We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Suites to your Saves list
Marina Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for a week on a family holiday and had a fab time!!

The pool and pool bar over looking the sea are amazing. Ample sun beds, kids pool, jacuzzi a few of the plus points. The lifeguard was on the ball, our little girl went out of her depth during one of the organised pool games and he jumped up to help, luckily daddy was there and got her but we were impressed at the reaction of the lifeguard never the less.

The rooms are huge, request a high floor overlooking Marina to get the most from this hotel.

The staff were smiley and spoke good English. An 'information pack' may have been useful and meant we didn't need to keep pestering reception!

Maid service is excellent, she washed up on the day we left it (felt guilty once I saw she'd done it), cleaned balcony, very thorough and not just the usual make the beds and change towels.

The location is ideal for a quiet family holiday, some people have commented on the distance to supermarket but we loved the fact that the hotel was set back from the hustle and bustle of the strip (would rather have a 5 minute walk to shop than all that noise!!)

Kids club is basically a baby sitting service, not much going on for the kids, used it once but my little girl preferred to be round the pool.

We hired a car (€35 to park at hotel for week) so found it easy to explore. Our highlights were the pretty town of Mogan and the sand dunes of Maspalomas which are not to miss.

The only criticisms are you have to pay to use the safe and the kitchenette consists of two hob rings and microwave so it's impossible to cook a proper meal. Eating out every night can be expensive.

Would return in a flash

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Marina Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Marina Suites Guest
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit one day soon !
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,221
    538
    131
    30
    16
See reviews for
878
650
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

just returned from 10nights.. without going over everything from previous reviews it really is a great hotel. lovely spacious rooms with the basics you need.. gorgeous pool area, lovely to float around watching the ships come in and out.. breakfast was delicious and great choice.. ate in the restaurant a few times and again v. tasty but also plenty of places to eat in the area.. there is a shop closer than 10mins if you go under the tunnel to right of hotel and up hill less than 5min walk there is a supermarket.. as we were dropping off at other hotels in the hills realised how lucky we were to have such a great, flat, location! would not hesitate to return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Marina Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Marina Suites Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. I was so happy to hear that you loved our location and found our hotel to be of such great value.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We are used to 3* self catering holidays and paying that bit extra per person as a treat this year well and truly paid off.

The "cabins" are huge. Lots of space to move about. We did not cook once (which we didn't want to on holiday!) in the apartment but if we had it would have been difficult given there is a sign saying not to "cook or bake longer than 10 mins due to the set up of the kitchen area". So if you are planning on cooking a lot, this is maybe not the place for you.

Free wifi and safes in apartments for 28€ per week.

The balcony areas are a very good size

The whole hotel has a "nautical" theme going which makes it look as clean and pristine as it actually is. Only 2 days a week do you not get fresh linen / towels.

The pool area is stunning. Always got sunbeds even later in the day. Which are very comfortable, they are a woven material, none of your hard cheap plastic.

The infinity pool is to die for and the pool bar was very nice and a lot of food and drink to offer throughout the day. The deck area onto the ocean is stunning.

The areas around the jacuzzis are a little piece of paradise.

Every staff member we encountered was polite and helpful

One thing that would be good - not having booked through a main operator - would have been a hotel guide in the room. I found out about the beach towels for hire on our second last day.

We ate in the restaurant one night and it was lovely - although the staff were a bit scarce as it was self service buffet.

We were on the first floor and I'm not sure if it was being so close to the lift / exit to the pool area, it could be quite noisy - kids voices probably sounded a hundred times worse than they were when leaving their apartments with the sound bouncing off the marble tiles and again it was 9-10am in the morning but still. Also cleaners could be loud in adjoining apartments at these times.

I would recommend a higher floor and facing the marina or pool would give you an amazing view. All ought ours was quaint one be first floor facing the pool with a little river outside.

We did not have children in our party so did not directly experience the kids club or evening entertainment. But from what I could see on notice boards and from the pool activities, it was the same each day, there was not much variety. Although it looked like the club staff did work hard.

Other people leaving comments are correct in saying that the nearest shop is almost a 10 min walk away but as is the main beach strip and shops from this hotel however this is one of the only hotels on the same level as the beach etc.

Lots of places to eat. We ate a lot at the terreza place (i think it was called?!)directly outside the hotel. Really nice food and reasonably priced.

The bus service is easy to use also, we went to Mogan and ingles (although would not recommend ingles, it's horrible! Would definitely recommend mogan only half an hour away and very quaint). And a walk to amadorres only 20 mins away. Do take your towel for the amazing amadorres beach, much nicer than Puerto Rico beach although the Puerto Rico area is much much nicer.

