We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Bayview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marina Bayview to your Saves list
Marina Bayview
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Guayadeque, 3, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Ipanema Park Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Marina Bayview Apartments. From the moment you arrive you are greeted with a very friendly and helpful receptionist, who makes you feel very welcome. We found our apartment, B404, and were very pleased with the interior, very nice lounge/kitchenette area, lovely bathroom with an amazing shower and a good sized bedroom. What we were most amazed with was the view from our balcony. We looked directly over the harbour and out to sea. We were pleased we had paid to have a higher level apartment as the view is well worth it. There is a maid service everyday except Thursday and Sunday, towels are changed three times a week and the maids even do your washing up.
The apartments are in a quitter location but this did not matter, we had lots of restaurants down the steps behind the apartments and a 5-10 minute walk takes you to more restaurants. There are a few bars in the area, but we were not in the main bar area, which we were pleased about as the busier bar area was not that nice.
The pool was lovely, no noisy people or children running around and there was no need to reserve a sun lounger as there are plenty and if you do and are away for more than 30 minutes the staff move your towels.
There is a shop on site which is good for buying essentials and for more there is a supermarket down the steps.
Over all this is a stunning location and a great complex for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Karen,

thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Marina Bayview. We are glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and thank you for all positive comments concerning the pool, the services, staff and more.

We would love to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    141
    23
    7
    1
See reviews for
129
292
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

As a couple with a 1 year old we recently stayed at Marina Bayview for a last minute getaway. We loved the hotel, good location (not right in the centre of Puerto Rico but not too far away from beach and restuarants). We stayed in a Select Apartment on the reception floor, hard to tell which is the top and bottom as the whole hotel is cut into the mountain. I would advise asking for a top floor apartment as the pool area over looks the main road out of Puerto Rico so can be noisy. The apartment was well appointed with double sofa bed, two singles and a travel cot which was clean and relatively new. The bedroom was quite tight for space with the travel cot in so we slept on the sofa bed but for a couple it would be fine. The room was lovely decorated, light and fresh and clearly gets maintained regularly as we had seen the handyman go in after check outs with his paint and brush! The room was cleaned nearly everyday and the cleaning was impecible.The room was also very safe for our 1 year old daughter as the balcony was completly sealed she was able to crawl the full length of the apartment quite happily.The pool area was great and well maintained. It was never too busy and we could always get a sunlounger where we wanted. The pool is salt water but in the September sunshine it wasn't too cold. The pool bar area is lovely and they do drinks, breakfast and lunches. Breakfast is very comprehensive and the lunch menu seems to be catered just right although the bar prices were a tad expensive and we could never work out the happy hour prices! Also the on site shop is steep but it is a captive market. There are plenty of other supermarkets around and if you don't mind lugging your shopping up the 193 steps to the hotel I would recommend the Spar shop on Puerto Rico beach. The staff were always so helpful and nothing was too much for them, although there were not many families I would say it was a very family friendly hotel. With regards to the area there are some hit and miss areas. There are some great restaurants underneath the Grecco Hotel opposite the beach and the Beach Club restuarant at the end of the marina is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Select Apartment at the top of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent stay with us on the site. We are glad to read you liked the room, the pool, the breakfast and more. In name of our team, thank you so much for such positive comments about us. We are happy to hear we met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay at Marina Bayview.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great apartments and staff, quite luxurious. Location quiet but just around the corner from the 'noise', if you can tackle the vast amount of steps...but it is cut into a mountain. Views are breath taking. Definitely would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in apartments overlooking the solarium...stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for you nice comments about your recent stay at Marina Bayview. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are really glad to hear you will come back!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were so impressed by the reception/staff/surroundings. I am very picky, and couldn't fault the staff, nor facilities, in any shape or form-so very genuinely helpful and sincere. The cleaning regime was just impeccable. Every part of the hotel was cleaned daily-just immaculate. The notorious 100+ stairs to and from the hotel were manageable to be fair, but the cheats taxi ride up for €3 was well worth it! Breakfast at Bayview Marina €9 each-includes bottomless freshly squeezed orange juice, tea, coffee etc, and warm and cold high quality food. Excellent value, and again, faultless.

