We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel to your Saves list
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ La Palma 2 | Playa Amadores, 35139 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

stayed at this hotel for 10 days from 17th Sept 2012.

Upon arrival (9pm) we were quickly ushered down to the dining room for dinner before it shut, this was a task in itself, there were no clean tables available and waiters seemed non existent, we had to grab a member of staff and ask for a table to be cleared and for drinks to be provided, talk about learning the ropes quickly.

However we then returned to reception to collect our luggage and go to our rooms,

The rooms were very spacious and clean, we had requested adjacent rooms ( went with friends) on a high floor, we got the high floor and we ended up only a few rooms away from each other. We were greeted in the room with a bottle of cava each and bathrobes, not sure whether these are given to all customers but we had informed staff prior to our arrival that we were celebrating a wedding anniversary and a birthday within our party whilst there, so this may have been due to this but it was a nice touch. The beds were comfortable and tea facilities are available along with refills made up of tea bags, coffee sugar and milk done daily by the maid, however you will need to bring some bottled water up with you from the bars in order to fill the kettle each day as they only left 2 bottles of water on our arrival, however the staff readily hand out bottled water so we just stocked up the fridge in the room to keep us going. The AC could do with turning up a notch, as it was extremely hot whilst we were away and it took a while to feel the benefits when returning to your room, however we had no problems sleeping with the AC on overnight, a tip we did was leave the spare room card in the electric whilst down at the pool so that the AC remained on all day thus returning to a cooler room.

It does take a day or 2 to get used to the lifts and the block or floor you need to access, (there are 3 per block 1 and 2 and i think it is the same for blocks 3 and 4) but it is fairly simple when you take the time to familiarise yourself with the hotel. Although the llifts are prone to breaking down on a regular basis, happily for us seeing as we were on the 7th floor of block 1 only 1 day were we needed to climb the stairs to get to our room, exercise that i really did not need, lol

Mealtimes were busy and the tables a little close, however this is just a small niggle you could also choose to eat on the terrace if a table was available, there was always plenty of choice for breakfast, lunch and evening meal, and of a high standard , breakfast was the ususal options continental, english etc, and evening meals had so much choice i challenge anyone not to find something they could eat, each night they had a themed choice, i.e. Canarian, English, italian etc, there was always 2 freshly cooked chinese dishes, a freshly cooked meat and fish option and these are all extra to other dishes within a buffet section, and of course a very large salad bar, i must mention they also did freshly cooked pizza;s and wraps these were excellent, desserts also was a large option provided of cakes, ice cream and fresh fruit. the only issue i had at evening mealtime was how the drinks were provided, again your room card is swiped by a waiter and drinks order taken they are then brought to you by a member of staff, however the waiters did not seem to be allocated to set areas of the dining room, and sometimes it was difficult to gain their attention, so we ended up grabbing any staff member and waited for the waiter to catch up with us. the snack bar by the pool also worked in this way and again getting a waiters attention was where the issue lay, we also found that our food order on the snack bar was incorrectly delivered most days we realised towards the end of our holiday that i should give the waiter my order, then my husband inform him of his order, rather than one of us just giving the whole order, i cannot explain where the issue was but it seemed to work.

Getting drinks at the snack bar was slow when attending the bar, when you were finally served the member of staff would start your order then go off and begin tidying around the back of the bar or start doing a drinks order for one of the waiters who were dealing with a table, again a little niggle but nothing that stopped our enjoyment.

The entertainment at night was not really to my taste, but i must admit seemed to have a lot more about it than alot of other hotels i have stayed in, the room is pretty big however they do need more seating area outside, as there were only around 6 tables and majority of people seemed to prefer the cool night air, again this was served by waiters, and grabbing their attention was the key, you could go to the bar yourself but again it was like the snack bar, you could have a long wait, so my advice when there is a waiter passing you by order your drinks, by the time he returns you will be ready for them ( they were not particualry quick to return with the drinks)

The reception staff had very good english, but i did not find this the case with some of the waiters and other staff, although i do attempt to speak Spanish i am very limited, this is the 1st hotel where i have found an issue with the language barrier with regards to the waiters, but as long as you make sure you are good at charades you will get through ok, i must mention at this point Outman the waiter although had limited English, he was very pleasant and always completed your order with "Lovely jubbly" which always made me smile.

There was never an issue with getting a sunbed, although you still had those that were up at silly o'clock to lay claim to the beds they wanted, god knows why as the sun was so high it did not matter where you lay you had full coverage of the sun, you just may have to turn your bed around to face it.and the pool was lovely, i cannot comment on the lower pool which is where all the animation took place as we preferred the quieter pool which also had hardly any children around, not that i am against the kids i just prefer a quieter atmosphere.

