We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Bayview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Bayview to your Saves list
Marina Bayview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Guayadeque, 3, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Ipanema Park Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just got back from a 10 day stay. We had such a great time. The staff are really friendly & extremely helpful. The apartments are something else. Very trendy & spacious with amazing views, kitted out with all the essentials & completely spotless. Thanks for having us, we'll back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Oliver,

thank you very much, from all the staff, for your nice review and for the time you have dedicated to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It has been a pleasure to host you and we are glad to know that you will come back.

Warm regards,

Noemi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    136
    23
    6
    1
See reviews for
127
282
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Myself and my husband came to stay for 9 days mid May 2014 and we couldn't have asked for anything better. The weather was scorching and although it was officially mid 20's it felt far hotter and without realising we burnt on the first day... Learnt our lesson quickly ha! The apartments were lovely and clean and well maintained. Our electricity tripped out one evening and the handyman came within 5 minutes to sort it out for us. The beds were slightly uncomfortable as they have a plastic mattress protector on them and it got very warm at night. I ended up sleeping on top of the covers. The kitchen was well equipped for what we needed. The balcony was lovely and the views simply stunning!

The pool area was clean and tidy and only really seemed to be particularly busy at weekends. The pool bar was reasonably priced and the food was nice. Reception is quirky and well staffed. All staff were friendly and helpful. We asked for a late check out as we had a late flight and for 50 euros we got one.

The area of Puerto Rico is by far the best of all the Canary Island ones I have visited before. The steps are hard work but by no means put you off the apartments. In fact I have just re-booked for next year in April for my 40th Birthday!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you so much for posting such a great review about your stay at Marina Bayview!

It is a pleasure to know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad to read you have just re-booked for next year, thank you for choosing Marina Bayview to celebrate your 40th Birthday!!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards from all our staff,

Noemi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Booked a deluxe apartment on the strength of the Tripadvisor rating and it certainly lived up to
expectations. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the rooms were a good size, clean and fresh.

We had a large private balcony & the full benefit of the sun each day from about 9am till 9pm.
The view from it was wonderful. The kitchen area was good and had all you would need.
There was an remote controlled AC unit both up and downstairs to help keep every one cool.

The swimming pool was ideal to relax in and just long enough to get a good swim & It's temperature was spot on, with great views over the harbour.

My wife and and I had the twin beds in the bedroom upstairs and our daughter slept on the sofa bed, which she didn't even have to pull out as it was quite large even when folded up. Think it must of been a double sized bed when fully setup.

There is a small stop to stock up on essential items.
We didn't use the on site bar or restaurant, though they looked very good.

The 10 days just flew by.

I personally can't think of a single issue we had

One thing i should mention is that there are a lot of steps esp if you want to leave the complex
however we used to walked down and then later spend €3 on a cab back up !! well it's a holiday ... But all hotels etc on the island will most likely have the same issue, some far worse then others. Marina Bayview certainly had a lot less steps than most other places we saw

I would def' recommend these apartments without hesitation.

Room Tip: they have rooms near or far from the main pool. Ours was the deluxe and was a short walk and some st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Kev,

Thank you for sharing your nice experience at Marina Bayview.

We are delighted to hear that Marina Bayview met your expectations and that you enjoyed your holiday. We are also glad to know that you would recommend Marina Bayview, thank you!

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards from all our staff,

Noemi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

If you like funky design and great service with sea views this hotel ticks all the boxes. It was ideal for our 1 week break, conveniently located near the marina and a short walk to the town (via steps).
We had a fantastic holiday and Bayview Marina exceeded our expectations. On balance the good points far outweighed any niggles and the overall feel and stylish touches are in keeping with an expensive boutique hotel.
It would have been nicer to have a double bed otherwise our room was perfect. The breakfast offer is very broad however the hot food isn't particularly hot.
There are so many positives to list but the main benefits for us were a great view, beautiful newly furnished room with light fresh decor, excellent service and dedicated friendly staff, handy location and access to a courtesy room on check out day.
In Puerto Rico itself the Spanish restaurant Balcon Canario was outstanding. Located in the shopping centre it’s well worth a visit for excellent value tapas or main meals. The authentic Paella takes just 1 hour which can be ordered in advance. We couldn’t resist making a return visit.
Another highlight was walking to neighbouring Amadores via a costal path (30 mins). Here we enjoyed a swim in the clear blue water and the sandy beach in the sheltered lbay ined with cafes.

Room Tip: We liked our room over lookign pool, sea view. It was above the resturant which may put some people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Chloda,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Marina Bayview.

For us is very important to know that Marina Bayview exceeded your expectations, we are glad to read such a positive comment!

We hope to see you soon!

Our best regards,

Noemi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Where to start?! What an absolute gem to find! We truly LOVED Marina Bayview, we can't give it enough credit.

I reckon any apartment provides a gorgeous view of 'Puerto Base' watching the boats leisurely coming in and out of the harbour was so relaxing.

The reception is modern - very nautical and chic! The rooms are well equipped, the air-con was a blessing, good black out blinds and very comfortable beds. We slept better here than at home. The choice of normal or extra large shower head was very welcome after a hot sunny day down by the quiet pool area. I can see what people mean about the sunbeds being a tad uncomfy, I found if you used a pillow from your room or lay the opposite way round (heads where toes should be) you don't have the hump in the middle of your back!

The breakfast was fantastic, SO much variety which also differed slightly daily (full English, Spanish omlette, continental, cereals.) The orange juicer and fruit smoothie (especially the Forest Fruit smoothie) were yum. I did read some reviews complained of the breakfast being "luke warm" but to be fair to the hotel, breakfast is open from 08:00 - 11:00 so at least it suits everyone. We stayed on-site for the Friday night BBQ with live music, again, very delicious but could have done with a few more dessert, i.e ice creams, not just sponge cakes - however, well worth 16 Euros per adult.

