We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Altamar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Altamar to your Saves list
Hotel Altamar
1.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Avenida de la Cornisa, 21, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at Altamar from 23rd-30th June!!I emailed hotel 2 weeks before arrival and requested a room on 6th floor and that's what I got, very impressed with location!! Rooms are basic but you have everything you need, we were self catering and plenty of kitchen equipment if you need it! Bathroom very large and great Balcony with fantastic views! Cleaners came in every few days.We had meals in the hotel a few times and were always lovely! Pools are great and not overcrowded!!...Now for the entertainment team!!! FANTASTIC!!! Gazza Steph Becky and gang were great!! Met some fantastic people and really enjoyed our holiday!! Bar/restaurant, reception staff all friendly especially Carlos who always made my girls laugh!! Shop was reasonable prices too!! would definetly return to the Altamar!!Thanks to all the staff for a great holiday

Room Tip: Rooms from floor 3 upwards are good due to location of pools bar etc but any floor is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    396
    162
    43
    28
See reviews for
401
343
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Me and a friend visited June 2014, it was lovely! Very clean, maids came every couple days. Rooms are big, balcony is huge! The choice of 2 pools is great! The lift isn't really a problem although if your on level 0 like us expect to wait a few minutes, but at least they have benches lol. We still have an awesome view of the sea from our balcony too!

Hilarious entertainment at the Barbacoa in Europa centre (first place as you get there) comedy shows, music with cheap drink offers! 2 for a fiver! Went there every night! Both for food and entertainent

Great Chinese restaurant in Europa, upstairs called Hong Kong. Went there twice it was so good! Also a really good tex mex downstairs in the Europa!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here with my best friend for one week all inclusive. Arrived to an apartment over looking the sea with great views but the apartment it's self was run down. We had no curtains, broken floor tiles and a shower that did not work. Our apartment door lock broke several times, kept having to call reception to fix it as didn't think it was safe to leave apartment unlocked. Bar staff were very rude. Had two cockroaches in room on our stay. Food was repetitive and got boring. This hotel would be amazing for kids, they run about everywhere. Thomas cook advertise trips, which are great - the 1day three combo & scuba diving is amazingly fun. Wouldn't rush back, although your guaranteed sunshine everyday in GranCanaria you can find someplace nicer.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We went in April the weather was beautiful, we had room 116 on the 3rd floor where the pools & restaurant are located, very clean rooms towels & bedding changed every other day, The food was spot on there was so much choice they cater for everyone, so if you read that the food is not good then whoever said that must be very very picky, the staff were brilliant, bingo at 4pm is brill we never play but here we did & won a lot of euros its well worth playing. Only down side is the lifts....if they break down or are working on them be prepared to climb a hell of a lot of stairs (killer if your not very fit like me) The walk down to the beach is stunning well worth it although there is a bus. Will be going back soon, my sister who came with us has already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Third floor the best everything on that level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed here from 19th-27th with my boyfriend. Stayed in room 10B which was the bottom floor. We were disappointed with the view from our room as we were promised sea views and only had a view of the hedge... so beware if you're booked onto the floor 0!

Overall cleanliness of the room was very good- the room and living area was waaaay more spacious than we needed- was very happy with this. Bed was very comfortable. Pool was decent. Didn't bother with the expensive air con- as the ceiling fan in the living room and bedroom was enough. There's also a Spar just in the hotel reception which was really handy- we went there everyday.


We didn't stay all inclusive so can't comment on the food there, but whenever we did order food in the hotel around lunch time we had a very long wait for our food! If you aren't all inclusive then be prepared for a taxi ride each way to a restaurant! We were told that there was a courtesy bus from the top of the hill to the bottom (it's a very long hill- would take easily 45 minutes to walk to the bottom) but this bus never arrived so we ended up getting taxis everywhere. The closest strip of restaurants here were on Amadores beach (be prepared for this to be quiet this time of year- it's quiet everywhere!)- Blue Beach was my favourite! Very friendly staff and the food was excellent. Puerto Rico Harbour had some really nice restaurants that were good value for money as well.

If you're looking for a bunch of bars that are more of the livelier sorts- we travelled 40 minutes on the bus to Playa del Ingles (not really that special) but head to the Yumbo centre if you're going to go there. All the bars are set together into Centres all around the Island, nearest to Altamar is the Europa centre and the Puerto Rico Shopping Centre (both good)- head to the Greedy Pig if you're after a good, cheap English breakfast.

Will mention Taurito water sports- head there if you're after some water sports. For 65 euros you get time on a jet ski, a jet boat, paragliding and on a crazy shark. Very good. In the Puerto Rico Harbour there is also a place to rent a kayak, would recommend this as well.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the ground floor (level 0) if you want a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I have been to this loveley hotel many times now, and I have to say it just gets better and better. The way you are treated by the absolutley amazing reception staff as soon as you arrive is first class. They are so polite and very helpful at all times, big thank you to them.

I had a room on the 6th floor apartment 150A. Wow, room was big and recently decorated with a large balcony that provides amazing sea views. You had everything you would require if you were self catering or as I was all inclusive.

The food, and this is an honest review is simply wonderful, an astonishing choice provided evrey day and night. The chef deserves special mention as does his staff for the consistently excellent food.

There is nightlife close by at the Europa Centre which has a wide array of pubs and resteraunts to choose from. Or if you prefer 3-4 euros in a taxi takes you to the larger Commercial Centre.

All the staff at the Altamar go out of their way to make your stay a special one. I cant now and to be honest never will understand anyone who can write a negative review regarding the Altamar and what it has to offer.

Do yourself a favour and give this hotel a try, I promise you wont regret it.

Finally on behalf of my family and I thank you to all at the Altamar for making our holiday special,

Room Tip: All rooms have spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a very nice place to stop we have always been coming here we always have a laugh when the lifts brake down but its all good fun, the food and rooms are 5 stars for us always clean and lovely the staff are the same always there to help no matter what time of the day!!

Brill holiday cant wait come back!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Altamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altamar

Address: Avenida de la Cornisa, 21, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Altamar 1*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This emblematic Hotel is located on the high area of Puerto Rico Gran Canaria, its offers 257 fully rebuilt Apartments with wide terrace and impressive views to the see. We also offer a great variety of services and great equipmentfor all kind of guest (families, couples, groups, etc...). All you may require to enjoy and unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Altamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altamar Aparthotel Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Altamar Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Altamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.