We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Vistamar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Vistamar to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda de la Cornisa | Playa de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
south wales
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just got back from the vistamar after spending a week there,I have to say the staff,food and the cleanliness of the hotel were fantastic. Stayed on the 5th floor overlooking amadores beach the room was superb and cleaned daily, this was the best room I have ever stayed in. Downsides,location the hilly access is not ideal but taxis are cheap and readily available. And the night entertainment,the animation team are fantastic but the shows are almost the same,miming and dancing,not original.would I stay at the vistamar again probably yes but I think I would look at hotels closer to sea level or on the flat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    566
    207
    57
    26
See reviews for
473
852
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

First time in a Riu hotel in europe but had a very good holiday with the family both granddaughters (19yrs/17yrs) had a wonderful time even without a nightclub.Food was exceptional something for all tastes.Rooms were of a high standard kept well clean and a nice touch from the maid with the animals/birds made from the towels.Pools felt chilly but i am sure that was due to the very warm weather we had.Views across the bay were superb both in the day and in the evening.Free bus to the beach was a nice touch as it is very hilly and in the heat not a pleasent walk back to the hotel.All the staff were very friendly and made us very welcome.One thing that would have been welcome would be to have tea/coffee facilities in the rooms but that would not stop us saying what a very good hotel this is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
"The Gow"-Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just got back from a great week at The Vistamar and rate it a good 4*.

Staff were superb and so nice with no complaints at all. Food was to a high standard with the drinks being typical All Inc standard. Tables were far too close at meal times and quite off putting. I must also say that SOME of the Germans were VERY RUDE and loved to push in. For this reason we would not return to a RIU hotel.

Pools were very clean but a wee bit cold with the hotel giving pool towels which is a nice touch. Our maid left our room spotless and it was a lovely large room (505). The mini fridge was great but the air con was crap as the hotel had it turned low to save money. OurThomson rep was fantastic and one of the best we have had, what a lovely young Lady.

Free bus to the beach was great and we had a few great days down there. Try "The Irish Cottage" for food, superb value and lovely people. Met a lovely couple, Derek and either his wife or daughter!!!! The Crystal Submarine Boat Trip in Puerto Rico is fantastic and better value for money than the yellow Submarine trip in Mogan and half the price!

All in all the hotel is of a high 4* standard but we were put off by the rude Germans but please do not be put off as you will have a great time if you go and avoid the rude pushy people. A great hotel with beautiful views of the ocean. Many thanks to all the staff for giving us a great weeks holiday.

Room Tip: 505 is on the top accom floors in a quiet location. A lovely room apart from the hotel being tight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was the third visit in four years to this hotel; we like the area and the hotel. Standards seem to have fallen since our last visit (Jan 2012). The rooms are tired with thread bare carpets, solid beds and air conditioning that barely worked, was noisy and smelled. The catering always has been towards the continental preferences but the logic seems to be strange; yes cold meats and cheeses for breakfast, but come the evening meal when perhaps a salad would have gone down well after a hot day, no cold meats to go with the cold salads; a hot choice had to be made. Why is it that flights from Britain all seem to be at some silly o'clock whilst the ones from elsewhere land at sensible hours? It isn't just the airlines after all Thomson is owned by TUI which is German as indeed is Riu. Because of the inconvenient flight time home 21.00 to land at 01.25 we attempted to hold onto our room until bus pick up time. 50 Euros for the 6 hours, but we were unable to do it because of the invaders from the north of the island. Either a red wrist band for 24 hours or blue for 48 hours; the latter rate being 90 euros for the 2 days it makes sense for Riu to get them in in preference to us? However the invaders, being able to converse with the staff, among other things, were a complete nuisance basically taking over the hotel. They were noisy and boisterous, non queueing and determined to get value for money by any means possible. Thankfully they only turned up at weekends! The same happened at the Riu Marco Polo in Tunisia when we were there so perhaps this is an attempt by Riu to improve the cash flow, but possibly to the detriment of the longer stay guest! Would we go again probably not! We've always thought better the devil you know etc but perhaps now is the time to try other devils; they might be better!

Room Tip: Ask for floor 4 or preferably 5 which is the top with a view of the sea. A view of the beach would g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Ihave stayed at the vistamar 3 times and cannot complain about the hotel and staff as i have always been treated like a friend by the staff and i have met people from different parts of the world while staying there and never had a problem untill i stayed there last september early october. I am disabled and use a rollator and on walking round to the pool bar i found people had spread their sunloungers out and the sunloungers close to the rail were all touching with no room to get my rollator through. I pulled a lounger round to the outside of the ones that were spread out and these people complained and i had to move. They then proceeded to stare and laugh at me in the bar and gave me dirty looks every time i passed them. As a single female traveller i felt very intimidated by this and was in tears and wanted to come home. After saving for a year and spending £1500 on this holiday i was distraught. The barman told me these peole were dutch and not german and i was surprised as the dutch are very nice people and also ive met some very nice german people and nice people of all nationalities at the vistamar but i got the impression that these people are there every year and thought they could do what they like. I thought i wouldnt go to any other hotel in Gran Canaria because i love the vistamar but this year im going to the gloria palace because im going the same 2 weeks this year and i cant take the chance of meeting those very ignorant people again. Its a pity but i would advise any traveller on their own to watch out for the bullies on the sunloungers on the right as you walk round to the pool bar. Other than that the vistamar is a lovely hotel with good food exelent views and the nicest frienliest staff i have ever met.

