We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Brilliant Babalu!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Babalu Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Babalu Apartments to your Saves list
Babalu Apartments
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de la Cornisa s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Brilliant Babalu!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Having just returned from a 10 night stay at the Babalu apartments we had a fantastic stay. The apartments were clean and maintained regularly. The pool area was amazing and the food from the pool bar excellent value for money as well as tasty. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and the apartments were in a perfect position for restaurants, bars and nightlife. We would recommend these apartments without hesitation and would gladly return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    145
    63
    25
    24
See reviews for
59
190
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed at babalu from the 13th-27th aug rooms are very spacious balcony is like a extra room they are massive! Pool bar food is lovely! Close to the bar and restaurants an a 2 mins taxi to the comerical centre €2-4 max lovely apartments would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We went to Gran Canaria from Sweden and stayed at the apartment hotel Babalu in Puerto Rico. The cleanliness of the room was terribly disgusting!

Some minutes after arrival, when we packed up our clothes, we found cockroaches in the bedroom :( Disgusting! During our stay we had to put up mold, fungus, dirt, hair and dust in the apartment. The cleaning was totally worthless!!! We pointed our displeasure to the receptionist but it didn’t help. We even asked if we could borrow a vacuum cleaner to clean our room because it was dirty after the cleaning lady have been there. But we did not get it.

We feel terribly unhappy and frustrated over this. How can this be a three-star apartment hotel?? It is wrong, it´s one star hotel (max!). I have taken pictures to show you what it looked like

There was NO air-conditioning.

Room Tip: There was NO air-conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My and my girl friend stayed at this hotel on 5 th to 12 September , it was very clean the maid asked us every day if we wanted our room clean , the pool was also clean and the guys in the bar are relay nice , this hotel is good for family's and we are Defo bring our Weeone in November here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

myself and my husband had a two week holiday in gran canaria our accomadation was the babalu apts they are situated just across the road from europa centre where all your bars restaurants and entertainment is.The babalu apts are really clean and basic but they are nice,the pool area and the surroundings eg: the gardens are really well maintained it is spotless there is nothing you could complain about.the pool bar is really nice and the food from the bar is lovley and well presented.all the staff are really freindly and helpful my holiday was lovley i am going back next year with my family i loved it sandra & mark bates xx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

we love the babalu abd stay there every time we go to gran canaria however this time was our worst stay.

Dave was no longer there to provide the laughs and the friendly vibe around the pool and in replacement there were lots of spainish families consuming the entire pool area. Although I do not have a problem with the spainish, they were screaming over you to each other which was quite uncomfortable while you're trying to relax on your sunbed. I have to add, one family also stole our lilo and secured it on their balcony which was rather annoying.

The room was lovely and perfect for 2 people sharing. Massive balcony with amazing views from the 6th floor where we were situated.


My boyfriend badly sprained his foot on the first night of our stay and the staff could not have been more caring and helpful. Paco actually retrieved his father's crutches for us to borrow for the remainder of our stay. Everytime we went through reception they would check on him, was really warming.


Cannot forget to mention the pool bar food is amazing. Better than some of the restaurants in the Europa. And the bar staff were always friendly and helpful.


Although we love the Babalu it is not the same as it was when we first came to stay and we do not like feeling uncomfortable in the pool area when you want to relax. Dave is one of the main reasons we stay at the Babalu so without him, I dont think im paying for the same holiday experience. you need someone down at the bar getting families together, running the Bbq and the football.If we werent with our large family, it would have been dull.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Lovely hotel situated very close to the top of Puerto Rico Barabacoa Centre. Very Close to shopping center and restaurants. Very laid back atmosphere and family friendly. Lovely heated pool alongside larger pool (cleaned daily) Relaxed poolbar with food available. Rooms clean and very friendly service from staff. Large balcony space ideal for private sunbathing.

Room Tip: If you like sun all day choose rooms from 04 to 08 on each floor. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Babalu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babalu Apartments

Address: Avda de la Cornisa s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
#14 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Babalu Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Babalu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babalu Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Babalu Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babalu Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.