We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved the babalu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Babalu Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Babalu Apartments to your Saves list
Babalu Apartments
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de la Cornisa s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
pontypridd
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“loved the babalu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

recently stayed at these apartments, and have to say how clean the whole complex was. from the maids to the pool cleaners, very nice place also dave the entertainer is excellent with kids and adults, bit of bingo and shows going on just makes the holiday more enjoyable. apartments are spotless and room are done regular on your stay. set on the hillside i would not recommend it for people with walking difficulties as its ok going down hill but its the up hill in the heat but taxi is about 3 euro to take you back. we have a very good time there and will be going back again for a very relaxing holiday.

  • Liked — how clean complex is
  • Disliked — where it is situated
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    138
    61
    24
    23
See reviews for
55
183
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Babalu Apartments.

We had a ground floor apartment which was spotless.

We loved the location of these apartments they are opposite a shopping centre which is full of Bars and Restaurants. There are also a few shops in the centre as well. But if you want even more bars and restaurants you will need to jump in to a cab for 3euros and go down to the commercial centre.

The hotel staff were very helpful and couldn’t do enough for us.

The pool bar sold very nice snacks and full meals and they were reasonably priced.

There are three pools.....a children’s pool, a medium pool and a deep pool. All three were spotless.

There is entertainment on every night apart from Saturdays (change over day) and Dave the entertainer will try and get you along to these nights.

Amordes beach is a 15minute walk.......this was a hard walk as the roads are slippery but you can get a cab for 2euros.

We will definitely be staying at these apartments again. Had a great time here.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2008

first checked it out on the net review's and the apts seemed fine
there were some bad review's but we decided to give them a try anyway when we arrived there they seemed ok it was late when we arrived so we went to bed next morning was the welcome meeting by the pool bar this was held using the bar pa system
which could be heard all over the complex so that meant that for the next three days you heard the same crap every time they had a welcome meeting when these were over you had to listen to the lager louts from morning to night they have a happy (hour)
at 12-30 till 1-30 in the afternoon and another one at 8-30 pm
till 9-30 but the louts were there drinkin all day management or the bar staff dont care what happens around the bar or pool as long as they made money everthing about the babalu was a money racket it was advertised as a family and couples complex
THIS IS NOT THE CASE _____ as the carry on at and around the pool and bar were there are young children was a disgrace it is NOT AS ADVERTISED QUIET AND RELAXING!!! was a very
disapointing holiday i certainly would rate these apts as 3 star would not go back!!!!

john and tricia dublin

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — lack of basics in apts ie kettle toaster all this was extra charge
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

This was the secound time myself and girlfreind have travelled to Gran Canaria and we love it especially the Amadores Beach. The last time we went we stayed at the Colina Mar which has fantastic views but every time we walked past the Babalu we both commented on how nice it would be to stay there. Whilst the apartments were ok and the entertainment good we were very dissapointed with the Hotel Reception staff, on arrival we were charged in the region of 90 euro,s for the hire of toaster,kettle and safe ,ok we got 20 euros back on the safe but still a rip off, in hindsight cheaper to go to the local shopping centre and buy new. Also we had no plug in the sink to be able to wash up when i asked the hotel reception for a new one they moaned on about how every one kept taking them (as if). Four days later and two requests we finally got one what a pain for a simple plug.I will definately be going back to puerto rico but i wont be staying here based on the poor Hotel staff who really need to cheer up some.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2008

Stayed here in July 07 and had a really good time. The balconies are brilliant being so huge and the views and pools are gorgeous.
Bar staff are all friendly and there is various entertainment every night which is good if you just fancy an early night and want to watch something from your balcony.
Only annoying thing was music is played from about 9.30am every day which is a pain if you want a lie in or a sleep in the day or even just want to doze off round the pool.
Kids are kept entertained though which is good!
Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Pool and Balcony
  • Disliked — Loud music round the pool so early
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

went to stay at babalu 3rd march just got back today ,they were great maids clean rooms every day apart from sunday.rooms were ok kitchen could do with updating the pool was cleaned everyday and they was plenty of sunbeds for every one , we also had food from the snackbar which taste great and was hot . The staff were very friendly and helpful and will definitely be going back there again ,it was only a short walk from europa center so no taxi to catch and the commerical center is a steady walk downhill but would advise get taxi back only cost 3 euros

  • Liked — the size of rooms and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — the lift and its at top of hill
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2007

the babalu apartments are not a very nice at all. it looks nice in the brochure but not in really life. the apartments are dirty as the maids dont clean up properly on our second week they had a sewage problem and was coming up through peoples toilets in apartments, the pool was green because it wasnt cleaned out. overall this hotel ruined our holiday and would never go back to puerto rico again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Babalu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babalu Apartments

Address: Avda de la Cornisa s/n, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Babalu Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Babalu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babalu Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Babalu Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Babalu Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.