The stairs, oh the stairs!!! I was glad to see the back of them, it's fine walking down but walking back up, crikey, take plenty of water with you! Apart from them dreaded stairs it is a nice stroll to Puerto Rico beach and shops. The mini-golf near the bus station was fun for 5 Euros each one evening. The market at Puerto Mogan on Fridays is worth a visit, take the return boat rather than the bus!

My nit-picking recommendations would be to scrap for 4 Euros a day charge for the safe - don't think it was necessary to add an extra charge for wanting to keep your belongings safe. Hand soap is required for the sinks in the apartments and some strong bleach down the toilets/drains as they can get a bit pongy.

Fellow cat lovers - there are many stray cats out there :( if you go to the local supermarket (HiperDino) please buy them cat food!! If you're lucky you may see hedgehogs too.

Everyone who works at Marina Bayview should be proud of the high standard that they achieve, Petra at breakfast was always so smiley and pleasant - please pass on our gratitude.
Thank-you for a memorable holiday, it was worth every penny plus more.

Room Tip: B407 is a nice, quiet room with a good view. Backs onto car park thats hardly ever used as its a dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear LAR0gers,

Thank you for choosing Marina Bayview as your destination.

We are delighted to know you loved Marina Bayview and that you had a memorable holiday. Thank you for sharing such a positive review about our hotel and its restaurant. We will share your gratitude to Petra.

We hope to welcome you soon!

Warm regards,

Noemi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This hotel did not disappoint at all - very clean and well maintained throughout and reception staff and room staff very friendly and helpful. Although its not ideally located for the main shopping centre, it does have a wide variety of bars and shops nearby and on the way to the beach. Room had lovely marble floors which never got hot, even on the balcony and although the sun loungers were a tad uncomfortable, they also never got too hot to sit on either so just a towel is enough, although we used a couple of cushions from the sofa at times to make them more comfy. We stayed self catering and everything we could ask for was available in the room, also a bottle of wine and chocolates and selection of spreads and toasts there on arrival. My husband had also paid of a bouquet of flowers for me on arrival and they were proudly sat waiting in a vase when we arrived. We cannot fault the attention to detail. The room was duplex with the sitting area with coffee table, TV and DVD player, table and chairs and small kitchenette which leads to the patio and the bedroom (double bed is two singles, not ideal) and bathroom with walk in shower, were upstairs, both with the same amazing view. There were dressing gowns and slippers available to use and ample plugs to charge up all the gadgets we took with us and the bathroom had a little dressing area with hairdryer. I thought the wardrobe was big enough for two people although a couple of drawers would have been nice for your little things. The patio area had a table and chairs for two, two sun loungers and an umbrella and towel dryer and the balcony is made of glass so you can see the marina when sitting or sunbathing and the sun stayed on our patio from approx 9:30am to 6:30pm. This is a lovely hotel with everything you could want, but be prepared to climb and walk, although there are taxis on every corner and very cheap if you are unable to do either and the hotel has disabled rooms on every level and a lift within the hotel too if required. I would very much recommend this hotel for both couples and families and would definitely visit again if I was going back to this resort.

Room Tip: Deluxe room if you want a lovely view and peace and quiet as they are furthest away from the pool, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Jannie21uk,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Marina Bayview.

We are pleased to read you had a great stay with us. We are also glad to know you would recommend the hotel, for us is really important our guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards from all our staff,

Noemi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in the Marina Bayview Balcony Seaview apartment. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and nicely presented with plenty of room. A small kitchenette and dining table, a living area with sofa, and a nice private balcony with a view to the marina. The cleaning and towel service is regular and plenty through the week.

As with some other reviews that we read before we arrived, the only slight issue is that the "double bed" is actually two single beds pushed together that can easily move apart meaning you have to sleep slightly separately to your partner - ok if you have had an argument! but not ideal otherwise. Also the bathroom doors do not lock but are sliding doors - however I think a lot of holiday accommodation is going this way (maybe due to health and safety!).

There are approximately 180 steps to reach the apartment reception area from ground level (marina area). Although daunting for some, we felt this was good to keep our waist line in check after all the eating! - nice bit of exercise!

We are vegetarian and found the breakfast that we pre-paid for very good. A great selection of hot and cold food that actually kept us going till our main evening meal (give or take a few snacks!). The facility has a nice pool, however there is a very nice lagoon beach a short walk away (the reception staff recommended this): playa de amadores. Highly recommend going to this beach.

Overall a very nice set of apartments with friendly staff. Great whether being used for self-catering or not and a very good price compared to others in the area.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are more private than the poolside one's
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear SanjP58,

Thank you for taking the time sharing your experience at Marina Bayview.

We are glad to read your positive review about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Our best regards from the sunny Puerto Rico,

Noemi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bayview

Address: Avenida de Guayadeque, 3, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Ipanema Park Apartments)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bayview 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Marina Bayview is built into the hillside overlooking Puerto Rico Harbour in Gran Canaria. It features a large outdoor pool and terrace with impressive Atlantic Ocean views.Apartments feature a private balcony or terrace. All have air conditioning, and a kitchenette with a fridge, coffee maker, kettle and toaster. There is satellite TV and a private bathroom.The restaurant by the pool offers spectacular views of the harbour. Paddle and tennis courts are just a few metres from the complex, and Salobre Golf & Resort is 15 km away. The resort has a 24-hour front desk and offers car hire. Free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marina Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Park Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Ipanema Park Apartments Puerto Rico
Marina Bayview Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Bayview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.