes jamie G is the quiz genius - read a review saying entertainment in a cafe - no such thing - the resturant is also used for entertaining as most hotels I have visited and even if it was - why not. There is a choice of sitting inside or outside - we chose outside you can still see and hear everything including the Bingo which I won again this year - 77 euros 2nd night and 10 euros later in the week. Afternoon quiz by the pool brush up on your knowledge we drew with the Geordies once they were on a run for 10 in a row - miss you guys

The show where people from outside the hotel not bad, Wizard of Oz - on for the dads as Dorothy leave little to the imagination of whats under her dress (dont let this put you off the kids oblivious to it) the guy who plays the lion was brilliant, Chris Mooney fab, Adriarna beautiful voice but looked like she stole Dorothys ruby slippers (only joking Adriarna) she also works in Happy feet where there are tanks of fish to nibble your feet, she does an amazing pedicure and works bloomimg hard. Reptile show ok dont show you are scared as they will get you up, birds of prey show good. Always something on each night. We never moved from the hotel at night it was that good.

Rooms lovely the lower flors have bigger balcony with sunbed. The 1st year we have room 103 but this year we had 214 smaller balconey but just up the stairs by the resturant.

Sunbeds - hotel rules - dont put out your towels before 8am - I found by 7.45 you were safe to grab them but dont go and do it on you way to bed they will be removed dont doubt it. There are quite a few sun brollies if you have one attached a towel to that too as some poeple will borrow yours - If you out on a day trip dont bother to put your towels at as by the time you return there wil be plenty free.

Trips out - learned one thing this year dont pay 70 euros for a trip to Morgan and the market for a family of 4 - walk down towards Amadores beach and get the bus 2 adults single trip 3.10 euros thats for you both not each and the same back. Morgan has a market on a friday its very busy and warm but bargins one lady got a bag down from 20 euros to 3. Some wont budge but most will barter and pref to do it man on man.

Boat trips go down to the port ask about for best price you will get the odd man comeing up advertising them and calling on their phone saying limited places.

The sun care advisors OMG i know their speach off by heart - bit of advice its expensive it comes from America (think you are chaged the shipping the price of it) Aftersun go to holland and barrett buy their 99.9% aloe vera you cant go wrong its about £6.00.

Fashion show every few days offer free bracelet - you can buy these for a euro in Puerto Rico and even 90 cent in some places. They do have some nice stuff on offer though.

If you are wanting to buy anything while there ask Jamie G he lives there he knows everything there is to know and more.

The maids are the best I have ever known, came in most days made our beds did the floors, they are very trustworthy. The 1st time we never had a safe left my phone on charge, money on the side never touched it. The keep the place lovely and clean and very polite - like the resturant staff Jose, evelyn and I cant remember the other ladies name but always greated with a smile, clear your plate away quickly they work long hours and never look anything but happy.

The hotel is a steep walk to the beach but its lovely, Amadores beach is so clean and about 3euros back up to the hotel in a taxi.

We will be back next year thanks to all the staff, old friends, new friends and everyone there between 30/07/08 - 11/08/13 it was a holiday to remember went away with a boyfriend came home with a fiance

Room Tip: 214 close to the resturant, bar and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie G, Entertainments Manager at Altamadores Apartamentos, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for all of your kind reviews, it really has been quite overwhelming. I am delighted you all enjoyed your stay with us and I am very grateful for the experience. I have met so many amazing people from all walks of life and you guys are the ones who make my job a lot easier. I love entertaining, it's in my blood and look forward to catching up again one day soon. May I just take this opportunity to thank the staff (in all areas) who are the unsung heroes and work tirelessly in their departments. Congratulations to Vikki and Glen (a great couple) on their engagement and I must give a huge shout to the Quiz record breakers from Geordie land, that will take some beating.
Again a big thank you to everyone for their amazing feedback. What an opening season it has been..... All the very best. Jamie G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Returned from the Altamadores on Saturday 12/8: we ( group of 7 ) stayed here last year, its the first time we had ever chosen to return to a hotel: would it be as good as last year? or would be bitterly disappointed?
We asked to be in the same rooms as last year, which we were, the rooms were still well kept and spotlessly clean:
Food: great choice, BBQ now on twice a week, and the standard of the fresh cooked meat has improved: anyone who moans really needs to get a grip lol.
Entertainment, really has gone up a notch, some cracking acts all performed in the smallest of area's Jamie G ( your a star ) kept things rolling along and getting everyone involved but without been pushy.
Now I've awarded 5 stars and they are well deserved but I think a couple of things could be improved. the "canteen" feeling of the "restaurant" for one, a few pictures on the wall, table cloths instead of the plastic covers wouldn't break the bank, little touches.
So next year? more than likely.......after all we need to defend the Poolside Quiz record of 10 wins on the trot....Alan Poulter aka Alan Alan Alan.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

please don't let my review put you off too much, it is how "I" felt about the altamadores . and wished I had known before I went about the entertainment being in a café, as we love getting dressed up to go out for the evening entertainment, we could have just put a couple of pairs of shorts in out cases and that would have been ok .. ...good first...very clean....great fans in rooms, no need for air con...big rooms...self service bar fantastic, no queues, plastic cups but we took our own flask beakers. keeps your drink cool...the beach at the bottom is fantastic,... the "ok" bit next...the hotel is on a very steep hill, ok going down, taxi back, food ok not much variety, didn't go hungry though, chips and salad, and cakes.. first night was a disaster, as by the time we got to the altamadores it was nearly time for the food to end, so nothing left but scraps, we did have a word or "two" with the rep, we did want to move, but was informed that it would cost us more, and the holiday was not that cheap to start off with, so that was not an option. he asked us to give it another try tomorrow, it did improve, well it had to because it couldn't have got worse, on retiring at night, our room key would not work. we went to sort it out but couldn't find the gent on the reception for half a hour. (24 hour reception) .now my gripe....the entertainment, which is not too bad, is where you eat. which is like a transport café, no need to get dressed up, as above, not very comfortable plastic chairs, sticky table clothes. then whilst food still out, and were you eat, the entertainment starts. snakes birds etc. not very hygienic. very loud disco music whilst you are eating, glad we only booked for a week, but on saying all this, we had a great holiday, as we make it our own, we met some lovely people, and made some wonderful new friends, it is an ok place to go, as long as you are prepared for it.

Room Tip: all very good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

my review would be similar to andrew s.this was our 5th holiday in a row at the altamadores and it keeps getting better.look forward to going back next year to meet up with old friends and meeting new ones.like to thank andy s and libby for their great company this year, especially andy for keeping me company while sunbathing to 7 pm ish lol.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Altamadores Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamadores Apartamentos

Address: Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Altamadores Apartamentos 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Altamadores Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamadores Apartamentos Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Altamadores Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altamadores Apartamentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.