We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Clifftop views'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Vistamar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Vistamar to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda de la Cornisa | Playa de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Inverness
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“'Clifftop views'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Spent 16 nights at this hotel in May. We were allocated a room at the very end of the 4th floor and had a good view of Amadores Beach so think almost all rooms would have a sea view of some kind. Room clean and spacious with free safe. Comfortable beds but poor quality shower over bath and hairdryer took ages (if you have thick hair).
Allocated a table for evening meal for duration of holiday (no hassle at night time as sometimes is the case)(2 sittings). Very good choice of food for all meals - something for everyone.
Sun beds at pool area are very close together so we went to the solarium area where it was not so congested and had better beds. Only drawback - it was further to walk to the pool bar for a drink. For this time of year the average temperature was around 25 degrees and some days were very windy.
The entertainment/bar area was not in the least bit inviting - very dark and resembled a theatre, with tables and chairs in rows. So for example if you were in a group of six sitting in a row - no.1 could not hold a conversation with no.6 We sat out some evenings but it got very windy and the only other area to sit inside was at the reception area.
The entertainment team did put a lot of work into their shows, so well done to them and on a couple of nights there was other guest entertainers (jugglers) who put on a great show.
Karaoke nights were a waste of time.
Service at bars very good, especially Enrique at the small bar (a Jack Duckworth lookalike).
As expected, with the hotel built at the top of a cliff, the area is very steep and the courtesy bus was always busy as were taxis. The 'Grand old Duke of York' comes to mind - when you were up you were up and when you were down you were down. When you are up, head to Amadores and from there find the steps (700) which take you down to Puerto Rico or when you are down at the beach, take the coastal path for a stroll to Puerto Rico (15 minutes).
We missed having gardens to walk round, other than that we had a lovely holiday all helped by the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    628
    227
    60
    30
See reviews for
494
941
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Arrived very late at night but were greeted very nicely at reception straight away, They had even kept us some food back from earlier on in case we were hungry but all we wanted to do was sleep.
Woke up the next morning to realise something was wrong with one of the doors, told reception and went for breakfast, had been no longer than half an hour but it had already been fixed.
Had lovely views from every aspect of the hotel and rooms were very nice, although the TV could be a little newer. Excellent choice in food and very nice too, although the tables are very close together and very noisy with other people's conversations, little background music would have been nice. If you are staying here when they are showing The Crazy Show, you must see this, had everyone in stitches laughing

All in all, a very good hotel and worth staying at!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solms, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Hotel is in Puerto Rico. The Hotel is on the top and you can go by foot to the beach or drive with the Hotel Shuttly Bus. The rooms are good and the service at the dinner or pool bar is very fast and goog.

The Animation Team is also good. Sometimes are shows from outside oder Acrobatic or with animals for example parrots.

You need to rent a car because the island is very beatiful.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 5th floor are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent two weeks in the Riu Vistamar in Gran Canaria, from the 16th May to the 30th May. I had done my home work so that we knew what to expect.
First of all I e-mailed the Hotel to ask for a high floor, the Hotel obliged and we were given a room on the the 3rd floor, we had a great view of the bay, it was a very quite floor.
All the staff throughout the Hotel were helpful, friendly and very courteous.
The Hotel was very clean in all areas.
The food was plentiful and of very good standard.
Free use of pool towels and changed when ever you needed to.
Free bottled water from reception whenever you need it. ( 24hrs ).
The entertainment team worked very hard, and during the week there was outside entertainment of good standard. Although the entertainment finished around 22:30 the bars were still open until midnight.
The downside for many would be not being able to stroll out of the hotel and really go for a walk, the Hotel is based on a cliff and the roads are very steep.
We made good use of the free courtesy coach which ferried us to and from the beach / prom.
Its an excellent place to have a base for anyone wanting to hire a car and tour Gran Canaria.
Although we will not be going back I can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The Hotel is based on a cliff stunning views, but not ideal for anyone wanting to have a walk. For g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at the RIU Vistamar in May very good hotel, food choice excellent , the staff were very polite and helpful rooms clean and well kept the entertainment was ok very much as you would expect from hotel entertainments team the hotel must have some of the best views in Puerto Rico built high up on the top of a hill ,the walk from the hotel to amadores beach was quite a trek not for anyone with walking difficulties saying that the wife and i got a taxi back up to the hotel only cost 3 euros , the all inclusive was very good local and branded drinks excellent choice of food ,always plenty of sun beds and umbrellas the main pools were allways busy with lots of children but there was a sun terrace used by adults so you had the best of both worlds i would certainly go back to this hotel for a weeks chill but i think it would be enough due to the location .

Room Tip: Higher floors over looking amadores beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My partner and I spent 2 weeks here in May 2010 and another 11 nights in May this year (2013) and we were pleased the experience was just as good as the first time.

The hotel is on top of a cliff with amazing views of Amadores, a stunning location, but this does mean that it's not the best for walking to the beach front, we did it once but the walk is really very steep, we didn't do it again. The hotel does however run a free bus service back and to to the beach about every 30 minutes until about 17:30, and taxi's are also so easily available, request one at the reception, they give you a ticket with the taxi number on, and by the time you've walked outside, there's a taxi waiting at the front of the hotel for you, brilliant service, really nice clean, luxurious taxi's and only about 3 euros to the beach - we preferred this option to waiting around for the free bus.
There's a very steep hill to walk up to get out of the hotel grounds, but it's not a long walk, it's managable, but perhaps not for people with mobility issues.
Once out of the hotel grounds, just a short walk away from the hotel (10 mins) is the Europa Centre, where there are shops, bars, restaurants and stuff for kids to do, trampolines etc.
We went here a few nights to escape the terrible entertainment in the hotel - go to Xtreeemz bar, DJ Russ will have you laughing and joining in his 'shots' quiz, great atmosphere, all good fun and friendly.