Room Tip: ask for 5th floor for beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just spent a week in this hotel, we arrived late at night and although it was after 12 the staff has arranged drinks and snacks for people arriving late. So that was a good at start, we had booked 2 separate rooms but requested adjoining rooms as we have two children. I rang up the hotel the day before leaving England to request this.

On arrival the reception staff had remembered me ringing at did give us the adjoining room, the room was very clean. Special bonus was we had two bathrooms which is great when getting ready to go out. We were originally on the first floor, could not get used to the fact that reception was on the 8th floor and the pool on the 9th. Upside down hotel.

Cleaning staff are great they come in every day and clean the rooms, our cleaner ,made an elephants head out of towels for us and put them on the bed which the kids enjoyed, especially the one with sun glasses on.

We arrived on the Thursday late, Monday night around midnight i went into the bathroom and turned the light on to find Cockroaches running around. I freaked out, killed the bathroom ones
only then to find one running across the bedroom floor. As we turned off the TV to sleep we were then kept awake until 5 am listening to the Cockroaches scratching away in the top of the cavity of the wardrobe. We did ring down to the reception and inform them they said they would move us straight away but only one room. So we had to stay put until morning because o the children, eventually we were given 2 single room on the edge of the hotel looking down to Amadores beach. Beautiful view i must say.
I did find a Cockroach in the girls bathroom, about 2 inches long. killed in quick as i could not tell the kids it was there, we would have been on the next plane home.

Food in the hotel was very good, plenty to choose from every day, my daughter had pancakes each morning and loved them. Plenty of fresh fruit & yogurt for breakfast as well as the full English. Its easier to have lunch around the pool area from the snack bar especially if you have
kids. Pool was rather cold although it was the end of May, plenty of sun loungers.Staff at the hotel are so nice and very helpful.
TRIPS OUT
Taxi service through the hotel just ask at reception they ring through & give you a taxi number which arrives in minutes very quick. Just under 5 Euros to Puerto Rico centre where the beach is really nice worth a trip out for the day. We booked the jet ski's for half an hour for 2 adults & 2 kids 120 Euro. Well worth the experience kids loved it, make sure u were minimal clothes as i got drenched. Europa shopping centre is minutes away from the hotel just up the hill, BEWARE of the electrical shops they RIP you off big style. Irish bar was very good kids loved it, Las Palomas was nice but very windy, which apparently is all the time. If you go for a look at the 5 mile sand dunes be warned the sand hits your legs that hard its like needles OUCH. NIce to see though amazing in fact. Be wary of the touts are they get you hooked within minutes id your gullible. Taxi there and back was around 55 euro's. There is a bus from the beach which is a lot cheaper.

Wi-Fi was expensive should be free really, 5 Euros's for an 1 1/2 hrs. We ended up paying 20 Euros for 3 days. If you have a late flight make sure you have a late check out booked, as we ended up being out of our room for 12.5 hrs.

Entertainment was ok nothing spectacular though, seen better, Had a stomach bug the day i was leaving, not what you need getting on the plane. Lady on the plane next to me had also been ill ,that day very sick etc. She was also at the Riu, TIPS, don't eat the nuts from the bar as this lady found a Cockroach in them.

Room Tip: If your travelling alone ask for rooms on the 4th &5th Floor, ask for the beach sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosport
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have just spent a week at the vistamar. 18th May to the 25th May 2013. The hotel was very clean and the room was lovely, with amazing sea views. all staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was amazing and plenty of choice for every appetite. The pools were lovely, a very peaceful location away from the hustle and bustle but easy to get to places too. The shuttle bus to the beach is great as it is a long walk, well worth going to. Absolutely amazing in every way, cant wait to go back. Missing it already. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ClubHotel Riu Vistamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Vistamar

Address: Avda de la Cornisa | Playa de Mogan, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Rico
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Rico
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Rico
#11 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Vistamar 4*
Number of rooms: 475
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Set on a cliff overlooking the sea * 9-story building * 900 m to the beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 2 km from Puerto Rico * 900 m from various shops * 45 km from the airport * 100 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Vistamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ClubHotel Riu Vistamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Club Hotel Riu Vistamar
Clubhotel Riu Vistamar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Vistamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.