Avoid at ALL costs the restaurant on the beach (unattached to Bayveiw Marina) - we had the chicken paella.... Bachelors spicy rice do a far better version.....

If I had to give any constructive critisim, it would be to add a washing machine into the apartments, (where there is plenty of room alongside the minimal kitchen) and to provide more British channels on the tv (sky news became very repetitive!) (A washing machine was provided on site but at a steep cost of €4 per wash).

Loved this holiday!

Thank you so much to the amazing staff at Bayview Marina for making our holiday extra special! We will return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Sacha,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.
We highly appreciate your words of praise regarding cleanliness, the breakfast and our staff. We will be more than happy to pass your nice words over to them.
We would be delighted to welcome you back on a further occasion!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had to write and say just returned from here. The staff and accomadation are super, the views are great . But most important for me is how clean the place is ! and trust me it was spotless. Everywhere you go the staff cleaning. Friendly and helpful. like others was a bit worried about the stairs , down ok, up if you like but with a taxi being only 4 euros from the centre of Puerto Rico its no problem. will be going back its just how quickly!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Fiona,

thank you very much for your kind words concerning Marina Bayview and our staff. It is a pleasure to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance for the booking!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have recently stayed at these apartments for 7 days with my best friend , and I have to say that the reviews did not let me down . From the time we arrived until the time we left the hotel reception were fabulous , the pool bar food was also of a very high standard ( we stayed self catering ) . Yes there are lots of steps but they're nothing the average person can't manage , and the views and position more than make up or it . My only criticism was the WI-FI was at best intermittent and as a techie I found this incredibly frustrating ! Make sure you visit the terrace on Level D , the Bali Beds and Eco Shower were amazing .... And it's deadly quiet up there , we were the on,y ones up there most days - very relaxing . We also found ourselves upgraded to a Select apartment which I highly recommend. I can't wit to re-visit these apartments but please sort your WI-FI out guys !

Room Tip: Select Rooms are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. And thanks so much for your good comments about facilities, view and staff.
It is also very important and we appreciate a lot your complete feedback, so that we will have a look to our internet conection in order to try to improve it.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I read all the reviews about this hotel before we went and i must stay they are true.
Not a bad thing to say about this place in all honesty. (Maybe the stairs down to the Marina)
Rooms are clean, All equipped to suit whatever your needs. Air conditioning is a Bonus.
Maids are polite and curtious as were all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble.
Reception is always there to help with Booking trips or travel back to the airport.
Pool area clean and constantly cleaned during the day. Staff picking up litter left behind.
If your looking to have a care free time then this is the place to stay.
Quiet at night and during the day not to noisy.
Close to local bars and resturants is a big plus as you don't need to walk every night into town to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is further away from the pool if you are after a quieter afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Marina Bayview, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Rog1001,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us and for your very kind words about the team, your room and more. We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to Gran Canaria.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marina Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bayview

Address: Avenida de Guayadeque, 3, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Ipanema Park Apartments)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Bayview 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Marina Bayview is built into the hillside overlooking Puerto Rico Harbour in Gran Canaria. It features a large outdoor pool and terrace with impressive Atlantic Ocean views.Apartments feature a private balcony or terrace. All have air conditioning, and a kitchenette with a fridge, coffee maker, kettle and toaster. There is satellite TV and a private bathroom.The restaurant by the pool offers spectacular views of the harbour. Paddle and tennis courts are just a few metres from the complex, and Salobre Golf & Resort is 15 km away. The resort has a 24-hour front desk and offers car hire. Free parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marina Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Park Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Ipanema Park Apartments Puerto Rico
Marina Bayview Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marina Bayview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.