We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel to your Saves list
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ La Palma 2 | Playa Amadores, 35139 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Lovely hotel, but don't stay in block 2. Air conditioning unit is in the middle of the cliff behind this block and the noise is very bad. It goes day and night. Staff are excellent. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Food is excellent. Cleaning is not the best. It is very hit and miss. It is in a very good location. Very close to Puerto Rico and to Amadores Beach, so you have the best of everything. They are trying to push all inclusive, but you really don't need it. Prices of drinks and coffee at the pool bar and bars in general very high (done purposely to make you go for the all-inclusive I think).
Booked with Expedia.com tried to push Gloria Palace Royal Spa on to us. Said it was an upgrade. Don't know if this hotel was overbooked or what, but when we wanted to stay here we kept getting e-mails about upgrading even though we didn't want to upgrade, still don't know who was responsible and we were not impressed. We were to phone international numbers urgently, spoiled the lead up to the holiday. A pity. Brought it up with customer relations at hotel and have got absolutely nowhere. A shame for a nice hotel to have such bad backup.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    623
    137
    55
    33
See reviews for
534
1,226
48
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
munster
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I have just returned from the gloria palace hotel. There is not one thing I could fault about this hotel. It was my second trip to the gloria palace and was even better than the first. The rooms are fab, the food is fab, the views are fab, the spa is fab. All round Fabulous. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

Had a great time 5 th Sept -19th 2011, great hotel, two pools, one quiet, other music and water fitness and fun , only complaint food everyday on all inclusive at evening was very repetitive ,,,, veal or chicken, take your pick every night, many times if you don't like those take your pick of rice chips or veg , unimpressed no variation sadly ,

Been here 3 occasions but not improving on the food , otherwise service top class , cleaned to perfection, comfort 100% , room size ,, massive! Balcony large but ask for pool view ! Bit too pricey for Gran Canaria average price for 2 weeks for 2 people AI £ 2200- 2400 , all Inc closes early at 11:30pm not very good ,, entertainment every night starts at 10pm finishes at 11:30 pm :-( but you can stay on and pay for your drink if you want to stay out late , kids entertainment lasts till 10pm bit too late to be sitting hearing childrens songs ,

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed at the Gloria Palace Amadores from 3rd - 17th September all inclusive.
We found that the staff could not do enough for you, and really cared about their guests comfort. They phoned our room the day after we arrived to check that we were happy with our room and the hotel, and they asked us to complete a survey mid holiday.
Hotel - the hotel was very clean, staff friendly and attentive.
Room - we were in block 3 floor 5 with a panoramic sea view. The balcony was huge and completely private, the bedroom was very large too, as was the bathroom with twin sinks and a separate toilet. There were tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge. The room was cleaned every day. We watched the sunset most evenings from our balcony, which was amazing!
Pool - we always used the pool on top of block 3. This pool appeared the quieter of the two. We were always able to get a sunbed, even when we had been out for the morning and returned at lunchtime. On a couple of occasions we did struggle to get an umbrella, but that was not due to a lack of them, it was more to do with a number of selfish guests who took two. The hotel provided beach towels and you could change these for a 50 cent fee, which was well worth it for a fresh towel. The views from the pool were fantastic.
Food - I am a really fussy eater so am always a little concerned about the food when going away. I found something which I liked every night, due to the huge variety. There was always two fresh meats and fish to choose from as well as pre prepared foods. In addition, five nights per week there was a chinese chef, cooking a chinese meal option. The quality of the food was very good. There was also a large choice for starters and deserts. Breakfast also provided a great variety. Our only two criticisms with the restaurant was that there were very few tables for two, most were laid for 4, although the waiters did sometimes pull the tables apart a couple of inches (not all that romantic!), and that there was nowhere to eat al fresco. We aways ate lunch at the pool bar, the variety was limited you could have pizza, hotdog, hamburger, chips or a ham and cheese toastie. There was also a salad bar and a basket of fruit at the pool bar. We are not big lunchtime eaters so this suited us.
Entertainment - on the whole the professional shows were very good, our top 3 were the Michael Jackson show, African Footprint and the Beijing Acrobats. We found the concept of an Abba Tribute with only two women a bit odd! During our stay there were 3 female vocalists with the resident band, the one the first week was pretty good, the other two were not. However, putting it into context, they were not professional shows and were there to provide background music, and in that context they were OK. The waiter service in the entertainment lounge was very good.
Out and about - the hotel has a great location between Amadores beach and Puerto Rico beach, and both resorts have a good selection of bars, restaurants and shops (Amadores is the quieter of the resorts). We took the ferry twice to Mogan, which we felt was well worth a visit, it is a really pretty bustling town, and the market is there on a Friday.
Overall we had a great holiday, the hotel and the staff were excellent.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room in block 3 and the spectacular sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is the third time we have stayed in this hotel, first time all inclusive.

