We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time here...fantastic week away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Altamadores Apartamentos

Save Saved
You added Altamadores Apartamentos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Altamadores Apartamentos
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 69 hotels in Puerto Rico
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“1st time here...fantastic week away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

me and Lou had a brill holiday from the beginning to end with lots of laughs, we met lot of lovely friends, some who are still there too enjoying themselves....our only downfall was the hills...ok to walk down but definately need a taxi back..well i did anyway..lol.

Food was really good and had great choices despite how many people moan about it...we are just not picky eaters like others which is a bonus.

Rooms were very big and clean with huge balcony's...our room was too warm and we was stuggling to sleep so we ask to be moved to a higher floor which they did straight away...also very big room but with a bit smaller balcony..not a problem really cause we wasnt on the balcony much anyway.

Drinks was brill...serve yourself all day and all night till 11pm...no problems there..also slushes on tap and ice cream.

Now then the entertainer Jamie who i thought had been there for ages was fantastic and kept us all entertained in the evening with him excellent quizes...to find out he had only been there for 2 weeks...UNREAL the confidence he has but i will beat you next time at killer pool..lol.

You will not be dissapointed if you stay here...weather is lovely/food and drinks...only the hills are our downfall xx

Room Tip: go for the highest floors...a lot cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    124
    53
    22
    9
See reviews for
154
158
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunbar, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Everything about these apartments is excellent. We had a nice apartment which was located on the level of the pool, bar and restaurant. It was a one bedroom apartment and the bedroom and a second bathroom was upstairs .... it was a nice location. The food is excellent and staff are lovely and helpful. Jamie G was very entertaining as was most of the entertainment. My husband volunteered me for the reptile night although he was disappointed there was no terantula! The week we stayed there there was a great crowd of people most of whom were very friendly and I think it makes the holiday. Much madness! Lots of different nationalities from Scotland, England, Sweden (and Canada! ... you know who you are), Poland and Finland - quite a mixture but as I said most were friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel . we actually found it harder walking down to the beach than walking back up - weird! Amadores is a very lovely beach though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Well what can we say,This was a truely amazing holiday :) If you are considering booking a holiday in Gran Canaria just book this place, and don't even consider any where else.
Me and my friend arrived on 19th april, and departed on 28th april. Honestly i cannot praise Altamadores Apartments enough.
Firstly the food, is absolutely fantastic, beautiful fresh salads, fish , meats . 10/10 (and i am a fussy eater) Everyone we spoke to commented how good the food was.
Secondly, The self service bar is FANTASTIC! No queues whatsoever (Bar opens at 11am till 11pm) Also has slush puppies are all inclusive.Estrella beer is super! really good taste to it :))
Thirdly the apartments, Absolutely spotless, large apartments, with a beautiful sea view, and nice size balcony.
The cleaning of the whole site is really good, Everything was spotless.
Lastly , Jamie G, does FANTASTIC entertainment. Me and my friend loved it, it catered for all tastes. The disco Karaoke., at the end of the night is really good fun :) we made so many friends we made on this holiday, Met really nice people from Eastern Europe , Scotland, England, and Scandinavia. :))
Its an amazing place, wonderful party atmosphere, great weather :) Just book it up, you sure won't regret it. Me and my friend are talking about going sometime just before Christmas.

Room Tip: All rooms are great :) no worries, all seem to have nice sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Have just returned home from these Apartments and loved the week we spent there.
This is our second time at the Altamadores so knew we would be happy with them and knew what to expect.

Cleaning services as well as restuarant and bar services are all excellent and cannot fault them in anyway, food i have to say was better than your average A/I and even the wine was enjoyable which i find difficult to find on this boarding basis.
There are themed nights every week eg: italian, barbeque and chinese and always happy with what was available every day, sometimes it did need heating up for a minute in the microwave, but i was happy with this.

The only tiny smidgen of concern was with the bathroom which the shower tiles can do with a bit of bleaching, but no biggy..The apartments are lovely and spacious, there is a hairdryer in the bathroom as well as leaving you a new cloth,scrubber and washing up liquid, they also put a bottle of water in the fridge so no rushing about on your first day for this. There is no air con but there is fans although you can hire the air con for a cost, there are two stories to these apartments we have both times stayed at the top, this is good for being able to keep your windows and doors open if it gets too hot as there is no way anyone would be able to climb onto the balcony not even from next door.

We and another couple and their son were the only scots there, most where Scandinavians and all very quiet and sedate, however their season is coming to an end so will mostly now be ready for the Scots, English, Irish and Welsh, although i think we managed to liven it up a wee bit with our banter!!

