We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many returns and as good as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Suites to your Saves list
Marina Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Falkirk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Many returns and as good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

My wife and I used to watch the construction of this hotel from other complexes and on completion decided to give it a try. Now after many years of holidays in Puerto Rico we would
not consider any other hotel or apartment for our future visits.
We generally request a high floor which provides best views and a pool facing balcony gives you sun on your balcony from mid morning but a marina facing balcony gives super view of
whole resort beach and harbours although you only get sun from late afternoon.
The usually very positive reviews from many others give good tips which I will not repeat but it
is worth emphasising that staff do respond when problems rarely arise.
When weather is very hot , the efficient a/c system is quiet enough in the bedroom to allow
comfortable nights and bathroom hot water is always dependable.
Have a great holiday at the Marina Suites !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,047
    462
    114
    28
    11
See reviews for
739
564
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stoke on trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We have just returned from our 2week stay at Marina suites i cant fault this hotel its views are amazing we always book the sea view rooms its lovley first thing in the morning looking at the pool and sea the rooms are always nice and clean very big aswell this is the third time we been and hope to go again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

If you are looking for a nice hotel in Puerto Rico then look no further, Marina Suites is the place to stay! Myself and my partner have just spent a week here and cannot fault it!

We stayed in a Suite Select Room which was fab, we had a wonderful view of the Marina from the 8th floor and on arrival we received a complementary bottle of red wine, chocolate's and our bathrobes and slippers. The room is very modern, clean and spacious, I believe they're the same size as the standard rooms but would recommend paying the extra as these rooms are higher up giving a fantastic view and less noise! We also had a dvd player and you can hire dvds from reception.

The infinity pool is superb, there is also a massage pool and separate kids pool. We never had any trouble getting sunbeds, although it did seem to get busier at the weekend.

We found the staff were very friendly and helpful. The maid was great, she came every day except for one and even did the washing up! We didn't eat at the restaurant as we prefer to eat out and you certainly won't be spoilt for choice!

There are so many restaurants in Puerto Rico, we ate somewhere different every night and didn't have a bad meal. If you like Indian Food then the Taj Palace is only a short walk away and is very nice! There are also some nice restaurants located at Amadores Beach.

We had a wonderful time here and will definitely go back next year!

Room Tip: Suite Select Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My partner and I stayed for 5 days at the marina suites and,it was wonderful.
The view from the top floor was spectacular and the suite itself was spacious and clean.
Overall the staff were helpful and friendly,with the hotel in an ideal location;quiet and relaxing,with the comercial centre only a couple of minutes away by taxi (3 Euro)

The only minus point was being told by reception,'Do NOT leave ANYTHING in your room' Fair advice I suppose but,it meant having to pack away I-pod docks and valuables,every time we left the room/hotel.

Also be advised there is a working boat yard outside the hotel-did'nt bother us though.

Room Tip: I would advise booking a select suite as they are on the top floors.I requested a sea view and was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, Devon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is a Great Hotel and my Husband and I have had several really good holidays here. Very Clean with wonderful rooms, and excellent views. We always go self catering as there are many lovely restaurants to visit. On the last day of our holiday, I was taken very ill, and the Staff could not have been kinder and more professional. My sincere thanks to the bar and reception staff, especially Juan. We will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 9 nights in a Suite Select room on a half board basis, these rooms are on a high floor, we had a view towards the marina and the sea, the sunset view was stunning from this location.
Rooms were huge, spotless and very functional. Cleaning was done every day apart from Thursday and Sunday, I got the impression that these were busy transfer days so housekeeping were concentrating on getting rooms ready for the next guests on these days. If you asked reception they will arrange to clean your room on these days.

The Infinity pool was lovely, and great for chilling out, views out to the Atlantic ocean were spectacular.

Breakfast is served down near the pool and you have a choice of 3 sittings (8am, 9am or 10am) just let reception know which one you want. You can chop and change without a problem. Food variety and quality was excellent. It never felt busy due to the 3 sittings and food is always fresh and hot.

