We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a perfectly located hotel in Puerto Rico, you need not research any further...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Suites to your Saves list
Marina Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“If you are looking for a perfectly located hotel in Puerto Rico, you need not research any further...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

If you are looking for a perfectly located hotel in Puerto Rico with excellent facilities for all the family, you need not research any further. Some friends and I have just returned from a one-week stay at The Marina Suites, Puerto Rico. I try to visit the Canary Islands every winter for a break in the sun. Of all the islands and resorts I’ve visited, I prefer to stay on the South West corner of Gran Canaria in a region called Mogan. The largest resort in the area is called Puerto Rico, a vibrant harbour & marina-based town with a good beach. I’ve stayed in some excellent and some not so excellent hotels here but this year I struck GOLD by finding the 4 star rated ‘Marina Suites’. Situated right by the harbour, this ground level accommodation is perfect for families with young kids and those who can’t quite manage the hills.

Firstly… some reports on Trip Advisor claimed the staff of The Marina Suites were unfriendly or unhelpful, I came prepared for this but as it happened… it couldn’t have be further from the truth. For the duration of my stay, I found the receptionists & pool-bar staff very accommodating. Regarding the question of cleanliest, I never seen dirt anywhere. Our suite was spotless and well maintained; the other areas of the hotel were equally good. A few people didn’t like to view of the small boat-yard from their balcony, get over it… you’re hotel was situated beside a marina! I actually thought it added to the ambiance of the area and the boat-themed hotel.

As there were three of us staying, we picked a corner ‘Select Suite’ which offered slightly larger floor-space and by far… the best view of the ocean, marina, harbour and yes… the small boat yard from our balcony, bathroom and Bedroom. As we enjoy some of Puerto Rico’s better quality restaurants, we decided to go self-caterings. The suite had a small and well-equipped galley-style kitchen that allowed us to prepare breakfast and a lite-lunch. We even had an Espresso maker and Coffee percolator so we were very much set-up every morning for a nice breakfast on our balcony. There are two well-stocked supermarkets nearby which offers all the necessities. For those who don’t wish to cater, the hotel also offers very popular Bed & Breakfast and Half-Board options too.

The Marina Suites heated outdoor infinity pool is HUGE, great for people who love swimming lengths and for those who just love paddling around by the pool-edge watching the boats come and go from the harbour. For those with a young family, there is also a kiddie pool and playground near-by.

If you want to get away from lying by the pool for a day, I can recommend catching one of many glass-bottom boats that leaves just outside the hotel to one of the many smaller resorts around the coast. I can highly recommend visiting Puerto Mogan; if you like markets… it has one of the best on the island held every Friday.

I can’t rate this hotel enough… I have found a 'home from home' here. If the service and quality of this hotel remains, I have no plans to go in-search of another hotel in the Puerto Rico area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director General at Marina Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for the time you have taking on sharing your experience in Marina Suites.
We are very grateful to receive your impressions about the Hotel facilities and services. Your opinion is a valuable source of information.

With comments of guests like you, we have the opportunity to know what your expectations are, and whether our standard of quality and service, have fulfilled. We are really pleased with your experience.

We are confident on keep the good things, and we are always willing to know what we can do to improve and match our guests' expectations.

Once again, thanks for your kind comments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back "on board" in the near future.

Yours Faithfully,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    464
    114
    28
    11
See reviews for
739
565
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WIcklow
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Just back from the Marina suites and we had an amazing time. We were so lucky to get a room that had a sea view from the bedroom as well as the balcony and that was such a a bonus. If there was one tiny tiny thing it would have been nice to have an oven or grill in the little kitchen but we worked around it, and I will know the next time! the pool was fab, and the two girls running the activities were so so sweet, welcoming and warm. We always got a sunbed! Generally the other guests at the hotel were very nice, it was so easy to relax and enjoy the perfect setting. Food wise, I would recommend the Happy Valley Indian Restaurant on the top floor of the Shopping Centre on the left hand side, best Indian food I ever tasted, we ate there 5 times in 9 days! Poolside snacks were very good value also at the hotel. We will definitely return to the Marina Suites this time next year and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director General at Marina Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Dear Guest,


First of all, we thank you very much for sharing your kind comments, about our facilities and the services offered during your last holidays in Marina Suites.
For us it is really important to know your impressions, as it is a valuable source of information to know whether we are moving on the right direction or what we should improve on.

We are pleased to hear that you are coming back next year.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Faithfully,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Marina suites are located in a great location with lovely views of the Marina from your balcony. Rooms are fab really big. Cleaned every day. Pool is lovely try get up early for sun beds. Didn't go full or half board as I rather eat out in different places had lunch at hotel once or twice wouldnt recommend it. I found the staff very snobby. The hot tubs are great too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director General at Marina Suites, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful to receive your impressions about the Hotel facilities and services. At the same time, we inform you that the services that did not meet your expectations will be reviewed. Your thoughts and suggestions will help us to improve day after day.

