We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canaima Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Canaima Apartments to your Saves list
Canaima Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Cardones 1-3, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

had a great time went out with family down stairs the bars shopping centres at night there was tons of cockroaches crawling around put me off my holiday in the hotel it said there would be bar facilities by the pool upstairs and it was shut the whole holiday that we were there , we had to go out in puerto rico and find bars to go too

Room Tip: get a room on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    51
    56
    31
    33
See reviews for
45
80
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was a very nice place to stay while on holidays. The staff are very friendly and more than willing to help with anything you asked for. They had wifi that you could get in most of the apartments. There are some cats but they are no problem and do not intrude. I think people expect far too much for wot they pay for if you want 5 stars pay for it. There is a lovely pool for adults and a lovely one for the children. There is also a playground for children. Yes there are a lot of steps in peurto rico but they affect 99% of the apartments there not just canaima over all this is more than wot you need for a week or two in gran canaria. No complaints wot so ever.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

went with a party of 6, did not have all crockery/utensils for that amount, asked for it but took a week before we received it. Not enough patio chairs. Décor needs updating, plug sockets a little dangerous with sparks. And the main thing was there was no bar pool for the whole of the 11 days we stayed, even though they said they would have it opened within a few days. So if you wanted drink and food you had to walk to another complex across the road( 10 min) away which is stupid to be giving money to another complex. So we stayed and made drinks up and food at the apartment to eat. I know its a 2 star and its what you pay for. Other then that we had clean sheets/towels, the staff are all friendly even the man on reception who everyone says is rude and grumpy, on the few occasions I had to speak to him I found him very helpful and friendly, so all I can say to you is treat them as you would like to be treated and they will do the same to you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went in May couldn't complain (apart from bedding not changed). Just come back from there, never again.The noise was terrible. Could not complain to anyone, night manager was with noisy neighbors but nothing was done about noise level. Could not get hold of holiday reps, kept on hold, felt vulnerable sitting on balcony. No bar facilities available etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

From reading the reviews I thought I made a very bad decision booking this hotel but it was fine! Stayed 4 nights and did not have any problems at all! The room was perfectly clean on arrival, the cleaner cleaned the room, the pool area was clean, staff were fine (there was a man at reception with very bad manners but you're not on holiday to speak to him, so that isn't an issue) people have moaned about the steps but again on the sunny days its a nice walk down and on way up taxi is very cheap which takes you to hotel entrance. Me and my partner used the hotel just as a place to sleep and it was perfect for short stay and is ideal if you are planning to just use it as a base to refresh / sleep. The beach is very close by, as well as the centre which is very handy. Only downside is the cats (which don't bother you at all if left alone) and the music at night from the strip down below. I would recommend for a cheap holiday for a short period!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Trouble is everyone's expectations are too high these days, we have become very selfish and greedy. These apartments are clean, tidy and basic which is ideal if you do what most people do on holiday and that is explore your surroundings and enjoy the fantastic weather.
There are a lot of cats around, but so what, even they are clean and if you tell them to leave you alone they will do. As long as you are happy with basic accommodation and not too horrified at the fact that a lick of paint may be needed here and there then you have found some well priced accommodation. My only concern for people of a certain age is the number of steps from the main shopping complex up to any of the accommodation you do need to be prepared for this. My only criticism which is nothing to do with Canaima but it's the amount of hassle the shops and eating places around Puerto Rico give you when you are walking around, now that does annoy me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

when booking these apartments we knew it was cheap.first thing that put us off was the amount of steps to reception then the amount of steps to the apartment with our bags to carry up the very narrow steps.the manager was very rude and cant count ripped us off of 10 euro,the amount of wild cats around was disgusting,you cant leave your door open because the cats just walk in,the apartment itself was kept clean but going out was a chore because although you could walk down to the center the thoughts of all those steps back was a nightmare,before you think ,ah well you can get a taxi up the hill the steps are from the road up to the apartment

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canaima Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canaima Apartments

Address: Avenida Cardones 1-3, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canaima Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Canaima Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canaima Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Canaima Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canaima Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.