We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel to your Saves list
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ La Palma 2 | Playa Amadores, 35139 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denmark
1 review
“Fantastic view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The staff of this hotel is generally very friendly and helpful. At the time we were at the hotel it was an oldies hotel 75% was 60+. The romm/appartment we had was very very nice, actually think it was one of the best at the hotel, but the nice view and large windows had a backfire - the AirCon was way to small or defect and couldn't cool down the room to less than 25 degree Celsius. Two nice big pools and a children pool which though is in the shadow and tends to be too cold.
The elevator system is very poor around the corridor where you enters the beach and travels up and down to restaurant and pools. If you are handicapped or having children in strollers, it may take up to 10 min to get down to the beach exit (and there are no stairs)
But everything else is really nice and luxurious.
In late January the hotel is not near full, and the rush for sunbeds and dinner is manageble.

Room Tip: We had a very large panorama apartment on fourth floor - but only do this if you like sleeping in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    621
    136
    55
    33
See reviews for
534
1,219
48
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week 1/2 board in February 2013. At check in we were given a complimentary drink which was a nice touch, the hotel front desk staff were excellent especially Sophie. We were given a huge room on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool and bar area, even though it was overlooking the pool/bar area it was still very quiet during the day and night time. We found the food to be excellent with a wide variety of choice to suit all tastes and all well cooked and presented. The hotel is well located with a 5 minute walk one way to Puerto Rico and a 10 minute walk in the other direction to the lovely Amadores beach. Access to the promenade was by a series of lifts.Would certainly recommend this Hotel as a base for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will give you an uniterupted view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely hotel, cliff top location overlooking ocean and just a short stroll to Amadores Beach.
All inclusive superb value, varied evening entertainment which was very acceptable for hotel entertainment.
Staff very friendly, no different from Britain, could sometimes be doing with a few more.
Thalasso facilities second to none.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIAPALACEF, Fidelización de Clientes at Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We appreciate knowing that you liked our location with wonderful sea views. It’s also nice to hear you liked the entertainment and other aspects from the hotel.

Once more thank you for sharing your experiences with us and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,


Cristian Díaz
Customer Loyalty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our second visit to the Gloria Palace Amadores, so we knew the ropes. In late January the clientel were our age group so very quiet around the pool. No mad rush for sunbeds in the morning we went down at 9.45 after a relaxed and delicious breakfast and we always managed to find a quiet pair of sunbeds for the day.
Lunchtime most days we stayed at the Pool bar/restaurant where a lighter meal suited us, on one day we did venture to the main restaurant for lunch, where there were far too many tempting meals on offer, that we would have overindulged.
The pool bar staff were friendly and efficient and the Champane Margaritas were great.
Dinner in the restaurant and the selection of fresh and delicious food available would satisfy the fussiest of eaters, our only problem was restraining ourselves and not refilling our plates too many times!
For a relaxing evening drink we settled ourselves down most evenings in the lobby bar, and read the complimentary international newspapers available there, with a nice cocktail or two!
Every room in this hotel has a view of the sea, our room this time in block4 (under the pool) on level 2 which is second from the top had a marvelous unobstructed view, and sitting on the balcony with a nice cup of tea before bed was great. The rooms are large, modern and well maintained, the showers have to be the most powerful I've experienced anywhere in the world, really invigorating after a day sunbathing.
Only downside to our holiday was having to leave, but never mind we are already going back again on the 9th of May for another 11nights, can't wait.

Room Tip: Block 3 & block 4 are below the pool level and from your balcony you see the coastal road and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taarnby, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

One week in this hotel was a dream. We injoyed it very much. Nice rooms, nice wiew at the Atlantic, everything was great. We injoyed All Inclusive - just sad not everything was free. Never tried Spa and Thalasso because it was overpriced. We used the promenade a lot and glad about the door from the hotel right into promenade.

Room Tip: We lived at 7 with a great wiew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I spotted this place from the promenade from Puerto Rico to Amadores beach on our last holiday and promised we'd go back to check it out. It's location is perfect, especially because of the elevator from the hotel onto the promenade below. The rooms are huge and the hotel itself beautiful, the pool areas are faultless. We stayed half board and I have to say it was disappointing. If I was to go again I'd opt for b&b only. The breakfast buffet is ample but as a vegetarian I found myself at a loss at dinner, it's pretty hard to discern what is or is not suitable for vegetarians and one night I picked up a slice of pizza only to find chicken cooked into the cheese. On top of this they charge for all drinks at dinner, even water, which I found a bit mean. The snack bars and lobby bar are a bit pricey too for those not staying all inclusive and we found ourselves going out for dinner a couple of nights. On top of this, for a hotel that calls itself a thalasso and spa it would be nice if its guests could avail of the most basic spa amenities without a surcharge- €8 to simply use a sauna or visit the gym seems a bit excessive considering what they charge for a room. The evening entertainment was the usual dodgy eagle and acrobatic acts that you'd expect in a 2 star establishment so we couldn't even enjoy a drink or two in the hotel before starting our evening out. All in all I think I was expecting far too much of this place and it simply didn't meet that standard.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We have just got back from the Gloria Palace Amadores, we would definatly go back to this hotel, it is very clean and has a beautiful layout, The rooms are massive. My toilet light stopped working, they repaired it very quickly. The food is great and always fresh. We stayed half board so we paid for drinks, it would of been worth going all inclusive to cover the cost of the drinks. The only down sides were the pillows were to soft and the sound system ruined the live music acts. If you need anything from the shops it is very easy to get into puerto rico, the hotel shops are exspensive. Al the staff are lovely, they do have a lot of trainees on work experience from other countries but their badges will tell you if they speak english.

Room Tip: Before we booked we read this section and took the advice, we got a room on the third floor of block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/ La Palma 2 | Playa Amadores, 35139 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the beaches of Puerto Rico and Amadores, Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel is built on a cliff top and integrated into the landscape, providing spectacular views over the ocean from all parts of the hotel. Built in 2004, the hotel boasts one of Europe’s best equipped thalassotherapy centres. In just a few years, the elegant surroundings and top class, friendly service have made it one of the most popular hotels on the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso And Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Mogan
Hotel Gloria Palace Amadores
Amadores Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.