We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for self catering not all inclusive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Colina Mar Apartments

Save Saved
You added Colina Mar Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colina Mar Apartments
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   C/. Timanfaya, 4, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 69 hotels in Puerto Rico
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for self catering not all inclusive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed for 1 week in November. Nice apartment and very nice staff. Cleaned every day. View great. Lovely pool and weather fantastic. The down side was the food in the all inclusive restaurant was geared up for the Scandinavians which was cold cheeses eggs and plastic meat. Good place for starting the diet.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has fixture on the wall for the shower as friends had to juggle this and didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    228
    99
    42
    45
See reviews for
186
202
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tau, Norway
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Spent 1 week there primo January, with just the right temperature for a Norwegian like me (= warm, but not tropical heat).
Location: "On top" of Puerto Rico, near the Europa Shopping Centre, which is full of touts and scalpers. (Don't even THINK of buying electronics there!) All floors of Colina Mar are lower than the road, so there is no traffic noise to speak of. Great view. A drawback is that it is quite far from the beaches, but a cheap taxi ride will take you to the Amadores beach or the somewhat less attractive beach of Puerto Rico, in a matter of 5 minutes.
Apartment: Okay, separate bedroom. Nice terrace with great view over the ocean and the tourist machine that is Puerto Rico. Cleanliness was fine (cleaning 5 days a week). Some tiny ants liked the place too, but they did not bother me too much (well, a little). There is no air conditioning (just a table fan), so I would not think of staying there in summer. No soap in the bathroom - I know this is a moderately priced apartment where you are supposed to bring / buy most of the stuff you need, but come on: a small soap bar or liquid soap dispenser could / should be there when you arrive, without driving apartment prices sky high. The hotel minimarket was closed when I arrrived, and waiting 12 hours before you can wash your hands properly is unacceptable. The mattress of the bed is quite hard, but I got used to that quickly, and slept well. The entrance door was sometimes a pain the neck to lock. There is regrettably no WiFi in the apartments.
Pool area: Clean, reasonably sized main pool, tiny children's pool. Sufficient number of sunbeds, but on limited space.
Staff: Neither particularly friendly nor unfriendly, mostly business-like.
All Inclusive: Is optional. You have the choice of self catering (the apartment kitchen allows basic cooking), or breakfast, half pension or "all inclusive", which I chose. Don't even think of buying All Inclusive if you are staying more than 1 week, you will be tired of the mediocre buffet food quality and equally mediocre wines / local drinks. But the food quality could be improved by the kitchen staff without raising costs: most of the food was prepared without noticeable salt and spices, and stuff like pasta and cooked vegetables were over-cooked, to a degree where their texture was near "slime". My kids could cook better pasta than this when they were 10! However, the hotel apparently had tried to improve food variety, so I did not starve - I just wish that they would improve their cooking skills too.
Entertainment: Yawn. I was there to relax, not to be entertained, so I won't elaborate on this. If karaoke and killer pool is your thing, you will be happy.
The supermarket / minimarket (4th floor): Not very super, but has the basic stuff you need for self catering.
Reception area: Two internet computers available for 4 euros per hour, but they are quite slow, Both web browsers available are outdated versions.
Would I visit again? Possibly, but would probable choose self catering another time.

Room Tip: 3rd floor to the right should secure you from any noise to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at Colina Mar for a january getaway. The first room we was allocated stunk of cigarette smoke and was above the music bar. We ask to be moved which we was allowed at no extra charge. The second room we was given still stank of cigarette smoke, however it was cleaned everyday and the sheets was clean and the beds comfy. We stayed Half board the food was cold and not much variety compared to the other times we have stayed at this hotel. We won't be staying here again as the Hotel food as gone down since our last stay 3 years ago. The charge for late checkout was €27 which was rather high for 5 hours. However it was Free wifi in reception. The rooms are big and spacious and cleaned everyday. The towels was very warn and felt like cardboard. Not very good on sunburnt skin. There was plenty of hot water and a bath and shower. Entertainment wasn't very good but it is close the local bars.

Room Tip: Higher floor and quieter end of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very nice view from the room staff very friendly entertainment every night Larry the entertainer was excellent and had some good singers on most nights had bingo and karaoke plus daytime activities went all inclusive and found the food very good only downside is it is on top of a hill but it is only 2 minutes from europa centre and the taxi,s were only about 3.5 euros if you wanted to go to the beach or the centre of puerto rico Rooms were cleaned everyday Would recommend you go to Palmitos park as you can see an amazing dolphin show and even swim with them if you want

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Colina Mar for Xmas week on a self catering basis. Room was large clean and well equipped. Lovely views. We were near the small pool which was lovely and quiet..the large pool seemed much busier and nosier, but the hotel was full, so not surprising. Didn't sample the hotel food as we either used the local, very cheap, supermarket in the Europa Centre, or ate out. Taxis very cheap..3.5 - 4 Euros back up from the beach and main town of Puerto Rico. Having never been away for Xmas, and never been to any of the Canary Islands we were pleasantly surprised, and couldn't believe how big the complex is at the Colina Mar..we had to negotiate 3 lifts, up and down, just to get to the room..but it wasn't a problem!

Room Tip: Rooms near the small pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My partner and i stayed here for one week over Xmas. Our apartment had not been refurbished however it was adequate and spacious and had everything we needed for light snacks and breakfast etc. Maid service fine, roomed cleaned and towels changed. The complex is huge, it was quite fun to negotiate yourself up and down lifts, it took a couple of days to find our room with ease (54) overlooking the small pool. Apparantly this was the best block very quiet and not much noise, on speaking with other people there were many asking to be moved because of the noise. I assume they were overlooking the large pool and bar. All in all a great holiday, weather fab for December. I probably would not visit here in the summer as no air con and i believe because of the location it would be extremely hot. Top tip for great steaks visit El Torro in the commercial centre at the bottom of the resort "FAB".

Room Tip: Any room overlooking small pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

overall this apartment complex was an average stay. it was clean and well kept. however we styed there durin a heat wave. there was only one small fan for the entite apartment. a plug in fan. it was very warm with no aircon.vit was especially difficult to sleep. the pool air is big and fun aerobics classes every morning with an enthuasiastic instrucyor. the apartment is up very high so a taxi ride to the beach and main town. taxis on average 4euro.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colina Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colina Mar Apartments

Address: C/. Timanfaya, 4, 35130 Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Puerto Rico
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colina Mar Apartments 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Colina Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colina Mar Apartments Hotel Puerto Rico
Colina Mar Apartments Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colina Mar Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.