There was definetly no concern with early morning sun lounger raid, there was no scrambling for to put towels down which was such a relief, people were only putting the towels down when they were ready to sunbathe and there was plenty of beds to go round.

There is a self service for the local spirits, beers and wine at the bar, but i remember the last time we were there they removed the self service as alot of people were filling up cups of straight spirits and taking them to their rooms. Going to your apartments with a couple of drinks at the end of the night is acceptable but they will stop it if the pleasure of doing so is getting abused.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will possibly be booking back up for October again.Hope you enjoy your stay if decide the reviews are good enough to do so..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Its a while since we travelled to Altamadores but i've only just thought about writing a review as our next holiday is coming up.

We're a family of 4 with the kids being a 14 year old girl and a 8 year old boy when we travelled. On arrival it was my daughters birthday and in reception they surprised her with a cake, what a great start to the holiday.

The hotel could do with a bit of TLC like to toilets next to the pool but it's not too shabby, they did seem to be working on it while we were there and for the money you can't go too wrong. The room was large, clean and although we had no air con it didnt feel too hot with it being shaded inside. The food was like most all inclusives and a little repetitive after a week but with a chinese night then a bbq night we always found plenty to eat. The bar is self service which is great and the staff just kept the bottles from being empty.

The staff and other holiday makers made this holiday fantastic. We found that every night the atmosphere was such we ended up chatting to others having a great time.

All in all would we go back.... i would only say no because the world is a big place but it definatley rates highly for a great cheap holiday in the sun but you never know we could (and have) do a lot worse for the money you spend here.

The water park on the island is well with a visit with some amazing slides and its a great daay out but we ended up having to get a taxi back (€28) as the last bus at 4 oclockish was full and didnt bother to stop, just be aware this could happen so have some spare cash.

FORGOT TO ADD - this hotel is on a HUGE hill. You can walk down to the beach (which is man-made and very clean) but walking up it would kill any but the fitest. When we went a taxi back up was only 2 euros so not the end of the world.

Room Tip: Remember to take money for a taxi back when you leave the hotel..... it's a BIG hill!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at the Alamadores last August and loved it. Bar Staff kept the bar clean and tidy while you were able to help yourself to the drinks. The bar closes at 11pm but to be honest we stocked up before hand. The food was fine - something for everyone.

There was a place where you can swap sun creams for higher or lower factor, borrow books, and also offered beautiy treatments.

Entertainment - Well Jamie you either love him or hate him,reminded me of the guy in the prog Benidore with the tan and slicked back hair - Bingo mid afternoon and in the evening yes i would nearly 200 euros.

Rooms bigger than I expected and cleaners everyday but the rooms were a little warm and we had the couple next door who thought it was ok for afternoon romps and made as much noise as possible but after a word with reception it soon stopped.

We made many friends on this trip many were british but popular with the swedish too who were lovely. We have just booked to go back August I cant wait

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed here for a week over the Easter holidays.On arrival we were very happy when we located our room,which was situated 1 floor up central ,and over looking the pool,even better when we opened the fridge and found 2 glasses and a bottle of carva.[We asked for a nice room as we were celebrating an anniversary but didnt expect them to give us this request ] the rooms are all spacious with good quality furnishings and well equipped for self catering,all though we were Al inc.Memory foam toppers were on top of beds which made them very comfortable.The rooms and complete hotel were kept spotless by everyone including the staff working in the dining area.all the staff from, maintenance to the supermarket, reception etc were polite cortious and friendly.The food was varied and of good quality but not always hot enough but you could use a microwave to heat up,i only used it in the mornings to heat the baked beans!.Nice beer and sangria and local spirits, wine, all at help yourself great idea. The walk down to the beautiful Amadores beach is a leisurely 15 mins,once down carry on to Puerto rico using the coastal pedestrian way which is only an other 15mins and a lovely walk before the sun gets up high.We walked both ways were in our mid 50s and it was no problem.the hardest part is the last 30 miters to the hotel but its really not bad at all.the Europa center is an other nice walk and reminded us of Turkey as lots of little eateries and all touting for your business,but dont worry theyre not intimidating and smile and say ok! In our opinion we picked the best hotel for location and appearance and our budget .The only other hotels which looked superior we the Rui and Gloria palace and probably way out of our price range.We would recommend this hotel as good quality family hotel with not many faults and would stay again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same inside we stayed in room 416 which was nearly central to pool,dining are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Altamadores Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamadores Apartamentos

Address: Calle San Borondon 6 | Playa de los Amadores, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#10 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Altamadores Apartamentos 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Altamadores Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamadores Apartamentos Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Altamadores Apartamentos Hotel Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altamadores Apartamentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.