Amadores beach is a must visit, it is about a 15 min walk from the hotel and was absolutely beautiful, Puerto Rico is also a short walk away and taxis only cost around 4 euro if you didnt wish to walk.

On a sour note: the panaoramic lift was not working until the last day of our 10 day break which i found a poor turnaround for it to be fixed considering this is one of the main focal points they bring to your attention in all of their advertising.

And i had a belly bar and my friend had a pair of sunglasses go missing from our room, items that probably should have been in the safe, but all the same i still expect items of a smaller value to still be where i left them.

We had a late flight back and the AI finishes at 12.00 on check out day, so make sure you have some cash availlable if you wish to have a snack as you will be charged.not a problem as long as you are aware before hand which we were. They will store your luggage so if you wish to pop into town instead that is an option.

I didnt use the spa facilities so cannot comment.

All in all we had a very good holiday however i felt the hotel was let down by the maid we had and the waiting staff and that if this was addressed this hotel would have received 5* from me, i have stayed in other 4* hotels on some other canary isles and feel they provided a better all round service, plus the fact i like to try different locations each time i go away so tend not to return to hotels, however this would not stop me returning if i went back to Puerto Rico or recommending it to others, making sure that they are aware of the point i raised regarding items going missing from the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    623
    137
    55
    33
See reviews for
534
1,226
48
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just returned for the second time from this fabulous hotel and another Fab holiday!
We met at least ten couples that we had met from last year returning to this great hotel, which speaks volumes in itself. The hotel is really clean, the staff are more than friendly and cannot do enough for you. The views are fabulous with two infinity pools, one pool is quiter than the other, with the one pool having entertainment which was really fun. Raul the entertainment manager was absolutely amazing and and had so much infectious happy energy. I joined in on the Zumba class and aqua aerobics, it was the best fun I'd had in ages. Room was really big, spotlessly cleaned every day and had a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. I would recommend the all inclusive as its a no brainier to me, otherwise could have been quite expensive to stay. Some of the evening entertainment isnt that good but on other evenings it was very good, so a bit of a mix where you would have to choose when to make your own entertainment, which wasn't a problem, as we went to the bar area and had our own pub quiz on the iPad, which was really good fun!
I booked through low cost holidays for the second time and found them helpful beyond fault, so look no further if you are looking for a great hotel at a great price when booking!
We will be booking again next year and are already looking forward to it!
Thank you Gloria Palace!

Room Tip: All rooms have either a pool and/or sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balsall Common, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed at hotel for a week from 22 Sept. Starting with the good points - nice welcoming staff in hotel and Carl the Thomas Cook rep. Food was very good and hotel was kept nice and clean. Location is good, being between Amadores beach (20 minute walk) and Puerto Rico beach (10 minute walk). But a much longer walk if you wanted to reach either resort's shopping/entertainment areas. Taxi to commercial centre (ask for McDonalds!) at Puerto Rico was only 4 euros including tip. Due to the unseasonal excessive heat (over 30 every day) we took several boat trips from PR harbour. First trip to lovely Mogan, taking in the dolphin/whale area (but didn't see any), then on Tuesday to Anguineguin for their market (as large as Mogan on Friday but not as well advertised so easier getting there), then Mogan again on Friday.
Now for the bad points: evening temps stayed at about 27 degrees and with no air conditioning in the hotel, it was extremely uncomfortable especially in the restaurant. We had the room a/c on 24/7 but only slightly cooled the room. The evening entertainment area was open to the reception/bar area, so could not get away from the kids entertainment until 9 (and the same every night) which was very annoying for older adult guests. Lots of the chairs in reception area need refurbishment as fake crocodile skin is peeling off. Difficult to find a quiet drinking area, although the only quiet chill out area did not cater for AI guests in the evening. We missed having no alternative to the buffet restaurant - the other Glorias have an a la carte restaurant for when you get bored of the buffet. Most evenings it was difficult to get drinks service in the restaurant - often finishing food before attracting someone's attention!
There was always one of the lifts not working - one day the beach lift was out of order and we had to walk up many flights of stairs as there was no alternative; anyone with a pram would really have been inconvenienced.
Would have liked a facial in the spa but were only available after having an hour massage.
Would we go again? Unfortunately a definite "no" unless they can sort out the air conditioning. For us it was too uncomfortable, although realise some people can cope with the excessive heat.

