We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just As Excellent 2nd Time Round.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel to your Saves list
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/. La Palma, 2 | Amadores, Mogan, 35139 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just As Excellent 2nd Time Round.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife & I are just back home Sunday past from our 2nd stay at the GP Amadores through Thomas Cook & it was just as excellent as it was when we were there 2 years ago. An extra nice touch by the hotel that was when we returned to our room on the Tuesday after being poolside there was an envelope addressed to my wife inviting her to celebrate her birthday the next evening during the entertainment in the Salon Bar with a complimentary bottle of Cava wine which my wife duly accepted.

The staff were hard working as always & were very helpul when I asked about some information on various things. The reviews that I have read about the difficulty of getting a sun lounger at the hotel poolside were totally wide of the mark. There were those who did have towels on loungers early on but it was though they were picking certain areas to get as much sun as possible but even by early afternoon there were still ample loungers available.

A couple of new things this year was that on Tuesday evening there was a few craft stalls set up by local traders giving guests the chance to purchase some gifts & there was also 2 seperate poolside fashion shows during our 7 day stay.

It was sad to have to come home but we will return in the future. Also our Thomas Cook rep, Ryan, who came from Stirling was really helpful & informative with information we required.

A huge 'gracias' to all the hotel staff for another excellent 7 day stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,810
    739
    160
    65
    33
See reviews for
674
1,514
62
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

one of the nicest hotels we ever stayed in .The location, the accomodation, the staff are all fabulous.The whole hotel is spotless (and there is a lot) is always cleaned to the highest standard.The staff are extremely friendly and helpful , always have a greeting for you.We stayed for new year celebration and though. the restaurant was very busy everything was great , the meal and celebration party werevery well organised.We loved this hotel from the 1st time we stayed and have retuned here 4 times since that 1st visit.We would recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: all rooms have a sea view., and are a good size and cleaned to good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have just came back from staying at the Gloria Palace, Views, food and pools are amazing. First time ive ever been all inclusive and will definitely be doing it again, as long as the standard is as good as this.
The rooms were large and clean with brill views, just take English tea bags as there not very good in the room.
If I had to be picky the only thing I would criticise is on arrival, we were not given much information on how to get around the hotel as it is a very large hotel and the lift numbers are not what you would expect.

Overall, excellent holiday and already looking to go back next year!

Room Tip: if you can request the rooms looking over the sea this is block 3 and 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, South Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here with my husband in April. We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and were pleased with most of it. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable and had an uninterrupted view of the sea although the balcony was a quite small and a little too enclosed. The bathroom was lovely with 'his n hers' washbasins.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful as were the waiters in the restaurant and bar.
There were two outdoor pools which got quite busy although there was usually a bed to be found somewhere at any time of day.
Situated at the top of a very steep hill and built into the rocks, the hotel had a lift from reception that took you onto the promenade below which was brilliant.
The only thing for us that let this hotel down a little was the food. It was well cooked and plentiful but as we went through the week a lot of the food was a variation of the day before's menu - same ingredients just served in a different way! Maybe we were just being picky and I know with all inclusive the food does tend to be a bit repetitive on times but not every day! Breakfast was good, much the same as any breakfast buffet.
The restaurant was huge and the tables were crammed so close together that you had no chance of a private conversation - there was a terrace outside which we were lucky enough to use once!
All in all a good hotel although a little too large and busy for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed half board in July and the hotel, service and food was great as mentioned in the majority of the reviews, we decided not to upgrade to all inclusive as although the hotel drinks were expensive e.g 3.20 euro for a pint of lager and 7euro for a cocktail it was cheaper to go out in the evenings which we prefer , ( 2euro a pint and 5 for a cocktail) We walked the short distance to Pueto Rico commercial centre every evening having a little browse around the shops then onto the bars a few of which had quizzes and gave away free shots, there was also karaoke or just music on the big screens, we would then get a taxi to the Europa centre at 5 euro where the latest we stayed was 3.30am then walk the 10 mins down the very steep hill back to the hotel. We preferred the beach to the right as you come out of the hotel but the facilities for both were as good as each other, 2x sun beds and 1 umbrella 10 euro, bottled water from 1euro toilets 50 cents and restaurants where you could eat or drink.
Our only disappointments were that upon arrival we weren’t offered a welcome drink or help with our bags but other arrivals were as we noticed during our stay, also on some evenings in the restaurant they were giving aperitifs to the guests but only if you were wearing the all inclusive wrist band which we thought was a bit mean! There was no sun on the balcony except for a small corner at 5.00pm, we also couldn’t understand why we couldn’t arrange the safe at check in, they told us to come back in an hour.
Would we recommend or stay again? Definitely yes!

Room Tip: block 4 is near everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Gloria palace is one of the best if not the best hotel we've stayed at, the entertainment is fantastic with two pools over looking the sea. The rooms are very spacious and cleaned to a very high standard and the wellness centre, so Iam informed by my wife, is out of this world

Room Tip: All rooms over look the sea, but the higher you go you can get the sea breeze as it is very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

From where to start .... First of all, Gloria Palace Amadores is the most beautiful hotel I have seen in Gran Canaria. Not only does it has the best location there but you even don't miss anything, there's everything. Puerto Rico has the best beach, it is a 15 min wak from the hotel. There's even an elevator that drops you on the side of the beach and you just have to walk 15 min to get there. The view is more than WOW !! The restaurant is on the top view to the beach, honestly from the moment you arrive there, you just don't wanna leave anymore ! The breakfast is very yummy : again nothing is missing (make your own omelette, pancakes, sausages, bacon, deserts,etc.). We were on a half board deal which was plenty enough for me and my sister. The dinner was splendid too : grilled shrimps, fish, chicken, pastas, ice cream table. The quality of the food is perfect ! The pool is so relaxing, you're in the pool and having a view to the beach.... We visited many other beaches in different areas and concluded that we were located on the best location . The animation team is very friendly and their daily show is so nice at night. If you feel too tired to go out at night, go have a drink, relax and watch the animation show you won't regret it. There's a very popular shopping street where you have all the brands and with very reasonable prices. You have to take a bus to go there its near the airport, like an hour away. At night, you can also have a walk near the marina and discover the area. Overall, I have nothing else to say than this is the place you wanna be in Gran Canaria. Oh and the room we had was on the beach, totaly worth it :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Rico
0.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 stars 2,882 reviews
10.5 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#5 of 71 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 stars 1,935 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marina Bayview
Marina Bayview
#1 of 71 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 stars 723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riosol
Hotel Riosol
#18 of 71 in Puerto Rico
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/. La Palma, 2 | Amadores, Mogan, 35139 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the beaches of Puerto Rico and Amadores, Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel is built on a cliff top and integrated into the landscape, providing spectacular views over the ocean from all parts of the hotel. Built in 2004, the hotel boasts one of Europe's best equipped thalassotherapy centres. In just a few years, the elegant surroundings and top class, friendly service have made it one of the most popular hotels on the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso And Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Mogan
Hotel Gloria Palace Amadores
Amadores Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.