Would thoroughly recommend marina suites and hope to return some time in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Marina Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Marina Suites Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Suites****.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just spent a week at The Marina Suites and after reading all the excellent reviews on trip advisor which was the reason for choosing this hotel I have to say I was dissapointed!
The rooms are a really good size, clean & lots of space for a family of 4 and the views from the balcony are amazing,
The pool area is lovely with lots of sunbeds & stunning views of the ocean and the staff are all very friendly & helpful,
However the facilities at the hotel are very poor, I would expect a self catering hotel to provide an oven and grill for cooking meals and instead the only s/c facilities are 2 hobs & a microwave!
How is a family of 4 supposed to self cater with those facilities?
I would also expect a self catering hotel to have an onsite shop for essentials but instead you have to go to the supermarket and the nearest one is a 10 minute walk away,
The alternative is to eat in the hotel at a cost of 15euro per adult & 8euro per child (not including drinks) so for the 4 of us it would cost 46euro per night just for a meal plus extra for drinks,
If you want breakfast then its 9euro per adult & 4.50 for kids so for the 4 of us it would cost 27euro,
Needless to say we didnt eat at the hotel, Instead we walked out of an evening trying local bars/restaurants which endedup costing us an absolute fortune over the 7 nights and cut deep into our holiday spending money which should have been
used for trips out & treats for our children, Everything at the hotel is overpriced so people dont even bother to stickaround for the evening entertainment which is terrible by the way,
The mini disco starts at 9pm and you can hardly hear the music its that low,
The girls that dance with the kids cannot be bothered and it shows, well when I say they dance with them it lasts for around 3 songs after that the limbo comes out and they stand there watching the kids walking under the pole for another 3 songs then announce that the mini disco is now finished! Its actually painful to watch, The evening entertainment starts straight after the kids disco & the very few people that come down with their kids for the miserable mini disco then leaveso then theres around 4 people left to watch the show (and I am not exagerating) The kids club is an absolute joke, They sit the kids down in a tiny room with a sheet of paper & colouring pens or playdoh, put a movie on then sit there looking bored until the end.
I would never return to this hotel and would not recomend it to anyone with children as apart from the pool there is nothing else at this hotel for them,
Luckily we had fantastic weather for the whole week of our stay or else I would have been devasted with our choice of hotel,
Fortunatly we enjoyed our week away as a family regardless of all the negatives mentioned but from now on if a hotel doesnt offer all inclusive then we'l choose an alternative as the self catering experience at The Marina Suites has totally put me off,
I will also be double checking the childrens entertainment facilities before booking our next holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Marina Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Marina Suites Guest,
I was sorry to hear that you had mixed emotions about our hotel. I was very surprised that you had issues over the two week period you stayed with us. I would encourage you to please contact us directly so that we can get to the bottom of your suggestions as nothing was reported to us during your stay. Regarding the animation, since last week, we have new staff that provide an adecuate animation according our group of guests.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent the first week in March at this fantastic hotel in Gran Canaria. I booked everything myself and even contacted the hotel via mail with some questions, which they answered straight away.

The hotel is very nice and very clean. Rooms are very good, with a full equiped kitchen, perfect when traveling with toddlers like we did. It is a very quiet location too, perfect for the little ones to sleep with no noisy drunk gangs.

The staff was really wonderful, from the guys at the reception till all the waiters in the restaurant. Our flight was at 16pm and they offered a courtesy room at no charge for the day so our girls could nap and shower after the morning swim in the sea.
The food was good and there is always something easy for little picky eaters. The pool area was really nice, perfect view and clean. Everything clean.

I recommend booking the transport to/from the hotel directly at their website and go for a private transport. It was cheap, fast and we got a mini bus for the four of us, to my daughter´s pleasure.

I am sure we will come back and also will recommend to everyone. This hotel is

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Marina Suites Guest.
Firstly thank you so much for taking the time to post these kind words following your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and the service we provide. I do hope that you get the chance to stay with us again in the near future.
My best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

spent a week there in June cant pick on one bad thing to say about the hotel or the staff. I love there rule of not keeping the beds by the pool every hotel should have it. Only a 10min walk to the shops and bars and a big plus no hills

Room Tip: the higher up the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Marina Suites Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. I was so happy to hear that you found our hotel to be of such great value.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the marina suites june 2013 , couple with two little girls,hotel is amazing best i have stayed in, my girls loved it here would stay here again..only downfall was the entrainment was very poor kids were bored.. But the hotel its self is gorgeous and we will be coming back next year x

Room Tip: We stayed in room 512 amazing views x
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director Comercial at Marina Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Marina Suites Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back at Marina Suites****. We also appreciate your comments regarding the animation and will take your suggestion into consideration
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.2 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#1 of 71 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Morasol Suites
Morasol Suites
#3 of 71 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#18 of 71 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Suites

Address: Av de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Puerto Rico
Marina Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Marina Suites Gran Canaria
Marina Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.