We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riosol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riosol to your Saves list
Hotel Riosol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Isla de Lobos 1, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Riosol Aparthotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Easter Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Me,husband and teenage son enjoyed a lovely week in the riosol.
We had a one bedroom which although not large was very clean and comfortable.
The view from our balcony was fab. We were half board and the food was good with lots of choice for both breakfast and evening meals. We found the staff all very helpfull and friendly.
Theres not a lot for teenagers to do but my son enjoyed the archery and shooting.
We walked down the 700 steps to the harbour and took a boat trip where we saw dolphins but coming back up was a challenge ( legs sore next day) There was no problem getting sunbeds around the pool. All in all a great week and if visiting gran canaria again we would stay in the riosol.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    253
    116
    49
    38
See reviews for
295
251
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My sister, niece and I spent 10 days in April 2013 in this hotel.
Room: ask the reception for a spare key to insert it inside your kitchen because without it there`s no electricity and the fridge won`t work if you take the key with you. The apartment is nice, comfortable, quiet, great view but a cockroach came sniffing one day because the rubbish had not been taken out (luckily they had left a spray under the sink and we killed the poor fellow). Also there`s no separation : smokers/ non smokers therefore if you enjoy the beautiful view and your neighbors decide they want to smoke all evening, bad luck, you need to lock yourself in.
Bring your own soap as you won`t get any. You will also need to pay extra for the Tv, safety box, internet. Internet is a pain in this hotel: they say there`s free WIFi in the lobby, but it doesn`t work, therefore you need to pay 1 euro for 15 mins just to discover you can`t print, there`s no sound system so you can`t hear anything, the web cam is not functional AND sometimes THERE`S NO INTERNET and usually they won`t refund you.
Food: We had breakfast and dinner: good food, nice service, helpful staff but the food is not labeled, therefore as a vegetarian I found it difficult to find out what I could eat (when barbecue there`s hardly anything for vegetarians except salads and dessert ). Great desserts though.
Distance: difficult with the luggage: many steps and a frightening elevator, the hotel displaid it`s sign to be visible from the beach but not at the front, therefore at first we drove round and round looking for it...
Sometimes there`s no electricity (like 30 minutes in the morning when we were packing whilst still dark outside and another hour another morning).
Kids entertainment: my niece did not like it and I found it boring, but it may just be us. They are not too kind to animals: there was a reptiles show one night and poor things got disco lights in their eyes and loud screams from the public...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rio Sol was a lovely place for a family. Nice quiet setting with good amenities and great staff. We were on a family holiday with three teenagers and enjoyed a relaxing break much helped by the staff.
Hotel is a distance from the beach but reception were able to source taxis without delay (even for five-seaters) and fare down to town centre about 3.5 - 4 euro.
Plenty of restaurants, shops, pharmacies, etc, within 100m of hotel.
Riosol provides "exactly what it says on the tin"
Particular thanks to Pedro, Reception Manager, for outstanding help and patience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not to far down the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Riosol is a hotel that delivers what you would expect it to for a 3 star hotel.
Superb views from both our rooms (we requested a change of room) and if you are prepared for a 20 minute downhill walk to the harbour/beach it offers a good location for your holiday.
We stayed room only so can't comment on food but hotel facilities are perfectly adequate.
Rooms are spacious and well equipped but bathrooms are in need of modernisation which is why we had to switch rooms as 1st one had a shower that flooded the bathroom. All balconies are large with great seaviews.
Ideal hotel for those wanting clean, no frills hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner booked this hotel on the recommendation of my parents who have stayed in this hotel, and i must say what a wonderful place to stay and spend a holiday. The view alone whilst eating your breakfast in the morning on the balcony is worth the trip! The hotel itself is very well equipped with everything you need from a shop to two swimming pools, tennis courts and free wifi. Everything in the hotel was well presented and clean with very friendly and helpful staff on reception, the entertainment at night could have been a bit better as i thought the quality wasn't all that great. The location of the hotel isnt the best as its at the top of a hill but we had no problem walking the steps or road down to the beach and nightlife, however there is a small shopping and eating centre only 5 mins walk away. The room we had was very spacious with a wonderfully large balcony big enough for two sun beds, table and chairs with a parasol and still plenty of room to spare! The kitchen area was quite modern with everything utensil wise that you would need. The bedroom and bathroom was ok but very plain, the shower in out room needed a new head as it was more like a tap the way the water came out! Apart from that one little gripe we had a fantastic holiday and it made it all the more special spending it in the Riosol we will definitely be coming back at some point over the next year with us looking to maybe upgrade to a premium apartment which i must say are very very top notch!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for having chosen the Riosol Hotel for your most recent stay here on the sunny island of Gran Canaria.
We highly appreciate that you took your time to share your experiences with us and our community on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you spent wonderful time at the Riosol Hotel.
We forward your praise to the staff and are sure it will be a big motivation for them to go on doing their utmost to satisfy every client.
We really do hope to welcome you again for a future holiday.

Best Regards
Lorenzo Sentis
Customer Service/Riversun Touristic
customerservice@riversun-touristic.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at Riosol for 3 week in March 2013, on Ref from friends and good reviews on the internet. This was our first stay, but absolutely not the last !
The hotel has a great placement with at beautiful view over the sea, the 2 harbours and the city.
Very good shopping in the local supermarket, and the nearby Europe Center.
The hotel provides a great retaurant with a always smiling personel.
The reception is alway helpfull and very effective (both night and day), with a danish receptionist !
The cleaning is vrey friendly and smiling.
To cope with the hig levels, the hotel has a outside elevator.

The only critic to say is all the many stairs for people with problem walking.

Best regards

Jette & Niels Bjerg
Club Riversun nr. 2836
Denmark

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AparthotelRiosol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Riosol, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your open and kind words. We highly appreciate that you took your time to share your experiences with us and our community on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you spent a nice holiday on the island and that you liked the hotel, the food and the friendliness of our staff. We will pass on your comments to our management.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at the Riosol Hotel.

Kind regards
Lorenzo Sentis
Customer Service/Riversun Touristic
customerservice@riversun-touristic.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

On arriving at the Riosol we were told the room we had booked and paid for wouldnt be vacated for two days. We were put into a very inferior room where we could hear the next door occupants breathing!! We were given vouchers for drinks + safe hire and tv which we had to sign for and assumed it was a good-will gesture.On the third day we had to pack and move to the room we had booked and paid for. We are in our 70s and found this all stressfull and heavy work! My complaint is that we were not told that we were signing away our rights to compensation for what we consider a third of our holiday spoiled..

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riosol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riosol

Address: C/ Isla de Lobos 1, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Riosol Aparthotel)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Rico
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#15 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riosol 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Riosol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riosol Aparthotel Puerto Rico
Riosol Aparthotel Hotel Puerto Rico
Hotel Riosol Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riosol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.