We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't deserve the praise it's received” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Pino

Mama Pino
Centro Commercial, Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 131 Restaurants in Puerto Rico
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Southern Spain
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Doesn't deserve the praise it's received”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

I had high hopes of this restaurant, but it turned out to be pretty mediocre. I speak fluent Spanish, and ordered a pasta puttanesca to share, followed by a solomillo de la casa (also to share). Needless to say (after a long wait) they arrived together. The putanesca sauce was pretty much "in a jar" and arrived at the same time as the solomillo. After we had sent it back, the new fillet was rather good, but came served in the same ghastly "gunge" - over-reduced, and crude. All in all, not a good meal - and you'll pay euros 15.50 for a euros 3.99 Sangre de Torre. The staff (to give them their credit) seemed pretty embarrassed by it all .Avoid!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Now i'm going to be completely honest here and say yes this is really good food and the service is ok, the staff are very friendly BUT it is not as good as some of the other restaurants. If you really want excellent food and fantastic service try Cosi com sei. We did have a nice meal here but for us it didn't shine like some of the others.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“this is a special restaurant!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Ate here last night, and it is def on a par with Minanas and Cosi com si..........maybe even better!!!!
We have been holidaying here for 5 years now, and every year we eat at the 2 restaurants mentioned above, simply because they are quality restaurants. Add Mama Pino to your list!!!!

I had the chefs special - beef stroganoff. Not what you would expect to see......the sauce had more of a gravy texture, but it was absolutely gorgeous!!! My wife had the peppered chicken and again it was way better than `alright`.
Service was provided with a smile - the chefs cooking station is clear to view (and he comes around to check things are ok) and all is priced very fairly!!!!

Great new restaurant......and we will def visit again!! Well done to all involved!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Chef with a true passion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I can honestly say that it was the very best meal that I have had ANYWHERE in the last 12 months. My advice go for the Chef's Special (on blackboard outside) - and let him produce his daily creation. He absolutely excels at what he does, and is a Master with Fish. Where as most of the meals in other restaurants will be a plate full of food, his meals are gourmet, beautifully plated and cooked before your eyes. A chef that cares, and wants to please.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food And Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have been to gran canaria Peurto Rico about 16 times, we visit Mama Pinos Restaurant wich is situated on the second floor at the far end of the bottom shopping centre, The food and service are both excellent, Try the Strogonoff or the lamb mmmm lovely, Juan the owner cooks most of the main meals in front of you on the main grill while you sit outside you can watch him turn something simple into an excellent meal. The staff are all very well trained and the service is excellent. Well done to all the team.See you all in March

Steve And Jo Foster

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Pino also viewed

Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Mama Pino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Pino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.