Check in was really quick and easy, the staff are so polite and helpful and speak so many languages. I had emailed ahead and requested a room on floor 5 with a view of Amadores Beach and my request had been granted. It's also really handy that you can get free bottles of water from reception at any time, saves all the trouble of lugging big bottles of water back from supermarkets. We were also given pool towels, which can be exchanged for clean towels each day at the pool.
We made our way to our room and by the time we arrived a porter arrived with our cases, really good service. Our room was fine, quite small (smaller than our first visit), but we weren't bothered by this as it was only somewhere to rest our head at night. The bed I struggled with as it was very hard. There's a small fridge which is handy for water etc, and our maid kept our room spotlessly clean every day. Plenty of storage and hangers in the wardrobe.

There are 2 evening meal sittings - 7pm and 8.30pm, we were given 8.30pm which was ideal for us, I think the earlier sitting tends to me more for guests with children.
The selection of food in the evening is fantastic in my opinion, I really think you would struggle to not find something you like. Everything from pastas, pizza, various meats in sauces, fish, salads, cold meats, paella, with all kinds of veggies and potatoes to choose from. Chefs at stations cook from fresh throughout the sitting, there were different roast meats every night, different fish, just everything really, then there's the deserts - so many cakes, tarts, ice creams, toppings, fresh fruit yogurts etc. Soft drinks, wine, lager and water is on tap - you can help yourself.

Breakfast is equally fabulous, so much choice, including the usual sausages, bacon, all different types of egg - fried, boiled, scrambled, omlettes, tortilla's (I personally recommend the omlettes), all sorts of breads, croissants, pastries, jams, spreads, fresh fruits, yogurts, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, freshly squeezed juice from an array of fruits, excellent selection.

We ate lunch in the pool side restaurant most days and did find the selection was quite slim. Pizza's, hot dogs, chips, burgers etc and salad, but nothing really to have with the salad, like ham, cheese etc, but it was ok, we didn't go hungry.

The service by all staff is fantastic - they do not stop, cleaning, tidying, smiling, the hotel is really well kept, you can not fault the staff at all! They are brilliant!

The pool is lovely - we tended to go to the top infinity pool as it was used more by adults and most families tended to use the bottom pool so it wasn't as chilled. The views again are stunning.
There were plenty of sun beds, we never had a problem finding 2 together and there were plenty stacked up to use, if we did. There's plenty going on during the day, lots to do, games to join in etc should you want to.

The main bar is more of a show room, with all the chairs in rows towards the stage.
The entertainment is terrible, it's just bad miming to dodgy musical songs and blokes acting daft in womens clothes, oh and lots of karaoke - really not our bag, but then we didn't expect it to be any different. International drink brands are available in the all inclusive package which is great. The bar shuts promptly at midnight.

Amadores Beach is beautiful, we spent many days there. The water is crystal clear and my partner enjoyed snorkelling around the rocks where there are lots of fish. It's 10 Euros for 2 sun loungers & a parasol for the day. There are foot showers on the beach and public toilets with showers too which are spotlessly clean - remember 50 cent for the loo! Plenty of places to eat and drink along the beach front and lots of little shops too.

There's a foot path which starts from the left hand side of the beach and goes along the coast right to Puerto Rico Harbour - well worth the walk, lovely views and lots of lizards in the rocks!.

We went deep sea fishing for Marlin & Tuna, which was a great experience, but not recommended for those who don't travel in boats well.

A ferry to Puerto Mogan is recommended, lovely picturesque town, you can get the ferry from Puerto Rico Harbour for less than 10 euros per person.

All in all we had a fabulous holiday, apart from some sickness on the last day, but no idea of the cause, I would recommend Riu Vistamar to anyone and more so the resort of Amadores.

The absolute highlight of our holiday though has got to be our visits to Amadores Beach Club Restaurant and spa... which I have reviewed on here too (take a look) - the place is absolute heaven and well worth paying for a little bit of luxury!

Room Tip: Floor 5 with views of Amadores Beach - bliss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south of the river
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed at the vistamar with my wife ,6th-13th June ,didn't arrive at hotel until 2.15 am but was greeted very well,was checked in very quickly and allocated a lovely room on the 1st floor only problem the view wasn't very good, asked at reception if it was possible to have a room on a higher floor and was told to ask in the morning after breakfast, was greeted very well after brekkie and given a lovely room on the 3rd floor(room363) with amazing views.many choices of food for each sitting and for the evening meal you sit at the same table each night 6.30 sitting or 8.30 what ever you want,Drinks were very good the usual all inclusive type,and no trouble getting served, as there was plenty of staff.as for the staff absolutely perfect not one miserable one,always a hello and thank you.the pools are very well kept and and no trouble getting a sun bed whatever time of day,forgot to mention a free safe with your room and water from reception,we did the dolphin trip with the hotel cost 29 euros but you got picked up and dropped off just by the hotel and was lucky enough to see about a dozen dolphins so well worth the money the trip lasts about 3hours all told so plenty of time to get back and sun bathe trip cheaper than thomsons so book at reception just 1 problem with hotel is you get charged 15euros per couple for the last nights dinner which for some ridiculous reason is not included even thou is is part of your 7 days (strange) and because check outs are normally late if you want your room longer its 50euros.but if you've had a great stay you don't mind paying it ,all in all very good hotel

Room Tip: Try to get a room 3rd floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Vistamar

Address: Avda de la Cornisa | Playa de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Set on a cliff overlooking the sea * 9-story building * 900 m to the beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 2 km from Puerto Rico * 900 m from various shops * 45 km from the airport * 100 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Club Hotel Riu Vistamar
Clubhotel Riu Vistamar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Vistamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.