Yours Faithfully,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

I stayed here for a week in June and it is by far the best hotel I have ever come across... I have stayed in 5 other hotels in Puerto Rico and this one should be a 5* and not a 4*. If you find your self complaining about this hotel, they seriously must be something wrong with you. The views are stunning the staff are helpful, it was clean the rooms are decked out with modern sleek funky furniture the balcony's are very big with views looking over the harbour. I would recommend this hotel. We were self catering and we had a few meals in the hotel and again good value for money lovely food. This hotel ids value for money and speaking to other travellers who like myself have stayed in Puerto Rico this is one if not the best hotel. The people that have left negative feedback like i say there must be something wrong with you... and the sort of people that complained sounded like they would of complained in a 5* star hotel some people of never satisfied. I have booked again for 2012 and like again i cant wait what a lovely place, 15minutes to the main centre where there's lots of bars and clubs, ignore the time share people who stop you at least 5 times a day... Make sure you visit a steak house called Oscars best steak i have eaten in my life... when i booked this holiday the first time i came straight on trip advisor to read reviews and some one recommended Oscars to me and boy were they right i asked the taxi driver to take me to a restaurant called Oscars every one knows about this place so they will know what you mean... i had a really lovely holiday always got a sun bed, the internet always worked and was never crowed ! x x x cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director General at Marina Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2011
Dear Customer,

We are pleased with your experience in Marina Suites. We really would like to thank you for sharing it with us. Our aim is fulfil your expectations, and it is really important for us to know whether we do or what we can do for getting it.

In Marina Suites, your opinion it is the most valuable source of information.

Our Crew is looking forward to welcome you back on board.
We will be waiting for you next year!

Yours Faithfully,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Just back from a week at the hotel. Was very happy with our room, bright, clean and very spacious. The staff at reception were very helpful and friendly. The only issue was the space at the pool, it is very cramped, a sardine in a tin comes to mind! A bit of a pity because the infinity pool is beautiful. We were self catering but had a few very nice lunches (although having just a glass of wine is quite expensive compared to other places). Found a great restaurant called Toro Brava, just up the hill after you go under the tunnel. great food, excellent staff and a lovely atmosphere. All in all a nice place to go for a week if you want to relax, if you into shopping there is very little to buy, lots of cheap tat!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director General at Marina Suites, responded to this review, February 5, 2011
Dear Customer,

First of all, we want to thank you for taking the time to sharing the experience staying with us. In Marina Suites, your opinion is the most valuable source of information, as we are able to know whether we fulfil your expectations or what we can improve on.

We would like to inform you that it is planned that our Pool solarium to be enlarged in order to add a more enjoyable surroundings to our infinity pool. So hopefully in a near future you will enjoy our new facilities.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you on board again soon.

Yours sincerely,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norge
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

The location is perfect for family in Puerto Rico Gran Canari
Very Nice pool area and we had the top floor flat with very nice view over the harbour
The breakfast was good. 4 euro for kids and 8 euro for grown ups. But in 14 days it was
exactly same - so it became boring. What about to fresh up this one ?
The activity girl at the pool was amazing.

The cleaning was not good. We never know when they come. And the room was not cleaned properly only changed towels. Why NO cleaning on Sunday and Tuesday? If it is a hotel they should clean every day. The bedding should be changed every second day.
But after 5 days it was so full of sun cream that we needed to contact them to get it changed. So if cleaning is not important for you I can recommend this hotel.

For me as a business man I had booked Internet connection in the room
This is slow - or not working. So if you really need your mail system up and going to keep connected with your employees
Do not choose this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director General at Marina Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear Customer,

First of all, thank you very much to let us know your kind comments, about the services offered during your last holidays in our Marina Suites and about our facilities.

We have taken good note of those points that have not covered your expectations during your stay. We would really have wished to know about them while you were staying here, so we could have turned them into the right services they should have been.

We will personally review them and make the people who are responsible for, to take the necessary actions.
We will be pleased to have you back on board enjoying every service in Marina Suites,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wicklow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

just back from marina suites,after reading all the bad reviews before i left,i was bit nervous.i have to say the rooms were great,clean mine was well maintained,view was great.pool area was very good just like the picture nearly in the sea!staff were fine,the only draw back was the food it could have been warmer,but there was always something to suit everyone,i have to say the restaurant staff were brill,they looked after my dad so well.organised special diabetic food for him.over all we had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinasuites, Director General at Marina Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for the time you have taken sharing your experience in Marina Suites.
We are very grateful to receive your impressions about the Hotel facilities and services. With your comments we have the opportunity to know whether we are moving on the right direction or there are things that need to be changed as It is the most valuable source of information for us.

We hope to welcome you back on board in the near future,

Yours sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Suites

Address: Av de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Puerto Rico
Marina Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Marina Suites Gran Canaria
Marina Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.