Room Tip: Block 4 takes you to all areas; would often find guests from other blocks "lost" as it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have just returned from a lovely break at the Gloria Palace. The hotel is really big with a very impressive entrance and reception area. We arrived rather late after a long delay on our flight and they had kept the restaurant open serving salad etc but i thought it was a nice touch.
The room was huge for 2 of us and the balcony was huge as well with a lovely sea view and we even had sunloungers on the balcony which was a nice added touch. Our room was kept spotless over the two weeks and really can't fault housekeeping in any way.
The restaurant was big and did have a canteen feeling as said in other reviews but due to the size of the hotel i really don't think they could change the lay out. A nice added touch is the outside eating area which was lovely. The food was fab and there was something for everyone and lots of choice and the desserts were fab:)
We upgraded and found it really good value as the drinks etc are quite expensive and we found it really worth the money and enjoyed our cocktails etc every night and the cappucino's were really good..
We never had a problem getting a bed at the pool only used the one pool the quiet one as everyone called it and never had a problem getting a bed and as a non swimmer the pool was a nice dept if you just wanted to get in and cool off..
Also a trip to Mogan is a must on our first trip we took the ferry which was €20 return for two people but other times we went in we used the bus and it was only €6.10 return and were never long waiting on a bus..
My only isssue with the hotel would be the lifts when we were there 2 out of the 3 lifts in block 4 were not working and it was a long wait if you wanted to get the lift down to exit the hotel for the walkway. I just feel that in a big hotel like that if a lift breaks down it should be sorted out same day as they were out for about 3 days which must have been really annoying for people staying in that block.
Overall we had a very relaxing holiday which was what we wanted if you are looking for late nights I wouldn't recommend it but if you just want to chill out and get away from it all this hotel is perfect and i will be back.

Room Tip: E-mail the hotel in advance requesting a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I could not find a fault with this hotel at all. All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, the hotel was lovely with views of the sea wherever you look, and nicely thought out interior inside. very clean all around the hotels. cleaners do an amazing job in your room everyday.amazing choice of food and excellent quality.brilliant entertainment. there was a salt pool (over looking the sea) which seemed to be a quieter area (we spent most of our time there!), and then another pool the other side of the hotel where there was daytime entertainment, and more family stuff with a kids play area etc. I did not bring my 2 young children due to it being our honeymoon, but they would of been well catered for if i did. i just had to sneak in some pamper treatments aswell ;-) and they were the best massages i have ever had. the get in shape pool was a great experience aswell. i would give this hotel a 5 star rating as there was nothing that i could fault at all. i will be returning again and again :-) excellent all round. there was also a sea view lift that takes you right down to the promonade within seconds, and then you have the choice to walk left or right. left has a beach and shops, right has an even nicer beach! both within a 5 minute walk. also, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel to take you anywhere you would like to go (bus every 20 minutes) and there are always taxi's right outside the hotel doors which are really cheap! you would not be disapointed with this hotel and its surroundings.

Room Tip: block 3 or 4, at a higher level. they are the quieter blocks. blocks 1 and 2 overlook the 2 pools. b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford on Avon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Lovely hotel, but with a few improvements could be great. Entertainment didn't start until 10 and was sometimes finished by 10.30, just as everyone was getting into the spirit of things. Not sure why there wasn't a disco - missed opportunity on the part of the hotel. With nothing else nearby it was either a few quiet drinks by the poolside or an early night, which was a shame. Also, in spite of having a policy of no sun bed 'reservations' most of them had been claimed by towels from early morning and for most of the day. Having said that there were enough beds for everyone, just not right next to the pool. Was also disappointing that the 'no shorts or sleeveless tops' policy in the restaurant was not adhered to in the evenings. Also worth noting that All Inclusive drinks was only until 11.30pm, and as is often the case covered only local drinks, which was not a problem if you wanted cocktails, but the beer took a bit of getting used to. Having said all that, the rooms were very large, with balconies that had tremendous views over the sea, the staff were very friendly, and the food selection and quality were excellent.

Room Tip: Block 4 - near everything. All have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here from 27.09.12 - 04.10.12, we arrived at about 10pm missing dinner however there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us in our room and a short while later a tray of food was brought to our room which was a lovely welcome.

The rooms are huge, plenty of wardrobe space and very large beds. The showers are lovely and powerful however if you have long hair you might want to take a travel hair dryer as the one in the bathroom was a bit weak. Rooms cleaned to a high standard every day.

The lifts are a little bit of a pain to wait for, but this is the only problem we encountered. Everything else about the hotel was fabulous! The swimming pools are lovely with plenty of sun beds. The access to the promenade was brilliant with both beaches under 10mins walk away.

The restaurant can be a little busy but the waiters are more than happy to help you find a table and fetch you anything you need. There is fresh meat being cooked all the time along with plenty more choice!

We had a wonderful time and will be going back next time for two weeks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/ La Palma 2 | Playa Amadores, 35139 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the beaches of Puerto Rico and Amadores, Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel is built on a cliff top and integrated into the landscape, providing spectacular views over the ocean from all parts of the hotel. Built in 2004, the hotel boasts one of Europe’s best equipped thalassotherapy centres. In just a few years, the elegant surroundings and top class, friendly service have made it one of the most popular hotels on the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso And Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Mogan
Hotel Gloria Palace Amadores
Amadores Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.