We emailed the hotel prior to our stay to request a high floor in block one which is exactly what we got. The rooms are spacious with tea and coffee facilities and a fridge. We received a complementary bottle of "champagne" delivered to our room from the person who answered our room request email, thought this was a lovely touch.

The food was good and varied with a speciality buffet each night. The hotel was full and the dining room got busy but it never felt too crowded. We enjoyed sitting on the restaurants balcony in the morning drinking our coffee.

We liked to sit out on the chairs during the day, there were several areas at the pool bar with comfy chairs. There were always plent of sunloungers and umbrellas available. There were also cushions to lie on the loungers.

The hotel has a lift down to the path leading to the beach which saves a lot of hill climbing/ taxis !! The hotel was half way between Amadores and the beach at Puerto Rico. We walked both ways several times.

The all inclusive package was good, can recommend the coffee and cake in the bar in the lobby. Also had daily papers to read, though the only English one was the Sun !
We tended to have lunch in the dining room as there was a better choice with the food. The snack bar only had burgers, chips and pizza available to order.

The bar service was quick and at night in the show area was waiter service.

The Entertainment was ok, there was a couple singing every night from about 8pm til the Kiddie Disco started at 8.30 for 30 minutes. The couple sang again until just before 10pm when certificates were awarded then the shows started. We saw a really good Michael Jackson tribute show, Bejing acrobats, an illusionist and a dance show which we didn`t enjoy, The shows lasted about 1 hour.

We certainly enjoyed the holiday and would definately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a high seaview as some of the lower rooms don`t get alot of sun and are looking onto a wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Our second stay in this hotel , both 1 week half-board. We can't wait till next year and are going to book up soon! The first time you arrive , it oozes class, the reception area is huge with small shops either side, the check-in is friendly and efficient. You can opt to hire towels for the pool at only 5 euros, and the safe is only 2.50 per day. When we got to the room, we were immediately overwhelmed at the ocean and both pools view from the large balcony, the bathroom is a good size with a great shower. The rooms are also immaculately clean and cleaned daily, with the option of fresh towels if required. There are 2 large pools , 1 with a small bar and the kids area, the other one 2 floors up with an outdoor snack area,bar,pool tables. Both have a sufficient number of loungers/parasols and we did not have any problem in finding one. The pool area is very clean and overlooks the ocean. We treated ourselves this year to a spa day, and it was fantastic. The spa has indoor pools with jacuzzi, large waterfall jets, turkish baths and sauna, where we had 3 hours for only 10 euro each (go at midday and you get a free walkround of the spa). After the pools we enjoyed a 45 min body massage, an amazing, relaxing day. The hotels main strength has got to be the restaurant, it offers an extensive buffet style dining both for breakfast and dinner. There is so much to choose from , definitely something for everyone, and a different theme each night offering the chance to sample new tastes. It has plenty of meats, fish, fruit, salad and desserts, it can't be faulted and there is no wait for a table. The staff in the restaurant are so efficient, friendly , our favourite being Juan (one of the head waiters). The evening entertainment is perhaps the only slight criticism, being repetitive, and the singer not up to the standard the hotel deserves. All in all , this is the hotel to stay in at puerto rico/amadores, the location is fantastic for both beaches and only a 15 min walk to the main shops/bars. We are going back next year and spoke to several people who also keep on returning time after time and no wonder!

Room Tip: Stayed in blocks 1 and 2. Both overlook pools, block 1 floor 7 offers view of both pools and ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

we stayed at the gloria palace 7-14 sep, and didnt want to leave. the hotel is beautiful, with stunning views from every part of the hotel, staff all friendly and helpful, we were in block three in a lower room but still had a nice view out to the sea, it was very private and quite. the room was spacious and clean,no complaints. of the two infinity pools we only used the one in block 3, this seemed quiter than the other, lots of loungers available and very clean, great views over the ocean from the infinity pool.we were bed an breakfast, but only had breakfast a couple of days as i personally didnt like the cafeteria feel of it, the eve enterainment could do with re-thinking,but lots of bars/restaurants to go to outside of the hotel so wasnt a problem for us. we would recommend harbour lights bar in the harbour,quizzes games ect,an good cocktails, but not the sunday dinner, bit bland, would recommend a boat trip to mogan, lovely little place to spend a few hours and very beautiful. both beaches within a few mins walk either way along the walkway accessed by the glass lifts, wnich also give you great views. we had a great time at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone going to gran canaria, cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/ La Palma 2 | Playa Amadores, 35139 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 392
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located between the beaches of Puerto Rico and Amadores, Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel is built on a cliff top and integrated into the landscape, providing spectacular views over the ocean from all parts of the hotel. Built in 2004, the hotel boasts one of Europe’s best equipped thalassotherapy centres. In just a few years, the elegant surroundings and top class, friendly service have made it one of the most popular hotels on the Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso And Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Hotel
Gloria Palace Amadoresthalasso Mogan
Hotel Gloria Palace Amadores
Amadores Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.