We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view shame about the "con"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palmera Mar

Save Saved
You added Palmera Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palmera Mar
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Montana Clara 5, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 69 hotels in Puerto Rico
Aboyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice view shame about the "con"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just back from break there on the 27th April 2013 - For the record we have stayed here for the past 4 years straight primarily for the view and location yet despite paying for the most expensive sea view option on Lowcostholidays.com who we have always used and despite always being put in foors 4 or 5 this time we were put on the 2nd foor..not a lot in it you may say however these rooms come with pay tv and noise associated with the pool and not so nice views and no LCD TV with dvd - on protest we stated that we had paid the top rate for what we had always received yet were given the option to"upgrade" to the 6th Floor for the discounted rate of 10Euros a day instead of the usual 30 apparently...this we reluctently paid as we had brought over some Dvd's and music to play (sad I know but just a nice change from always going out and catch-up time) and despite protestation and as requested they would not budge...2 rooms later we just accepted the fact that the only difference was 2 sunbeds and a parasol and an open plan...still no working kitchen or bathroom wall lights and broken shower window opener - that and the fact that the place was at best a third full! Hence my strongest advice would be book the cheapest option you can before travelling (If you really must stay here that is) then at least when you see what accomodation they allocate you at least the cost they demand for an upgrade will not be a surprise - Our 10 days cost £427 plus the 100 Euros on top...do the maths first as there are several hotels nearby with just as good views but without the surcharges! As a footnote these Apartments are sore lacking some even basic maintenance, the cutlery etc is extremely basic and at times useless - exceptionally Hot and record breaking heat (106F on Saturday 20th) made these apts very hot and stuffy with no optional fans or AC - we found the resort very quiet this year compared to the last 3 - we also found our best meal the last night up the Europa centre - the Bull If I remember (1st left in main corridor lower level walking towards the Dino Supermarket) - their Sirloin was lush - the Indian restaurant on the 1st Floor of the main commercial part In Puerto Rico was pretty good as well...the "hot" option on the Korma was lovely - All in all would we recommend these apts?...no way is the answer - their shady business practise and poor condition of these apartments should make you think seriously about why you would want to spend your hard earned cash on them when there are plenty more out there who deserve your custom and by all accounts in view of the downturn in visitors there may welcome you in a more honest manner.

Room Tip: Read my review....book the cheapest option you can then turn up and expect to pay more! or just don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    102
    53
    28
    24
See reviews for
38
124
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just got back from our stay at Palmera Mar apartments (Apr 20th-25th 2013) & glad we took the upgrade for an exception view & lush suntrap. (from 3rd floor) I have to agree about the worn out pillows & think a fan or air con in the rooms would be a fantastic feature but the negatives end there! Fantastic, polite & extremely helpful staff. Breakfast buffet was basic but kept us happily filled until lunch & when we ate an evening meal at the restaurant we were looked after very well & I had the best juicy kebab I've ever eaten! Good accommodation for reasonable price! Good location but definitely get a taxi back up the hill... 3 euros, why not!

Room Tip: Upgrade for a sea view! 3rd floor was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went easter 2012 half board.Location on top of hill,nearest beach amadores, which can be seen from apartments high up. Help yourself basic breakfast.,set meal at night 3 courses (choice of 3 ) .Tried to cater for vegetarians . Rooms basic,clean ;and comfortable. pool heated (bliss) .Bit of a steep hike to beach .Enjoyable stay

Room Tip: High up overlooking bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there from the 7th-14th of march, place was perfect location 10 min walk to beach and 5 min walk to Europa centre. I wouldn't walk back up hill from beach but taxis cheap enough could walk up and bk from the Europa. Wouldn't pay for bed n breakie tho not much to select from apart from toast and cheese. . The room we paid for was sea view and it was amazing looking out at the beach and sunset, we found the beds ok too but it's not 5 star so. . . I am going back in sept. The reception staff were so nice and helpful and the pool was stunning real clean and the snack bar was nice too. People giving out bout the standard rooms are right tho they are disgraceful but we paid b4 we went for sea view and its worth every penny, would recommend to anyone this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked 3 seaview rooms here and were given, on arrival, 2 standard rooms and one seaview room. The management could, or would, not change this. Even when we offered additional payment.
Be aware that not all their rooms have a seaview and that the standard rooms are very, very basic.
The hotel is kept clean but the rooms are extremely tired and would not rate more than 1/2 stars
The pillows are a disaster and the hotel struggles to find you any more.
The breakfast is basic and they keep running out of plates and bowls.
Having to pay for a very poor selection of television channels is not acceptable nowadays
There are a number of other hotels close by that offer much better value for money and sheets without holes in them.
The room situation spoiled a holiday which should have been a pleasure

Room Tip: Confirm, in advance, the type of room you are going to get. Confirm there is a good seaview, if that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed 3rd - 10th March 2013. not for the faint hearted it,s on a very steep hill and is just over a kilometre to the Amardores beach, a killer going up and down it, we hired a car at an extra cost of 135 euros, we used a taxi once at a cost of 5 euros each way and thought it easier and cheaper with the hire car. The room we stayed in was 801 it was clean but the balcony overlooked the reception/entrance and rock face and got no sun it was dark and dingy could,nt sit out on it as people were constantly walking in and out of reception and would gather just outside to smoke, asked for a room change and told quite bluntly nothing was available, no microwave, hair dryer or kettle in room managed to get the hair dryer and kettle.
The beds were rock hard due to no springs or lats it was a plywood board instead, pillows had seen better days,lumpy and flat, it advertised live music on the sign outside but there was none and the bar closed early, the bar staff were not friendly and seemed to want to go home.
We definately will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our second stay so we knew what to expect. Paid the extra for a higher room which gives spectacular views with large balcony. We had a hired car which got us down to the beach and back each day therefore missing out on the long walk ,especially walking up hill. The apartments are basic but with all you need. Our beds were most comfortable. The staff are really helpful. Lots of places to eat in the nearby Europa centre and also down at the beach at night. We never got around to eating in the restaurant so can not comment on the food or service. The apartments are quiet and private and would defiantly stay in this location again

Room Tip: If you get a high floor(3rd or above) you will have spectacular views.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palmera Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmera Mar

Address: C/Montana Clara 5, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 69 hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Palmera Mar 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Palmera Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmera Mar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Palmera Mar Hotel Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmera Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.