We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel on the beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morasol Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Morasol Suites to your Saves list
Morasol Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Diaz Rodriguez 12, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel on the beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have just spent a fantastic week in Puerto Rico at the Morasol Suites. It was the best place for having very good rest! The hotel is clean and has well appointed rooms with views over harbour and Puerto Rico. The reception staffs were very friendly, helpful and professional. On our arrival we were greeted by Monica, she gave us a very nice room on the top floor with a beautiful view, as we have requested. Thank you for that! The swimming pool was great! This hotel is perfect for the persons on the wheelchair. The hotel located close to the centre, restaurants and beach. It was easy to get around town. We would high recommend this hotel to everybody!!! If we will return to Puerto Rico we will defiantly stay again at the Morasol Suites!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    87
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
82
235
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay in the Morasol Suites. On our arrival the weather was very wet and stormy, we had a crash in our transfer bus and had to wait until the police assessed the damage before we could continue our journey. So by the time we arrived at the Morasol Suites we were tired and hungry. We were given the key to room 104 and I was very disappointed to see that our only view of the Marina (the reason why we had booked these apartments) was of the wall of the Marina restaurant! I complained right away to be told there were no other rooms available but that we could move on 19th-halfway through our holiday.
I returned two days later and reminded the same chap that we should be given another room on 19th...however the 19th came and went and we had no communication about this. I was keen to pursue it, my husband was not so we let it go. A word of warning-on booking these apartments ensure that you ask for a high floor (it is only four stories) to ensure a good view and a decent amount of sunshine into your balcony.
Otherwise the apartment was lovely, well furnished and clean. The pool area was very nice and the solarium/jacuzzi floor a great suntrap. There were a few bars and restaurants nearby-the Wigwam was a great bar with a good atmosphere, lovely bar staff and good music and Yogi and Benny's did a very nice breakfast and it was reasonably priced. Their 'Boy George look-a-like night' was excellent value with a nice meal and good entertainment for 10 euros.
If we were returning to Puerto Rico I would return to the Morales Suites but only if I was on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portstewart, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I discovered this gem five years ago and since then we have been returning for two months every winter to escape the bad weather at home in Ireland.
The location of the hotel beside the marina in Puerto Rico is excellent . It is close to the best restaurants and is only five minutes walk to the beach.
While it is a relatively small hotel with only eighty eight apartments, this gives the feeling of homely intimacy as opposed to the impersonal atmosphere of a larger complex. A wide selection of rooms is available to cater for individual needs which management will do their very best to satisfy. While bed linen is changed at least twice per week and towels are changed as required, the standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel is excellent.
For those guests who seek quiet relaxation in the sun they have the choice of the swimming pool on the ground floor or the solarium on the third floor. Both areas have a more than adequate supply of comfortable sun beds and lots of room to move them about .
The one thing that really sets this hotel from others that we have experienced is the genuine desire of all of the staff to satisfy customer needs. They are all so happy and enthusiastic and their high level of motivation can only be a reflection of the management's desire to make us all feel part of the Morasol family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

The cramped room we were allotted didn't ever get any sun. It was dark and gloomy. The handle of the window in the bathroom was broken so impossible to open. As a result there was constant condensation. The curtains appeared to be sewn to the curtain rail so that they couldn't be opened to let any light in. We complained and a technician came with a screw driver and stood on the edge of bath and with difficulty opened it. But our only option was to leave it open for the duration of our stay or buy a screw driver and balance on the edge of the bath to open it! (We are pensioners.) There was mould on the walls. The kitchen was badly equipped and most dangerous of all was the shower. The water could not be controlled and alternated between stone cold to scalding to really scalding so one could not stand under it for fear of getting burnt. The plumbing system is antiquated. The room was so dark we couldn't read the safe instructions without a torch. The Wi Fi was restrictive unlike the system in other hotels we have stayed at - unless we paid 25 euros per week. The bed was uncomfortable. When we tried to have lunch by the pool there was fish on the menu but when I asked for it they didn't have any and my husband didn't get what he ordered. The attitude of the staff was that as we didn't specify a particular room we had to accept the worst. After we contacted Thomas Cook and they got in touch with the hotel they gave us a marginally better room but still with no sun. This time the bathroom window opened but since the handle was at ceiling height I couldn't open it. My husband at 6 feet 2 managed to do so by standing in the bath! During the stay we had to ask for a plug for the sink, a sharp knife, a tin opener, a new remote control since the buttons were faulty.I asked for a colander to drain salad as this is standard other places we have stayed but none was forthcoming so I had to buy one. One day there was no hot water at all so the technician was again sent to try to establish the fault. Also there was a hole in the ceiling above the bath with a constant drip from the leak in the room above - the one we had originally been given. This room was marginally better as it had a terrace which got a little strip of sun midday but the heavy tiles were about to fall off the wall and could have caused injury. This was pointed out also. The swing-to door on the bath was not capable of holding the water in when showering so the floor flooded. The bottom of the bathroom door was rotting as a result. The furniture was shabby and one of the pillows did not even have a pillow case! I know this hotel has some lovely spacious rooms with a good aspect but we were in the worst. We have photos to prove it! Avoid rooms 315 and 415!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed over Xmas and had a 1 bed apartment. The hotel staff were very helpful and the location along the marina was great. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool every day and a good sized pool. The apartment was spacious, clean and well laid out with everything we needed though it is time for a bit of sprucing up.

Room Tip: Apartment 109 on the ground floor so good access to the pool area though the marina view is blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

These are the best.We stayed for a week ,it was fandabydozy!! the staff were fab,service great nothing was too much trouble,room best ever sleep, clean, well air conditioned, spacious.plenty of sunbeds and the 3rd floor sundeck was heaven so peaceful the weathe was great too.We have already booked again for 2014 and would highly recomend this hotel to families,couples all age groups as you are near so many amenities and thereare NO steps to climb!!and we have stopped in alot of places in Puorto Rico but this will be THE ONE now everytime we go back.

Room Tip: the higher the floor better view of the harbour and sunset we stoopped in room305 one bedroom it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at morasol for a week in april for my 50th birthday it was our 2nd stay and it didnt dissapoint. The staff are the friendliest loveliest people you could wish to find from reception to the maintenance workers. The rooms are clean and comfortable the pool is amazing and you dont have to fight for sunbeds.only tiny down is a little background music wouldnt go amiss round pool.After saying that its a lovely relaxing retreat in a perfect location and perfect for couples and adults.have booked our 3rd stay may next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Morasol Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morasol Suites

Address: Juan Diaz Rodriguez 12, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morasol Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant and quiet hotel is located in the Marina, the most privileged area of Puerto Rico. The stunning views of the bay , the panoramic Solarium , the modern and spacious apartments and cozy studios ( both equipped with Satellite TV ) , the gourmet restaurant , and the friendliness and professionalism of the staff, make the HOTEL MORASOL SUITES **** a resting place for comfortable visits to Gran Canaria. The complex has a 24 -hour reception,a swimming pool and a total of 88 rooms, with living room, bathroom, hairdryer, telephone, satellite or cable, kitchenette, fridge and air conditioning, safe and wifi prior payment. The resort also features a cafe, bar, TV room, Jacuzzi and a la carte restaurant with non-smoking area. The MORASOL SUITES HOTEL restaurant serves typical Canarian, Spanish and international cuisine. With its friendly service and elegant setting, this hotel is an ideal base from which to explore Puerto Rico. PLEASE NOTE: Guests needing disability access will need to book 1 Bedroom Apartments, not Studio Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Morasol Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morasol Hotel Puerto Rico
Morasol Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morasol Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.