Dinner is similar in that there are 3 sittings (7pm, 8pm and 9pm), same as breakfast the restaurant was never busy and the food was always fresh and well presented.
The meals were buffet style but varied every night. Wednesday was "round the world" buffet, so had selection of Mexican, Chinese, Greek and Italian dishes to choose from. Friday was steak night and Saturday was Spanish night. There are always different carvery meats and chicken along with a good selection of fish available. There is a good selection for all tastes. We could not fault the food at all.

Paco at the main bar is a great Barman, keeps you entertained and full of local knowledge, drinks are a little more expensive at the hotel than some of the local bars, but the bar is very relaxing, unlike the main resort where you will get the usual touts trying to persuade you into their bars. That said there are some good pubs, we liked Durty Nellys (round the corner from the Hotel), The shamrock bar has great live music and the Chez Funny boy drag show is a great laugh.

The hotel has an entertainment team that do different things round the pool each day, pool / darts contests, aqua aerobics, bingo etc. There is a mini disco every night for kids and an hour long show on at 10pm every night, we only went to see the magician, he was pretty good.

To summarise, we loved the Marina suites and would go back in a minute.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor for the best views, select suites are on the top 2 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We are a young couple and had a fantastic week in Puerto Rico.

After a lot of research, we decided to stay in Marina Suites and due to the below reviews, we had high expectations which were met. The bedroom was spotless, big and modern with a great view of the swimming pool and the sea and a really good a/c system. The service throughout the Hotel is fantastic, (which is rare in Spain). The infinity pool is amazing! I know everyone has mentioned it but it really is the best part. There is even a jacuzzi section within the pool and you just drift away overlooking the ocean. We only had the dinner buffet in the Hotel once. It was €15 each. Nothing out of this world to be honest, but it was enjoyable. We never got the breakfast. We went to the supermarket and got some cheap breakfast food to have on our balcony each morning. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to the beach and 10 minute walk to the even nicer Amadores beach.

The Hotel is 10 minute walk the opposite direction to the pub and club scene. If you are looking for a nice evening meal and some tasty wine and cocktails, then AVOID the main pub/club square as it is a 'post-leaving cert holiday' scene with awful food, average drinks and very, very, VERY annoying reps every few feet. Once you accept that however, then you'll have some great sessions in this area and nothing cures a hangover more than the Hotel's infinity pool!

I had the most amazing dining experience just 5 minutes away from the Hotel along the beach closest. There are about 5 small restaurants in a row across the road from the beach facing it. I think all of them will have great food and service but the one we chose was 'Caballito De Mar'. I can't say enough about this restaurant! In all my travels, this was the nicest meal and the best service we have ever experienced, Fine dining does not tend to be Spain's fortay but this place knocked it out of the park! If you do one thing in Puerto Rico, then visit this restaurant.
Down the road a little further from this restaurant are a few more nice restaurants and good bars upstairs. The bars and restaurants on the beach aren't great.

We rented a jeep one day and travelled to the highest peak in Gran Canaria. This is an experience I would recommend. The views as you are driving up the cliffs are breath taking, and the drive itself is scary but exciting. We had a beautiful traditional Spanish lunch in Lucia and made our way back along the east coast and ended up in Mogan. Mogan is beautiful, definitely worth a visit.

We went on a boat excursion on our last day. It was €75 each and included a dolphin search (we only saw one, but it was still amazing!), snorkelling, jet ski, para-sail and banana boat, as well as breakfast and lunch. It was a fantastic day! There are a few stands with info beside the Port. We dealt with Michelle who is great, so look for her.

You will have a great holiday in Puerto Rico and no other Hotel even compares to Marina Suites. I would recommend it to young couples, mature couples and families. It is an amazing Hotel, with fantastic, friendly service in a perfect location. Honestly, you will kick yourself if you choose a different Hotel as you can see Marina Suites in all its glory from anywhere in Puerto Rico.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Suites

Address: Av de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Puerto Rico
Marina Suites Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Marina Suites Gran Canaria
Marina Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.